School of Athens

Faculty

Professors

Catherine Conybeare, Director of the Graduate Group, Graduate Adviser
Thomas Hall 240
Phone: 610-526-5036
E-mail: cconybea@brynmawr.edu

Research interests: Late Antiquity, Early Christian Studies, contemporary theory

Radcliffe Edmonds, Chair & Undergraduate Major Adviser
Thomas Hall 245
Phone: 526-5046
E-mail:redmonds@brynmawr.edu

Research interests: Greek myth, Greco-Roman religion and magic, Greek philosophy

Russell T. Scott, Doreen C. Spitzer Professor of Latin and Classical Studies
Thomas Hall 242
Phone: 610-526-5034
E-mail: dscott@brynmawr.edu

Research interests: Roman history and historiography, Roman archaeology and history of the republican and imperial periods with special reference to Italy and the western provinces

Assistant Professor

Annette M. Baertschi
Thomas Hall 241
Phone: 610-526-7569
E-mail:abaertschi@brynmawr.edu

Research interests: Roman literature, especially post-Augustan poetry; Greek and Latin epic; ancient drama (tragedy) and performance; reception of classical literature and culture; ancient magic and religion; Latin meter; Renaissance and Neo-Latin studies

Asya Sigelman (on leave semesters I & II)

Thomas Hall 246

Phone: 610-526-7562

E-mail: asigelman@brynmawr.edu

Research interests: Homeric epic, Archaic Greek lyric, Athenian tragedy, the biography genre, Greek and Roman novel

Professors Emeriti

Gregory W. Dickerson (Ph.D. Princeton), Professor Emeritus of Greek

Julia H. Gaisser (Ph.D. Edinburgh), Eugenia Chase Guild Professor Emeritus in the Humanities, Professor Emeritus of Latin
E-mail: jgaisser@brynmawr.edu

Richard Hamilton, Paul Shorey Professor Emeritus of Greek
E-mail: rhamilto@brynmawr.edu

Cooperating Faculty at Haverford College

Deborah H. Roberts [droberts@haverford.edu]
Chairperson - Professor of Comparative Literature and Classics
Office: Hall Building, Room 206

Interests: Greek tragedy and the tragic genre; Latin poetry; the ancient novel; the epic tradition; the classical tradition in western literature; ancient literary theory and the history of literary theory; translation studies; children's literature.

Bret Mulligan [bmulliga@haverford.edu]; on leave semesters I & II
Assistant Professor
Office: Hall Building 109

Interests: Latin poetry, esp. of the Empire; Late antique literature and culture; Roman history; epistolary literature; epic; epigrams; Classical Tradition; performance and instructional technology.

Robert Germany [rgermany@haverford.edu]
Assistant Professor
Office: Hall Building 001A

Interests: Roman comedy; Hellenistic ethics; the novel; Ovid; early modern reception

Sydnor Roy
Visiting Assistant Professor

William Tortorelli
Visiting Assistant Professor