Detailed captions, written by Ann Condon, are the basis for the Library Company's searchable digital finding aid. The find function can be used to search this list of captions for details such as dogs or telegraph poles.
The Historical Society's holdings are not included here, as their inventory relies on far less detailed descriptions. Because of this, only half of this digital collection may be searched here.
Destroyed by Fire December 30th, 1857 1851 Southeast Corner of Seventh & Chestnut Sts., Philadelphia, Pa. Exterior view of five-storey building displaying banners of Fat Woman and Sea Lion. U.S. flag flies from mast on roof. Street level of building houses also Lee & Walker's music store; E.D. Walker ,which sold Chickering pianos; and C. G. Henderson which sold books and stationery. A three-story red brick building (private residence?) with walled garden is adjacent on the Chestnut Street side. There are leaves on the trees. Next to that is the white, five-story Jones Hotel. A yellow trolley, drawn by two horses, has the words "Exchange" on the top of it and "10 St." on the side. The human figures include four couples; an unescorted female and ten men in groups of two or singly. Six of them carry canes or rolled umbrellas. Many of them wear top hats. One of the women carries a parasol. There is an additional man on a horse. The trolley has a driver, three passengers and there appears to be an additional man on the back. In front of the hotel are two coaches, one of which has a driver. There appears to be a street vendor in front of the museum building. Crosswalks are indicated on both streets at the corners by the placement of exceptionally large flat stones.
Drawn for Ferdinand J. Dreer, 1851.
Lemon Hill Mansion, 1857
Fairmount Park, Philadelphia, Pa. This is a very brightly colored scene of visitors to the Lemon Hill property which was the site of concerts at one time. The visitors are seated at picnic tables and drinking beverages served by a man wearing a long white apron. The men, women and children in the scene are dressed as ladies and gentlemen; this is not a rowdy crowd. The trees to the left have circular wooden bench seats built around them. In the distance, to the right, are additional free-standing benches to accommodate visitors to the park. Central to the scene is the magnificent, three-storey mansion with the words "Lemon Hill" painted on the half-round side between the second and third floors. Facing the viewer is a covered porch at the level of the lawn, with a ballustrade above it. At the left side of the building is a second-storey porch, over a wing to the main building, and a third storey, unroofed porch above that. The windows of the third floor are open, as are the windows at street level. However, the windows of the second storey are covered by their bright green shutters. The trees in the scene are in full leaf; the green grass is long. This is a delightful summer scene.
Northeast corner Fifth and
Chestnut Street. 1851
Northeast corner Fifth and Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, Pa. One can see both sides the corner building. It houses F. Brown Druggist; H. J. Pepperison Jewelers; and Blanchard & Rock Paper Hangings which doorway is designated #165. Next to the corner building on the Chestnut Street side is the Franklin Fire Insurance Co.
A yellow trolley with green wheels, marked "Exchange" and "Chestnut Street" is loading passengers at the rear. There are two escorted ladies in the painting and one unescorted. There are 13 male figures, some with top hats and canes or rolled umbrellas. The solitary tree is bare of leaves.
Northwest corner of Seventh
and Chestnut Street. 1882
Northwest corner of Seventh and Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, Pa. On the left is the white Washington House hotel w/blue & white striped awnings in the windows of the 2nd & 3rd floors. Next is the business of Charles Goodman. He offers dry goods, shawls and skirts.There are also blue and white striped awnings on the 3rd story windows. The next building houses Esler Segars. Also advertised on the front of the building are "canes" and "fancy goods." The windows of this building all have shutters. The fourth building is shared by the Sunday Transcript and Scheller Jewelry. "Gents Furnishing Goods" are also named on the awning installed over the sidewalk. The hotel and segar store also have the sidewalks protected by awnings, as does the fifth building which is on the corner. The frame for an awning over the sidewalk is installed on the Goodman building, but the awning is not in place. (The fifth building houses the North American, a newspaper. and Wood Snyder, Engineers. This building also has five floors, but the roof line is higher than the other four. Some windows of each of the buildings are open. There is a yellow trolley running on tracks in front of the North American. It is marked "West Philadelphia," "Fairmount Park," "Chestnut and Walnut" and "12." It has 6 passengers. Propulsion cannot be identified. A coach with two horses stands before the hotel. There is one couple on the sidewalk; two ladies together; there are twelve men, four of them in pairs.
S. W. Corner 8th & Chestnut
The corner building, facing Chestnut St., holds the business of H. Hooker & Co. It offers "stationary" [sic]; and books. It is #200. The next building, #202, houses Murphy & Billmyers House Furnishing, Hardware and Warerooms. At #204 is W. J. Horstman with "Fringes, Gimps, Buttons." Building #204 1/2 appears to be empty. The next store has the name "Everest" over the door and display window. The adjacent building has no decipherable designation and the last building to the right of the painting has "Le Boutillier Bro." over the doorway, and "Fancy Dry Goods" near the roof. A yellow, two-horse trolley is on Chestnut Street. It has red wheels. Painted in red letters are the words "Girard College," 10th & Chestnut," "Exchange," and "J. Peter." There is a two-horse coach with two drivers on the left. There is a whip and they are covered with a lap robe. There are three couples in this scene, 3 unescorted women, and 7 men. Crosswalks and curbing are installed.
Concert Hall and Theatre.
Chestnut Street at Twelfth [north side] 1879
On the left side are buildings housing the businesses of "J. W. Haseltine" and "Mrs. Wood & Co. Dress Making Parlor." The next building sports two posters for the Academy of Fine Arts. The sidewalk awning advertises "Anders Concert Hall" and "Furniture Store." "Buy Furniture Here" is on a sign hanging from the awning. There is also a sign well above the entrance announcing, "This property for sale. Lot 60 x 180 to Clover St." Next is the Chestnut Theater advertising "Fatinitza."
There are 13 figures in the painting, male and female. Trolley tracks are installed in the street. Awnings protect most of the sidewalk. Some windows are open in the buildings.
Northeast corner Broad and
Chestnut Streets. Now  Girard Insurance Co. 1879
The corner building, white with blue trim has blue and white striped awnings on the ground floor windows and doorways. Advertising on both sides of the building are: "American District Telegraph;" District and General Telegraph Office;" "Cooks World Ticket Office;" "Excursion Tickets;" "Penna. Railroad & Bound Brook Route to New York & The East, Depot 3rd & Berks;" Philada. Wilmington & Baltimore R.R., The Only Line to Baltimore & Washington; Through Tickets to all Principal Points South & West."Thomas Cook & Son, Tourist Excursions, London & New York." "Messinger, Police and Fire Service, Day or Night." "Notes and Parcels Delivered promptly to all parts of the city." "Atlantic Pacific Telegraph Co."
