Contact Us

Victor Donnay, ES Director
Department of Mathematics
Park 330, 101 North Merion Avenue
Bryn Mawr College, Bryn Mawr PA, 19010

Bryn Mawr Faculty and Staff

Environmental Studies Co-Directors for 2016-17


Victor Donnay
Math, Professor                                                             William R. Kenan, Jr. Chair in Mathematics   

Victor Donnay studies chaotic properties of dynamical systems, and is interested in mathematical modeling. He also is working to improve K-12 math and science pedagogy, and to bring mathematics to a wider audience.

Don Barber

Don Barber
Geology, Associate Professor
Harold Alderfer Chair in Environmental Studies

Don Barber is a marine sedimentologist who studies the response of coastal environments to sea level change, storms and human perturbations. (Science Advisor)

Environmental Studies Steering Commitee for 2016-17

Anne Dalke  Anne Dalke                                                                       Term Professor of English

Anne's areas of focus are feminist theories and narrative traditions; revisionary work in the canon of American literatures; the intersections between science and literature. (Humanities Advisor)


Robert Dostal  Robert Dostal                                                                Rufus Jones Professor of Philosophy and Religion; Department  Chair

Although he specializes in Kant and contemporary European philosophy, especially phenomenology and hermeneutics, Bob takes a great interest in classical Greek thought. He is also concerned with history and philosophy of science and technology, especially as it relates to ethics and politics.


Carol Hager                                                               Political Science, Associate Professor and Chair

Carol Hager specializes in comparative politics. While her focus is on Germany, she also studies environmental politics and environmental policies in an international perspective.

Mozdzer-1  Thomas J. Mozdzer
  Biology, Assistant Professor

  Thomas Mozdzer is an ecosystem ecologist and studies      how multiple interacting global change factors including rising atmospheric carbon dioxide concentrations, nitrogen pollution, sea level rise and invasive species affect coastal wetlands.(On Leave 2015-16)

David Ross

David Ross
Economics, Associate Professor and Chair

David Ross’s teaching and research interests include the economics of imperfectly competitive markets and of local environmental programs.   He serves on the Planning Commission for West Nottingham Township and is active with the Friends of the State Line Serpentine Barrens. (Social Science Advisor)

Affiliated Faculty


Peter Briggs
Professor, English

Peter Briggs works on American and English literature, specializing in 18th century British literature. Of special interest to the ES concentration, he has written about American landscapes and offers a course on Nature Writing and Environmental Concerns.


Jonas Goldsmith                                                  Chemistry, Assistant Professor

Jonas' research program combines the techniques of inorganic, physical and synthetic chemistry to develop and investigate
novel transition metal complex-based nanostructures.


Karen Greif
Professor, Biology

Karen Greif studies neural development, and also maintains an active interest in science policy-making. Her policy course, Biology and Public Policy, includes environmental issues.


Jiang Yonglin Jiang                                                          Associate Profession, East Asian Languages and Cultures

Jiang's research focuses on legal culture in imperial China and ethnicity and law in contemporary China. 

 Sydne Record

 Assistant Professor, Biology

Sydne Record uses computational methods to understand the  past, present, and future states of the natural world to better understand the services that ecosystems afford to society.


Michael Rock
Professor, Economics

Michael Rock specializes in economic development, and is an authority on the interaction of development and pollution-control policy in Asia. He has taught in the US, Thailand and Vietnam.

Nathan Wright


Nathan Wright
Sociology Associate Professor

Nathan Wright's teaching and research interests include sociology of religion, public opinion, sociology of culture and research methods.



Bonnie Hallam
Administrative Assistant

Haverford Faculty

Haverford Director:
Jon Wilson, Biology

Affiliated Faculty at Haverford College:

  • Kim Benston, English
  • Radika Bhaskar, Biology (Visitng 2014-16)
  • Craig Borowiak, Political Science
  • Thomas Donahue, Political Science (Visiting 2014-16)
  • Kay Edwards, Interdisciplinary College Programs
  • Steve Finley, English
  • Andrew Friedman, History
  • Darin Hayton, History
  • Karl Johnson, Biology
  • Joshua Moses, Anthropology
  • Rob Scarrow, Chemistry
  • Steven Smith, Economics
  • Helen White, Chemistry

Swarthmore Faculty         

Swarthmore Coordinator:
Elizabeth Bolton, English Literature

Affiliated Faculty at Swarthmore College:

  • Timothy Burke, History                                       
  • Peter Collings, Physics and Astronomy
  • Giovanna DiChiro, Political Science
  • Erich Carr Everbach, Engineering
  • Eric Jensen, Physics &  Astronomy
  • José-Luis Machado, Biology
  • Arthur McGarity, Engineering
  • Rachel Merz, Biology
  • Carol Nackenoff, Political Science
  • Jennifer Peck, Economics, Environmental Studies
  • Christine Schuetze, Sociology & Anthropology
  • Mark Wallace, Religion