Contact Us
History of Art
Bryn Mawr College
101 North Merion Avenue
Bryn Mawr, PA 19010-2899
Phone: (610) 526-5053/5334
Fax: (610) 526-7955

Faculty and Staff

Professors

RaphaelDavid J. Cast, Professor of History of Art and the Eugenia Chase Guild Chair in the Humanities, Chair of Italian and Major Advisor (Freshmen and Sophmores)
Renaissance art and the history of the classical tradition

Telephone: 610 526-5341
Email: dcast@brynmawr.edu
Thomas Hall - Room 230
Office hours: Monday, 2-4


VermeerChristiane Hertel, Professor Emeritus
The arts of Northern Europe, especially in Germany and the Netherlands, from the Reformation to the 20th century

Telephone: 610 526-5344
Email: chertel@brynmawr.edu
Carpenter Library Carrel B-9


MonetSteven Z. Levine, Professor of History of Art on the Leslie Clark Professorship in the Humanities
French painting from the sixteenth century to the present, the history of self-portraiture, art and psychoanalytic theory

Telephone: 610 526-5333
Email: slevine@brynmawr.edu
Thomas Hall - Room 232
On leave 2014-2015


Velazquez Gridley McKim-Smith, Professor
Spanish Golden Age art, art and technology, and arts of Latin America
1943 - 2013

 



Kieffer Lisa Saltzman, Chair and Professor of History of Art and on the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Chair in the Humanities and Graduate Advisor
Modern and contemporary art and theory

Telephone: 610 526-5346
Email: lsaltzma@brynmawr.edu
Thomas Hall - Room 231
Office hours: Wednesday, 2-4


Associate Professors

Chungking ExpressHomay King, Associate Professor, Director of Program in Film Studies and Center for Visual Culture
American cinema, film theory, psychoanalytic theory, and feminist film theory and criticism

Telephone: 610 526-5397
Email: hking@brynmawr.edu
Thomas Hall - Room 249
Office hours: Tuesday, 1-3; and by appointment

Assistant Professors

Alicia Walker, Assistant Professor
Medieval, Byzantine and Islamic Art
Telephone: 610 526-5405
Email: awalker01@brynmawr.edu
Thomas Hall - Room 229
Office hours: by appointment, please email awalker01@brynmar.edu


Lecturers

Lesley Shipley, Lecturer
Telephone: 610 526-7747
Email: lshekitk@brynmawr.edu
Thomas Hall - Room 212
Office hours: by appointment

Carrie Robbins, Lecturer and Acting Undergraduate Advisor (Juniors and Seniors)
Art and theory from the 17th century to present; Photography; Museum Studies
Telephone: 610 526-5652
Email: cmrobbins@brynmawr.edu
Thomas Hall - Room 243
Office hours: Thursday, 2-4

Michelle Wang, Instructor
Telephone: 610 526-7748
Email: mwang@brynmawr.edu
Thomas Hall - 114
Office Hours: Wednesday, 10-12 noon

Professor Emeritus

Dale Kinney
Late antique and medieval art and architecture, spolia
Telephone: 610 526-5342
Email: dkinney@brynmawr.edu
Carpenter Carrel A-6

Barbara Miller Lane
The history of urban form and the history of modern architecture
Telephone: 610 526-5052
Email: blane@brynmawr.edu
Carpenter Library - A-8

Affiliated Faculty at Haverford College

Vicky Funari, Instructor
Telephone: (610) 795-6136
Email:

Office: Stokes 118D


Carol Solomon, Visiting Associate Professor of History of Art
Telephone: 610-795-7968
Email: csolomon@haverford.edu
Office: Stokes 209
Office Hours: by appointment

Daniel Weiss, President and Professor of History of Art
Email: dweiss@haverford.edu

Staff

Pam Cohen
Interdepartmental Secretary

Margaret Kelly
Interdepartmental Secretary

Thomas Hall - Room 235
Telephone: 610-526-5053 (Pam)
Telephone: 610-526-5334 (Margaret)
Fax: 610-526-7955