The adjacent building is marked: "MINT, The Segar Store Sample," and "Key West." Its green window shutters are closed. Both buildings have some open windows. The five trees ling the curb have early leaves on them. There is a telegraph pole with numerous wire connected to the corner building. There is also a drinking trough (?) curbside. Trolley tracks are in evidence. There are 11 human figures in the painting.
Northwest corner of Broad and
Chestnut Street 1879
The side of the corner building facing Chestnut Street has a sign for "R. Steel Importers of Wine & Segars Fine Liquors." The sidewalks in front of this building on both streets are protected with metal awnings. Several windows on the Chestnut St. side have blue & white striped awnings and are open. Some of the windows have closed shutters; some windows have both shutters and awnings. The next building facing Broad Street is the Broadway Hotel. It advertises "On the European Plan." Its sidewalk is also covered with a metal awning. The next smaller building advertises Patterson's Sample Room. Its sidewalk is protected with a smaller retractable awning. Next is a building advertising "Billiard Tables, Taylor & Estephe Manufactory." While a frame to support an awing is installed, an awning is not in place. There is a small sign attached to the frame advertising "Awnings." The next building has the word "Lager" painted on it. It has neither awning nor frame. The last building is not identified as to occupant; it does have a blue and white striped awning in place. over the sidewalk. The upper story green shutters are all closed.
This painting is interesting because of the different architectural styles. The Chestnut Street trolley tracks are in view. There are 12 human figures in the scene.
Chestnut Street north side,
commencing first house west of Broad Street 1879
There are two four story townhouses to the left. The steps have wrought iron railings. The windows have shutters, some of which are closed. The third property , #1413, has three stories, and houses the business of "Dr. James Glass, Maker of Family and Office Batteries." The street level floor houses a music store called Orguinette Co.Awning supports are installed, but the awning is not in place. Next is the business of J. F.. Roller & Son, French boots. A blue and white striped awning covers Roller's sidewalk. All the shutters of this building are closed. Next is #1409 which houses "Richard Eayres, Improved Pattern Hand Made Shirts," and "Gentlemen's Furnishing Goods." The adjacent store, #1407 houses "DAY from H Pool London." Both stores have small awnings out. The next building has the name "E. C. Potts Tobacconist" painted on his awning.There are 15 human figures in this building. The Chestnut Street trolley tracks are in view.
Collonade Row, Southwest
corner of Fifteenth and Chestnut Street Undated
A series of five uniform buildings united by a street-level colonnade face Chestnut Street. The windows are unshuttered. Five of them are open. There are two gas lamps in the scene, one at the corner and one in front of the third house. There is a man carrying a violin (?) case on 15th Street. Two men are crossing the same street. There is a couple, two ladies and a single man on the sidewalk in front of the colonnade. There are curbs and crosswalks installed.
EDWIN GREBLE. South side
of Chestnut West of Seventeenth Street. Torn down July 1886. 1883
The buildings housing the cemetery monuments and mantle business of Edwin Greble are on view. There is a large yard next to the office building and in front of a 3-storey manufactory to display the company's products. They are marble obelisks, crosses, human figures, urns, pedestals and slabs. There is also a wooden outhouse on the far right side of the open exhibit space. Painted on the rear buildings are the words: "Philada Steam Marble Works. Estab. 1829. Marble Mantel Works. Mantels of Every Description." The narrower building facing Chestnut Street has "Mantle Ware Room" painted on it. The name "E. Greble" is painted on both buildings. The property is fenced off from Chestnut Street by a wrought iron fence. There is also a decorative wrought-iron balcony on the second floor of the ware room building.
East side Broad Street,
Callowhill to Wood Nov. 1878
There are two three-story buildings. They house the G. Wenzler Carriage Factory and a wine and lager buisiness. There is an "Eating house" to the rear. There is a row of one-story buildings to the left covered with advertisements for "The Great New York Novelty Company, Barry and Kendel and The Walnut Street Theater.There is a sign for the New Central Bazaar and Ditmar Stocks & Co. There might also be a stable among these low buildings as there is a man leading an unsaddled horse down an opening between them. One sees a man, whip in hand, driving two horses from a carriage. There are five other male figures in the painting. Three telegraph poles appear in the scene.
Southwest corner Broad and
Callowhill Street Nov. 1878
The central feature of this scene is G. Bertsch Harness Maker, a one-story building. Harnesses and horses' collars are displayed in the windows and outside on saw horses. The Callowhill side of this building has an open-air eating stand w/6 stools in front of a counter attached to it. It is protected by a shallow awning. There is a woman server and two customers. The enterprise is owned by T. W. Pilling. Next is Stoddart & Bro. Extensive Retail Dry Goods House. Next is a "Blacksmith Shop No Admittance" with horses in two of the three bays. At the far right of the scene is the terminal for the Peoples Passenger Railway Co. There are 10 figures in addition to the ones already mentioned. A four-wheeled open vehicle w/folding hood carries a couple (the lady with her parasol open). The driver w/whip in hand controls the two horses. Trolley tracks are installed on Callowhill Street and telegraph poles line both streets. The dome of the Cathedral of SS. Peter & Paul is in the background.
Northwest corner Broad and
Callowhill Streets. Nelson House. Torn Down April 1880. 1880
The central feature is a "Hotel Restaurant & Coffee House." Dining Room and Bar Room are separate. "Meals At All Hours." "Oysters." A decorative wrought iron balcony is at the second floor level. In addition to the shuttered windows, there are three porthole windows. In the background is the Baldwin Locomotive Works. A flagman is directing a locomotive. There is also a boxcar in the yard. Two sets of trolley tracks are being used by two yellow trolleys going in opposite directions. Wording on one is: "Fairmount," Vine St. Ferry," and "Callowhill." Each is pulled by two horses driven by a man w/a whip. Crossing the tracks is a closed coach w/2 side lamps pulled by two horses. There is a smaller two-wheeled, one-horse vehicle w/an open hood. A pedestrian is helping the driver control the horse. To the left of the hotel are one-story, small offices, primarily of coal businesses. Visible names are "Branson Coal Depot," "J. Galbrath White Ash,: "Henry & Escher Lehigh Coal," "James Neil ." There is also a telegraph office and tobacco and segar store. There are 2 telegraph poles of different heights and a gas lamp on the corner. There are several adult figures and two children.
