Committee on Academic Priorities

The Committee on Academic Priorities is charged with responsibility for recommending academic priorities (including priorities concerning staffing allocations, department and program facilities and resources, and restructuring or terminating existing departments and programs) in accordance with Article III, Section 1(a)(ii) and Article IV, Section 1 of the Plan of Governance, and with the authority to advise the President on institutional priorities and on the College budget, to the extent that it affects institutional priorities. The Faculty may, to the extent that it deems it appropriate, assign additional responsibilities within the jurisdiction of the Faculty to this committee.

The 2013-2014 members of the Committee on Academic Priorities are:

  • Penny Armstrong (French) (2011-15)
  • Tamara Davis (Biology) (2011-15)
  • Jane Hedley (English) (2012-16) (on leave Semester I)
  • David Karen (Sociology) (2013-17)
  • Toba Kerson (Social Work and Social Research) (2010-14) (Chair)
  • Arlo Weil (Geology) (2010-14)

Former Chairs of the Commitee on Academic Priorites are:

  • Alison Cook-Sather (Education) (2011-12 & 2012-13)
  • Pim Higginson (French) (2010-11)
  • Michael Noel (Physics) (2009-10)
  • James Martin (Social Work and Social Research) (2007-08 & 2008-09)
  • Kimberly Cassidy (Psychology) (2006-07)
  • Azade Seyhan (German) (2005-06)