2008-2009 Undergraduate Catalog

2008-2009 Catalog

Special Programs

AFROTC—Air Force Reserve Officer Training Corps

Bryn Mawr students are eligible to participate in the Air Force Reserve Officer Training Corps (AFROTC) through an agreement with Saint Joseph’s University (SJU). All AFROTC Aerospace Studies courses are held on the SJU campus. This program enables a Bryn Mawr student to earn a commission as an Air Force officer while concurrently satisfying her baccalaureate degree requirements.

The Department of Aerospace Studies at Saint Joseph’s University offers both two-year and four-year curricula leading to a commission as a second lieutenant in the Air Force. In the four-year curriculum, a student takes the General Military Course (GMC) during the first and second years, attends a four-week summer training program, and then takes the Professional Officer Course (POC) in the third and fourth years. The student is under no contractual obligation to the Air Force until entering the POC or accepting an Air Force scholarship. In the two-year curriculum, the student attends a six-week summer training program and then enters the POC in the third year.

The subject matter of the first and second years is developed from a historical perspective and focuses on the scope, structure and history of the military with an emphasis on the development of air power. During the third and fourth years, the curriculum concentrates on the concepts and practices of leadership and management, and the role of national security issues in contemporary American society.

In addition to the academic portion of the curriculum, each student participates in a two-hour Leadership Laboratory each week. During this period, the day-to-day skills and working environment of the Air Force are discussed and explained. The Leadership Lab uses a student organization designed for the practice of leadership and management techniques.

The AFROTC program offers scholarships on a competitive basis to qualified applicants. All scholarships include tuition, lab fees, a flat-rate allowance for books and a tax-free monthly stipend. All members of the POC, regardless of scholarship status, receive the tax-free monthly stipend plus additional support for those POC not on scholarship.

Degree credit allowed toward the Bryn Mawr A.B. for AFROTC courses is determined on an individual basis. For further information about the AFROTC cross-enrollment program, scholarships and career opportunities, contact the Professor of Aerospace Studies, AFROTC Det 750, Saint Joseph’s University, 5600 City Avenue, Philadelphia, PA, 19131 or by phone at (610) 660-3190 or via e-mail at rotc@sju.edu. Interested students should also consult their deans.

Continuing Education Program

The Continuing Education Program provides highly qualified women, men and high-school students who do not wish to undertake a full college program leading to a degree the opportunity to take courses at Bryn Mawr College on a fee basis, prorated according to the tuition of the College, space and resources permitting. Students accepted by the Continuing Education Program may apply to take up to two undergraduate courses or one graduate course per semester; they have the option of auditing courses or taking courses for credit. Alumnae/i who have received one or more degrees from Bryn Mawr (A.B., M.A., M.S.S., M.L.S.P. and/or Ph.D.) and women and men 60 years of age and older are entitled to take undergraduate courses for credit at the College at a special rate. This rate applies only to continuing-education students and not to matriculated McBride Scholars. Continuing-education students are not eligible to receive financial aid from the College. For more information or an application, go to http://www.brynmawr.edu/academics/continuing_ed.shtml, contact the Continuing Education Program office at (610) 526-6515 or send a request to Continuing Education, Bryn Mawr College, 101 North Merion Avenue, Bryn Mawr, Pa., 19010-2899.

Katharine E. McBride Scholars Program

The Katharine E. McBride Scholars Program serves women beyond the traditional college-entry age who wish to earn an undergraduate degree at Bryn Mawr. The program admits women who have demonstrated talent, achievement and intelligence in various areas, including employment, volunteer activities and home or formal study. McBride Scholars are admitted directly as matriculated students.

Once admitted to the College, McBride scholars are subject to the residency rule, which requires that a student take a minimum of 24 course units while enrolled at Bryn Mawr. Exceptions will be made for students who transfer more than eight units from previous work. Such students may transfer up to 16 units and must then take at least 16 units at Bryn Mawr. McBride Scholars may study on a part-time or full-time basis. For more information or an application, visit the McBride Program Web site at http://www.brynmawr.edu/mcbride, send an e-mail to mcbrides@brynmawr.edu or call (610) 526-5375.

Postbaccalaureate Premedical Program

Women and men who hold bachelor’s degrees but need introductory science courses before making initial application to schools of medicine, dentistry and veterinary medicine may apply to the Postbaccalaureate Premedical Program. The Postbac Program stresses intensive work in the sciences. It is designed primarily for students who are changing fields and who have not previously completed the premedical requirements. Applications are considered for admission in the summer or fall only. Applications should be submitted as early as possible because decisions are made on a rolling admissions basis. The Postbac Program is highly selective. Please visit http://www.brynmawr.edu/postbac for more information.

Students enrolled in the Postbac Program may elect to apply early for provisional admission to an outstanding group of medical schools with which Bryn Mawr has a “consortial”arrangement. Students who are accepted at a medical school through the consortial process enter medical school in the September immediately following the completion of their postbaccalaureate year. Otherwise, students apply to medical school during the summer of the year they are completing the program.

The following are Bryn Mawr’s “consortial”medical schools:

•     Brown University School of Medicine
•     Dartmouth Medical School
•     Drexel University College of Medicine
•     George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences
•     Jefferson Medical College of Thomas Jefferson University
•     SUNY Downstate College of Medicine
•     SUNY at Stony Brook School of Medicine Health Sciences Center
•     Temple University School of Medicine
•     Tulane University School of Medicine
•     University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine
•     University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey—Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
•     University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine
•     University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
•     University of Rochester School of Medicine

Summer Courses

During Summer Sessions I and II, qualified women and men, including high-school students, may take courses in the sciences, mathematics and intensive language studies in Russian. Students may use these courses to fulfill undergraduate requirements or prepare for graduate study. The current summer-session calendar should be consulted for dates and course descriptions. Each course carries full academic credit.

Next: Centers for 21st Century Inquiry»
Updated August 25, 2008 by Tracy Kellmer