West side Broad Street between
Vine and Wood 1879
A building to the left has these words painted on the front: "John Siddon Flour Feed Hay Grain." Going to the right, the next building has "Glass Rooms." It is the "Penn Museum & School of Industrial Art."Continuing to the right, the next building sports a sign in a window for "House Painting" and a smaller sign for "Sing/House Painting." The corner building is "John Larzelere Livery & Sale Stable." A sign on the Wood St. side of the building offers: "Grain Feed Oats Corn Straw Hay." A poster on the same wall advertises a "Dog Show April." Across Wood St. is an identified building w/6 barrels in front of it. There are three telegraph poles and a gas lamp on the corner.
East side of Broad Street from
Vine running South. 1879
The central feature is the three storey Building at #251 and #249, the site of "T. B. Parker & Son. Coach & Wagon Builders." "Nth Broad St. Wagon Works." A symbol of the business is a red wheel sitting on top of the building. Chassis of unfinished wagons can be seen above the fence surrounding the property. Huge piles of lumber fill the yard surrounding this building. They belong to "Geo. Nass Lumber" which office is a small one-storey pink building to the extreme left. Two work wagons and a passenger coach are parked curbside in front of the wagon works.In the background is the building of "W. H. Lodge, Stair Builder."
East side of Broad Street between
Vine and Wood Mar. 1879
The three-storey building to the left has a "To Let" sign posted. To the right are #319 and #317 which hold the business of "James C. Prichett Flour & Commission Merchant." Some of the panes of glass are broken. A man in an apron stands in front. #315 serves "lager Beer." It sits on the corner of Pearl Street, essentially an alley. A man is entering #315.
Northwest corner Broad and
Vine Street Nov. 1878
To the left is the large building, #1415, belonging to "R. M. GREEN SODA WATER FOUNTAINS." A nearby store advertises "Oysters." The green corner building houses "M. O'DONNELL WINES & LIQUORS." The pink building to the right on Broad Street also has a sign for "Wine & Lager Beer," but it also houses the "Quabeck Segar Manufactory." There is a telegraph pole and trolley tracks run on Vine Street. The two leafless trees are protected by wrought iron fencing.There are 14 adult figures in the scene and one child.
Southwest corner Broad and
Vine Street Nov. 1878
The prominent feature is the corner building housing "Josiah Bryan & Co., Doors, Shutters, Sash." Also advertised are "Window Frames," and "Mouldings." The building bears the numbers 258 and 260. The name R. J. Riddle & Co. is carved at the roof level. To the left in the next building is a business owned by "Worley & James." Next left are #250 and #252, "L. Knowles & Co. Flour." There is also painted below are the words "Hops" and "Salt." A covered wagon with horse stands at the curb. The words, "To Hire," are painted on the side. Four adult figures are in the scene and two children. The Vine Street trolley tracks are in view as is a telegaph pole.
Broad Street above Race
To the left a man wearing an apron and hat stands in the doorway of #234. There is no indication of the business conducted in that building. Next, to the right, #236, is "J. Mitchell Dealer in Flour, Forwarding & Commission House." The bay doors are open revealing numerous barrels. Continuing to the right is #238, "John Kilpatrick, Flour & Grain Carter." This is in the same one-storey building as #240, "Joseph Beitler, Best Qualities of Coal."An alley separates #242 which holds "D. S. Osborne & Co. Manufactory of Reapers & Mowers. There is also a sign on that building for "E. J. Leeds, Flour and Grain Carters." There is a pile of coal in front of #240. A man stands in front of #238. A child runs along in front of him carrying a package. A fire hydrant (?) is at the curb.
Southwest corner of Broad and
Race Street June 1878
The first building on the left houses "Carriage Builders." Next is the "b. D. Stetson Livery Stable." The side of that building advertises "Phila. Carpet Cleaning & Renovating" which had its "Office 923 Arch Street." Next is a 2 1/2 wooden building selling "Wine." "A.Nagle" is advertised as a "Bill Poster" on the fence. There is a poster advertising "Buffalo Bill." Next is "Mc Faddens Havana & key West Segar Store." Around the corner from this store on Race St., and attached to the side of the building is an "Eating Stand." The Race Street trolley tracks are visible. There are 6 human figures in this scene.
Southeast corner of Broad and
Race Streets Dec. 1898
The large corner building houses "Sharpless Siter Co"., business unknown; and "Linnard & Gibbs, Dealers in Flour." Adjacent to that, and on the right, attached to it is the City Armory, dated 1853. There are a few adult figures in the scene, a coach pulled by two horses and the trolley tracks of Race Street.
Northeast corner Broad and
The central feature is the corner building. It housed the "C.V. Hecker Manuafacory Self-Rising Flour." "Croton Flour Mills New York." An election banner covers the entire width of the front of the building, promoting the candidacy of the "10 Ward Republican Ticket: Governor Henry M. Hoyt; Judge Supreme Court, James P. Sterret; Lieut. Gov., Hon. Chas. Stone; and Sec. Inter. AFF, Col. A. K. Dunkle.
In the same building, on the right side is the business of "J. E. Abbott, Painter." On the sidewalk stands a sandwich sign for "Segars." There are four adult figures and a child in the scene. To the left in #209 Broad St. is the Allen & Seybert Commission Merchants, Flour Grain Feed. To the right in # 205 is housed the Department Highways, 2nd District. The next right advertises "Ice & Coal Company, Principal Office & Depot 91 Jefferson cor. Hutchinson St., Wholesale & Retail."
Northwest corner of Broad and
Race Street 1878
The corner building has an awning facing both streets advertising "Ice cold beer, McCullough's, Lager Beer." The next right building, facing Broad Street, has the dates 1776 and 1876. Next right is #204. It carries the name "George Myers Manufacturer of Bath Boilers & Tanks."In #206 is housed "W. E. Hoffman, Sand Paper Moulding, Act for Tabers, Washboards Jambs." Continuing to the right is D. Bunting's Hotel which also advertises "Lager Beer" on the awning.
East side Broad above Race
Building #225, 223, 219 house these businesses: Walter & Shain, Commission Merchants Flour, Grain, Hay, Straw; and U. S. Cigar Manu- factory, T. J. Dunn & Co. The later was established 1866. The office and salesroom were located in the same building. The name "W. Henderson" appears in conjunction w/that of T. J. Dunn.
#217 houses "Chas S. Haas, Alcohol."
The building to the far right, unnumbered housed "Edwin Hart, Carriage Repository, Storage for Carriages Furniture & Carriages on Commision & Advance." There is a frame installed on the building for a sidewalk awning. There are 3 male figures, a female and a male child in the painting.
Northeast corner Broad and
Cherry Street, Demolished 1881 1878
This painting features the Adelphi Theatre. Four advertising boards lean againt the front of the bullding which is lighted by four gas lamps. There are three gaslamps of two different designs at the edge of the sidewalk.To the left of the theatre in #143 are two businesses: W. J. Koch & Co. and Colhown & Cowton, Liquor Dealer, Commission Merchant.To the right are two signs for "Converys Coal Yard and Lehigh & Schuykill Coal.There are a couple crossing the street and a single female and single male on the sidewalk.
Southeast corner Broad and
Cherry Streets; Offenbach's Garden 1876; Carriage depository or Bazarr
[sic] 1881; Torn down 1892-Odd Fellows Hall 1893. Dec. 1878
A single building dominates this painting. The awning facing Broad Street advertises "Doyle Nichols & Cooper, Horse and Carriage Bazaar, Auction Sales Mon, Tues." To the right is another awning advertising "Key West Segars." There is a poster for the Chestnut Theatre applied the the front of the building. A black sign to the left reads, "Bazaar Hotel and Sample Room Ale." A sign on the Cherry Street side of the building advertises " Bazaar Restaurant Sample Room Beer." There are two male pedestrians on the sidewalk, and a gentleman in a top hat riding his horse. Two gas lamps are in evidence.
Northwest corner of Broad and
Filbert Street 1879
The corner building facing Filbert Street carries a sign for "Donaldson."
The side of this building carries a sign for "Lager beer."To the left, still on Filbert Street are three 3 1/2 storey townhouses. To the right facing Broad Street are two barber 's poles and "Shaving" painted on the wall.
There is also a sign for "Cold beer Premium Lager." Next right is the Keystone Hotel with "To Let" on the wall.
There are numerous figures in the painting: Three couples, two men crossing the street, a solitary man and a newsboy with his papers.
Trolley tracks and a telegraph pole complete the picture.
First Ba[p]tist [sic] Church,
Broad above Arch Street, west side. The words "Academy of Fine Arts"
are written to the far right below a limited view of that building. Nov.
A partial view of the church is to the left. Dominating the painting is "W. C. Coup's Eques. Curriculum." A sign affixed to the building over the entrance advertises "The Wonderful Bronchos [sic]." At street level pasted across the width of the building are yellow signs advertising "W. C. Coups, Newest Show on Earth. The posters depict a clown, the circus ring, a giraffe and a lion. There is a newsboy, a couple, and four men on the sidewalk. There is also a single woman. A carriage with driver and two horses stands in front of the building. To the far right is a limited view of the Academy of Fine Arts.
Southwest corner Broad Street
and Penn Square 1879
The awning affixed to the Broad Street side of the corner building advertises "Myers Court Exchange, Lager Beer" on the awning. The yellow portico on the Penn Square side of the building advertises "B. A. Mullins, Sample & Lunch Room. " A blue banner at the corner advertises "Lager Beer." There is a sign on the side of the building for "Wine, Ale and Lager."
A Market Street trolley pulled by two horses moves along the tracks. There are also a couple riding in an open coach with a driver and pair. There are twelve human figures on the sidewalk and crossing the street.
Southeast corner of Broad Street
and South Penn Square, Rev. Lord's Church remodeled 1885. Torn down
1892 for the erection of Betz Building. The words "U. S. Mint"
are printed under a distant view of that building. 1881
The dominant building is the large, Greek-style building w/a very grand entrance portico facing Broad Street. The building is surrounding by a high wrought iron fence. Behind this building, facing South Penn Square is the U. S. Mint. In the distance is Wanamakers which advdertises "General Dry Goods" on the side of its building. There is a yellow Market Street #2 trolley pulled by two horses moving along its tracks. In the distance to the far left is a covered wagon, probably a delivery wagon. There are seven adult figures in the painting.
John Chamber's Church, Broad
and Sansom Street. 1868
This painting has especially fine detail. The handsome Greek-style building is surrounded on two sides by ten saplings w/their Spring leaves. There is a partial view of a townhouse to the left. There are five adult pedestrian figures and a closed coach with driver and pair. There are a gas lamp and telegraph pole in the painting.
SouthEast Corner Broad and
Carpenter Streets, Opposite old Baltimore R. R. Depot 1884
To the left is a hotel advertising "Beer" and "Oysters." Next is a building advertising Flour Grain Produce Commission, Hay Straw." There is a horse and wagon with a man in front taking on a load of barrels. Next right is "Newhall Depot House, Fruits Cakes Candy." Continuing to the right is an unidentified building. An unhorsed work wagon stands in front of this building. Next right is " #13 and #15 Stable" which appears to be the terminus for the horse trolleys. On the far right is the two-storey "Union Hotel & Dining Room." In addition to an awning installed the full width of the sidewalk , the U. S. flag flies from the roof. There are about 18 adult figures in the scene.
Continuation of Broad St.
Opposite Old Baltimore Depot to Washington Avenue.
This scene is a continualtion of that in P.2298.32. To the left of this street scene is a partial view of the Union Hotel advertising "Dining Room." Next right is a one-storey building advertising "Baggage, Peoples Express." This is followed by "The Largest Dry Good House," also captioned "Grand Depot." Next right is a two-stroey building with "Wait for Barnum" painted across the windows. Next right is #1025, "M. W. Crowley, Dealer in Fine Old Rye Wheat Bourbon Whiskey." Next is a small, one-storey building which is not identified, followed by a fence covered with posters advertising "Wait For Barnum, Only White Elephant," and "Yates Fine Clothing."
To the right is horse trolley headed for the Navy Yard. There are about 12 human figures in this scene.
N. E. Cor. Broad & Fairmount
The central building in the painting, on the corner carries signs for "Broad St." and "Coates St." To the left, on Broad St. stand 7 or 8 covered delivery wagons, all but one unhorsed. Possibly this was the area of a livery stable. To the far right a horse trolley destined for Green & Coates Streets comes into view. There are numeous adult figures in the scene. A free-standing sign on the corner has a white horse painted on it. Possibly this advertises the corner building as an inn or restaurant. "Old Coates Street became Fairmount in 1873, between the Delaware and Schuylkill rivers." From Street Names of Philadelphia," by Robert I. Alotta, p. 59. Ref. Uy8/99665/O.
From Willings Alley to Spruce
Street, Eastside of Fourth Street Undated
Thirteen handsome red brick townhouses, almost uniform in construction...same roof level, green shutters, 3 1/2 storeys. The trees in front are barren of leaves. There are 7 human figures in the scene.
Washington Circus, N. E.
Cor. 5th & Buttonwood St., 1830
The painting show a mixture of red brick buildings and wooden clapboard ones. The Washington Circus is the latter. It is the largest building in the scene. There is "Ticket Office" on the front of the edifice and the U. S. flag flies from the roof. Eleven figures are on the sidewalk and a solitary horseman is in the street. The many trees are bare of leaves.
Silver Heels Hotel, N.
W. Cor. Fifth & Buttonwood St. 1830
This is almost a rural scene. There are five red brick buildings with several smaller wooded buildings interspersed. The corner to the left appears to be laid out as a park. There are numerous trees just beginning to show their leaves. The Silver Heels Hotel has a sign outside with a horse painted on it. There are many human figures, one of which is a man on horseback.
Philadelphia Navy Yard 1838
On the Delaware River, Philadelphia, Pa. The Delaware River figures mightily in this scene. To the left is a three-masted ship anchored before several warehouses. In the distant background are many, many other sailing vessels. To the right of center is a green island and a paddlewhell boat with two smoking stacks and a load of passengers. To the right is the green New Jersey shore. Two men are rowing along the river in a rowboat and two other men have beached their rowboat along the marshy Pennsylvania side.
Merchants Hotel, North
Fourth St., Philada.
This is a very busy street scene. The five-storey, white, Merchants Hotel is to the right. It features a second-floor porch, whereon five adult figures are standing. A yellow carriage and pair are in front of the hotel. Near the hotel a man carried a trunk on his back.
Next to the hotel, on the left in #32, J. W. Gibbs & Co. conduct an unknown business. In #30, Hogan & Thompson seel Books and stationary [sic]. In #28 in Trotters dry goods business. H. Duhring conducts his business out of #22.
Almost all of the buildings have awnings at sidewalk level. There are several horses and men hauling items manually or in a wagon. One man pushes a wheelbarrow. There is also a dog in the scene.
Northwest corner of Race and
Fifth Street 1888
The North American College of Health is localted in the 3 1/2 storey corner building. It advertises Wright's Indian Vegetable Pills. Adjacent and to the left are two handsome red brick townhomes. The trees have their summer leaves. There are several adult figures in the scene and one child. There is an additional date in the picture-1844. It is felt that this is the time represented in the painting, whereas 1888 is the year it was painted.
N. W. Cor. 13th & Callowhill
To the left in the scene is the 3 1/2 storey red brick Drove Yard Hotel. A high wooden fence to the right leads one to a Flour & Feed business and Ferguson's grocery is in the wooden house on the corner. A one-hourse delivery wagon stands at the corner and a closed passenger coach with pair is being driven by. There are several adult human figures in the scene and two unharnessed horses. The Spring leaves are on the trees. There is a green watch house on the corner to the left.
Old Mechanic Fire Co. &
House of Refuge Wall., N. W. Ridge Ave & Coates St., Present Site
1891 of Geo. Lutz's Tailor Shop 1891
The fire company sits on the corner and appears to be of wood. It is narrow, two-storey's high and has a bell tower on top with an observation platform. Behind it and to the left is visible the stone House of Refuge. The wall along both streets is of wood and has theatrical posters on it. One advertises "National Circus, Dan Rice." Several human figures people the barren scene.
S. W. Corner 7th & Chestnut
This handsome street scene features a large red brick corner building which is not identified as to purpose. Next right is a yellow 3 1/2 storey town house. Next right in a red brick building are two businesses, "Mrs. M. Burks Millenry [sic]," and "Winchester & Scott Furnishing Store." The adjacent building is unidentified, but it is followed by "Cornelus & Co. Gas Fixtures." Across the street and on the corner, one can see a bit of the building housing Warne's Rifle & Pistol Gallery. There are two passenger coaches and numerous human figures on the sidewalks.
North Side of Chestnut St.,
Extending from Sixth to Seventh St. 1851
Several business are identified in this scene. Beginning at the left, the viewer sees "A. Smith, Druggist." Next right is "Mahan Philadelphia Fashion." This is followed by L. Benkert Boot Store in # 209. Columbia House, a hotel (?) is a large building which also houses "Ferguson & Bro." and E. G. Dorsey, Tailor.""Dr. Jaynes Phila. Arcade" houses Dr. Davidsons Arcade Baths." This wide building is followed by the narrow "Bolivar House," a hotel (?). A handsome, wide white building follow. It is not identified but could be a theatre. The corner building houses Bloods Dispatch (a delivery service?), and Schenks Pulmonic Syrup.
A man runs to catch the yellow 10th Street trolley. There is a passenger coach and pair and an open delivery wagon drawn by a team of two horses. There are many, many pedestrians in the scene, including a newsboy.
Jefferson College, Reconstructed
Tenth St. at Sansome, Philadelphia, Pa. The very handsome, Greek-style portico of Jefferson College faces on Tenth St. There is a smaller, red brick building to the viewer's right. Next right on the corner is the red brick building housing "H. Hochstrasser, Bell Hangh (?), Architechural Carver." Mr. Hochstrasser stands in front of his store wearing his apron. There are 8 male pedestrians and one female carrying her shopping basket. The solitary tree in the scene is in leaf.
Sweet Brier [sic], Fillmyre's
Beer Garden 1866. Remodeled 1870. 1867
Fairmount Park, Philadelphia, Pa. This country scene shows a yellow mansion with green shutters and a wide porch partially obscured by trees in leaf. The surrounding grass is long and has at least five long picnic tables scattered about. There are some barrels visible and three chickens are pecking for food. Two women wear white aprons and are presumed to be servers. A glass hothouse (?) stands in front of the porch. Spelling should be "Sweet Briar."
Edward Penington Mansion,
1859. Present site of a School House, 1890. Feb. 1859
Crown St., Philadelphia, Pa. This is a very handsome red brick, 3 1/2 storey manion with a large walled side garden. Ivy grows up the side of the house. There are wrought iron railings leading to the front door beside the steps. It is Spring and the trees are in early leaf. A Race and Vine Street trolley passes the house on its tracks. A gas lamp is on the corner. A few pedestrians are on the sidewalk. The front of the house is beautifully detailed.
Mower U. S. A. General Hospital,
Ches[t]nut [sic] Hill, Philadelphia. 1865
This is an aerial view of the Civil War hospital. It depicts the many wings of the hospital, the central administration building, numerous outbuildings and a two car train and its engine which facilitate transport of the sick and injured. There are two horses pulling a hay wagon, and four small train cars with a load of an unidentified commodity. The hospital is completely surrounded by a tall fence. The area is depicted in summer with all the neighboring trees in leaf and the surrounding fields are green. The roads into and within the hospital grounds are not paved. This information is written below the picture: "Length of Corridor half mile; Acres enclosed 27; Circumference of grounds one mile; Capacity 3600."
Valley Green, Wissahickon
above Red Bridge 1869
Wissahickon, Fairmount Park, Philadelphia The white Valley Green Hotel owned by I. D. (?) Casselberry stands alone in the midst of a heavily wooded area. The hotel is situated on a wide dirt road. The wooden fence to the left of the building is in disrepair.A closed passenger coach is in the distance. A hitching post is across the street from the hotel. Two men stand on the wide hotel porch. After a photograph by Robert Newell.
Grays Ferry Public Tavern
A 3 1/2 storey deserted white building is central to the scene. Its porches are collapsing. There are piles of old lumber in front of the building. The building is in a state of disrepair. The Delaware River is in the background, and train tracks are in the foreground. It is a summer scene with the trees in full leaf.There are no human figures depicted. After a photograph by Robert Newell.
Lippen or Lippman, Wissahickon
Fairmount Park, Philadelphia, Pa. The white building to the right is somewhat obscured by the trees which are in leaf. There is a low white wall separating the edifice from the wide dirt road. A low white shelter for the horses and carriages is at the end of the wall. Wissahickon Creek is visible on the left. There are two carriages and three male figures in the picture.
Westside of Schuylkill near
Girard Ave. Bridge.
Not certain Girard Ave., Philadelphia, Pa. In this winter scene snow covers all. The Girard Avenue Bridge is in the distance. Men are cutting ice from the river. There are ice houses.There are a horse and dray to haul the ice. Written in the lower left hand corner are the words "1871 demolished." It is believed this does not allude to the year the scene was painted.
Columbia Bridge 1872
Schuylkill River, Philadelphia, Pa. This bucolic scene features in the distance the Columbia railroad bridge which crosses the Schuylkill River. In the foreground is a small train marked "PRR." Also visible is a telegraph pole strung with wires. On the opposite bank of the river are two large red brick buildings housing the Wirz Beer Saloon and the Jos. Amenz Beer Saloon.. The season is summer; the grass is green; the trees in leaf.
Northeast corner Thirteenth
and Race. Bricklayer's Cos. Building. Changed into a store in 1872 and
occupied by Norris & Bro. Plumbers. Undated
This light-colored corner edifice is flanked on its side and to the rear by 3 1/2 storey red brick townhouses. Two windows are open in the house to the left; the shutters of the house on the right are closed to the sun. The latter house has wrought iron railings on either side of the entrance steps.The five trees in the painting are barren of leaves. There are 11 adult figures in the scene.
Southwest corner Eighth and
A light green 2 1/2 storey townhouse faces Eighth St. To the left a decorative green fence enclosed a garden area with leaved trees. To the right, along Callowhill Street a plain wooden fence encloses the rear of the townhouse property. There is a two storey building to the rear of the townhouse which appears to be a business establishment. It may or may not be part of the townhouse. There are, however, no signs indicating this is a business rather than a private home. Two horse trolleys are in the scene. One carries the name "Park," and the destination, "Callowhill and Market." This vehicle is, in fact, traveling on Callowhill Street and the other, on Eighth Street. There are 19 adult figures in the scene, male and female.
University Buildings and Stores,
Ninth above Chestnut Street, West Side. 1873
Two very handsome white stone, four-storey buildings with similar facades sporting pilasters and fan lights are behind a high wrought iron fence in a red brick (?) courtyard. Two entrances to the courtyard are visible and a third which is closed by two green doors. To the right is a one-storey building with an awning to the edge of the sidewalk housing JP. LA. Maistre's White Oak Bark Candy. The store also has walnuts, tobacco and segars. The store window further identifies the business as a confectionery. Outside numerous barrels support a table displaying piles of a red item unidentifiable. There is a yellow poster advertising a circus. In the street a closed passenger coach with two horse is driven by a coachman with whip. There appears to be a cab stand as three closed carriages, each with two horses, stand at curbside. There are a total of 12 adult figures in the scene.
Indian Rock Hotel, Wissahickon
A two storey white building stands to the left in this scene. It has a white, two-storey porch across the full width of the front of the building. The hotel sits right on the edge of a very wide dirt road. Opposite the hotel is a low, open shelter to tie up carriages. In the distance is a smaller white building. In the foreground is what appears to be a fence to hitch horses to. Two adult figures are on the porch with three chairs. A one-horse closed coach stands in front held by a man in a red shirt. This is a heavily wooded area. The leaves are on the trees. After a photograph by Robert Newell.
Old Girard Avenue Bridge and
Pennsylvania Railroad Bridge 1874
Girard Avenue at Schuylkill River, Philadelphia, Pa. A two-car train crosses the bridge supported by at least four stone arches. The bridge in the foreground is made of iron. A paddlewheel boat is crossing under that bridge. The scene is viewed from the shore which shows a wide dirt road with a parallel dirt path (?). The many trees have their leaves.
Old Log Cabin on the Wissahickon,
Torn down 1874. 1874
This very wide building appears to have a stone first floor and a clapboard second floor. A two-storey porch crosses the full width of the building and the first floor continues farther along to the right to house the Drinking Room and the Ladies Saloon. Also advertised are Refreshments and Ice Cream. Continuing to the right is a low open shed to tie up horses and carriages. This scene is viewed from the water. On the right, across the dirt road and on the creek shore are two bears chained to upright poles. There is a rowbow in the water tied up to the riverbank. The many trees are in leaf. The business is advertised by a sign at the top of a two-storey pole marked "Old Log Cabin Hotel."
Broad Street and Germantown
A two-storey white building carries a porch , also two-storey, across the full width of the front. The porch continues around to the right side. This porch is one-storey. On the roof is a sign identifying the building as "Markley's," a tavern. A broad dirt road leads to the hotel and divides to go to the right and left. On either side of the road are white fences enclosing grassy areas. The many trees are just beginning to show their Spring leaves. There are two buildings in the rear to the left and right of Markley's. To the far left is a low open shed to cover horses and wagons. A single horse is tethered to a post. A man in a red shirt holds a saddled horse. Two male figures stand on the porch. After a photograph by Robert Newell.
Buttonwood Hotel at Darby,
torn down and rebuilt 1876
A substantial red brick building stand on a corner. There is a second storey porch on two sides which also shades the sidewalk. To the left is a three storey white townhouse. There is a tall water pump at the curb with a bucket and a trough. A man in a red shirt carries a water bucket. A sign on the porch railing advertises "Buttonwood Hotel." "Boyd's Celebrated Ice Cream" is also advertised. A yellow, two-horse trolley to the right travels on its track. It is marked "Darby Road" and "Chesnut St." In addition to its driver and the many passengers there are seven additional adult figures in the scene.The many trees are leaved.
Southeast corner Broad and
Master Streets, Sideyard of Forrest Mansion converted into a Concert
Hall for Gilmore's Band. 1876 1878 Southeast corner Broad and Master Streets,
The broad, two-storey building carries a "For Sale" sign. There is a low wrought iron fence separating this property from the broad expanse of sidewalk. The six trees are without leaves. The house to the left, partially viewed has a chute to take materials out of the edifice. There are no human figures in the scene.
Northeast corner Second and
Arch Street Dec. 1878
The four storey red brick corner building carries signs for Wainwright & Co. and Groceries and Tea. Awoman sells merchandise from a table made of two sawhorses and a plank. There are three additional adult figures in the scene. The white building to the left, numbered "103"advertises a jeweler (full name not visible) and Jam Cresty (?) Mixed Paints. The red brick building to the right carries a sign for "Hats" and Damai (?). There is an awning frame attached to this building. There are a corner street light and a telegraph pole.
Candy Row, Pennsylvania Ave.,
above Twenty-fourth Street 1874
The scene shows a row of ten wooden (?) attached buildings across the street from a broad rail yard. The U.S. flag flies from the roof. The buildings carry signs for "J. Denby, Car Weaver," "J. Rostrum Importer of Common and Fancy Piegons [sic]"; "Agent for Inman Lines," and "J. Hart Tinman." A single box car in the railyard is identified "P & R, 922, Reading RR, 2298." A signalman waves a red flag. There are ten (?) additional figures in the scene.A horse trolley run on Green Street to the far right. There is also a business advertising "Lager Beer."
Northwest corner of Fifteenth
and Race Street 1873
The corner buildings facing both streets are wooden. The one storey building advertises "Wine, Liquor, Ale." The three other wooden buildings, two and a half storeys, do not carry business signs. To the right are three storey , modest ,red brick townhouses. To the left on the other street is a four storey red brick, much grander, townhouse. Its steps have wrought iron railings. One of the windows has a blue and white shade. The shutters on all other windows but one are closed against the sun. There are three adults in the scene. Trolley tracks are installed on both streets.
Smith's Maple Spring Hotel,
Wissahickon Creek 1879
A very grand three storey white building, sporting a porch on two levels on the front and visible on one side, sits directly on a wide dirt road next to the creek. A fabric awning is installed across the full width of the front, and a free-standing sign, also in front, in front advertises "Maple Spring Hotel." To the left of the building is a low open shed to house horses and carriages and to the right is another low open shed housing two long oar boats. There are four human figures visible. The leaves are beginning to show. It is Spring.
Old Floating Boat Houses at
Fairmount. Removed 1882. 1881
Fairmount, Schuylkill River, Philadelphia, Pa. A floating boathouse to store rental oarboats is surrounded by numerous of its boats in the water. One of the boats has been pulled up on the shore by the path. The boathouse is identified as "Geo. Popps Park Boat House." In the background to the left is "T. Tillot, Boars To Hire." A woman with raised parasol sits on a wooden and iron bench while a man with a cane stands before her. There are two children nearby and a third child with a man on the pier to the far right. The trees are in bloom. This is an attractive summer scene.
Northwest corner of Eleventh
and Race Streets, 1883
Rebuilt by Jos. Newman 1882, The Lippincott Express & Transfer business is house in the corner building. In addition to the name, the words "25 cents" are painted on.To the left the next building holds "Shur & McConnel House & Sign Painter." The word "Marble" is also on the second building. There is a large yard between the two buildings holding numerous standing items which appear to be headstones for graves. An obelisk is also in this yard. These relate to the marble business. The next left building advertises "Furniture" in its awning. The the right is a double 2 1/2 storey red brick house. There are 14 adult humans in the scene. The trolley tracks of both streets intersect in the foreground. A streetlight and a drain are installed at the corner curb.
West Penn Square and Filbert
Street. Torn down 1880 for Pennsylvania R.R. Terminal 1879
The large corner building, facing Merrick St., houses The school of Design for Women. It is encircled by a wrought iron fence and has wrought iron railings on either side of the entrance steps. There are six female figures in front. On the far right 15th Street can be seen. Two women are riding in a two-horse open carriage with a driver. Two trolley tracks are visible. The trees are bare.
Northwest corner of Thirty-Third
and Chestnut Streets 1880
A high stone wall, topped by a wooden railing (fence) supports a large green plot with trees. A white clapboard residence with asymetrical roof is on this plot. The front of the house faces 33rd St. To the right of the white house, at a lower level, also on 33rd St. is a red brick double townhouse. To the right of that is "H. Wendell Builder, Carpenter." At the left margin of the scene is an unidentified 2 1/2 storey wooded building, presumable a business. Trolley tracks are visible on both streets. There is a corner streetlight.
Northeast Corner of Juniper
and Market Street 1879
A large two-storey corner building advertises "City Hall Restaurant" and "Ladies & Gentlemens Restaurant." Painted on the awnings over the sidewalk is "Bass & Co. Ale." Painted on the Juniper Street wall is "Breakfast (not visible); Dinner 12-6; Supper 6-10." "Lager Beer" is also advertised on the wall. A man leaning against this building is having his shoes shined. The next building to the right, facing Market Street, houses "Sharpless & Watts Ornamental Tile."
To the far left on the corner of Silver Street is a building with "Lager Beer" at the third storey level. The No. 21 Darby Road horse trolley also has the words "Market Street" and "West Philadelphia" on the side. There is a canvas covered wagon w/horse from which a man appears to be selling merchandise to a housewife. An open, two-horse coach and driver carries two passengers.
Southeast Corner Filbert and
Juniper Street 1879
The corner building, facing Juniper Street houses the Penn Square Advertising (?) Agency. The adjoining building on the same street holds the Magistrate Court (Wm. Thorp, Magistrate). To the far right, on the corner of Silver St. is a tavern (?) selling "Lager Beer." There is an awning extending over the sidewalk. There is a curbside hitching post. Some Spring leaves are visible. There are ten human figures.
No. 2 to 3 Market St. Bridge.
Oct. 18, 1879
This painting is seen from an interesting angle. One is at water level looking up at the lattice work of the red metal bridge and between the stone supports to the opposite bank where a coal yard is located. "Sherman & Co." is painted on a red brick building behind the yard.There is a barge in front of the coal yard.
No. 4 Abator Oct. 1879
Schuylkill River, Philadelphia, Pa. The painter has identified the P.R.R. Grain Depot to the left. There is a pile driver and the abutment. Most of the buildings are low, witha 2-3 storey building to the left. There are two barges, one loaded, one empty. A man in a red shirt rows two men on the river. The Encyclopedia of Philadelphia (LC) has as its first entry the word "abatoir" which translates as "slaughterhouse." The entry says: " In 1875, the stock-yards and abattoir were removed ....to Thirtieth and Race Streets, on the west bank of the Schuylkill River. Perhaps the painter misspelled "abattoir" as abator. The low buildings in the background could be housing animals ready for slaughter.
Northwest corner Market and
Merrick Street or West Penn Square. Torn down in 1892. Enlarged the
Pennsylvania Station 1892 and 1893. 1879
A four-storey gray building, titled "Central Coffee House Block," sits on the corner, facing Market St. The frame of an awning extends to curbside. A sign "Condensed Milk" hangs from the frame, and behind it, on the building is painted "1427 Canfields Condensed Milk." The American flag flies from the roof. A horse and wagon stand in front of the building on Market St. On the side of the wagon is the sign "J. T. Carter, Upper Darby, Del. Co., Dairies." A man is delivering or picking up milk cans by the wagon. There are two trolley tracks in the painting, both running along Market St. They go in opposite directions at Merrick St. Adjacent to the coffee house, facing Merrick St. are two redbrick townhouses which share a common set of stairs. A third townhouse is separated by a narrow plot of land. There are two separate doors to the latter property. Perhaps it is a low, one-storey building? To the far right a horse-drawn trolley comes into view. It is #14 and has "Market St." painted on its side.
No. 1 to 2. New Bulkhead Wharf
West Side Schuylkill River, Extending North From Chestnut St. Torn down
in 1892.Bridge to Upper Side of Filbert St.. Site of Abutment for Elevated
R. R. Bridge Penna. R. R., Oct. 1879. Oct. 1879
The Chestnut St. Bridge creates a horizon. A horse trolley is crossing the bridge which has six lampposts on it. A smaller wagon is also on the bridge. The Schuylkill River is in the foreground. There are several barges in view, two of them loaded with coal. A man steers the barge named "MaryAnn." A single man is in a loaded rowboat. On the shore in the background to the right of the painting are several red brick industrial buildings. Two are identified as "Brill Co. Car Builders" and "Lehigh Coal." Also on view are several telegraph poles, smokestacks and church steeples.
Southeast corner of Thirteenth
and Filbert Street 1880
To the left, on Filbert St., is a two-storey wooden building, yellow w/green shutters. It is attached to a red brick building; the roof slopes down to the right. There is a display window at street level, but no merchandise is identified. Next right, on the corner, with the main entrance facing 13th St., is a four-storey red brick building. A metal awning reaches to curbside across the full front of the building and around the corner onto Filbert St. to the mid-part of the building. Two men are loading numerous barrels onto a dray w/two horses. A sign "Plumbing Gas Fitting" is attached to the right of this building. Next right is a fence with a key painted on it. The fence is attached to a one-storey wooden building housing "John Searle, Locksmith, Bell Hanger." Continuing to the right are three, 2 1/2 storey wooden buildings housing "Wo Long Laundry," a segar store, and a boot store. A red sign stands curbside advertising "Chinese Laundry." The segar store has a wooden Indian at its door. The boot store has a boot painted on a hanging sign.The frame for an awning stretches to curbside, from the locksmith shop to the boot store. An alley separates these businesses from a 3 1/2 storey townhouse. Trolley tracks are laid on both streets. Two elegant ladies with parasols cross 13th St. There are several other adult figures in the scene.
Darby Road and Baltimore Pike
"Louis Walz Star Hotel" is the focus of this scene. It is a large, white 2 1/2 storey building with a balcony on three sides. It sits between two trolley tracks, as on an island. "Lager Beer" is advertised on the building. A horse-drawn trolley, #14, is headed for "Woodland Cemetery." A man drives an open carriage. There are a man on horseback and several pedestrians, including two children. A bucket, pump and horse trough are in front of the hotel. The trees are bare. In the background are two very large red brick buildings with mansard roofs. They appear to be too grand to be private homes. Possibly they are institutions.
Northwest corner Thirteenth
and Callowhill Street 1880
"New Station" faces Callowhill St. It is a large red brick building belonging to "Pennsylvania Railroad, The Shortest Middle Route." "Susquhanna, Cumberland & Lehigh Valley." To the far right is a barber shop with barber's pole in front. Between that and the station is the railyard which one car visible, identified by "PRRR" on its side. There appears to be the ruin of a burned out building in the yard. There are also two attached 2 1/2 storey brown brick townhouses (businesses?) facing 13 St. An awning frame stretches to curbside from these buildings. These buildings are tied together on both streets by a wooden fence. Trolley tracks are laid on both streets and a trolley marked "13 & 15, Baltimore" comes into the scene on the right. Telegraph poles and smokestacks are in the scene as are numerous pedestrian figures.
Southwest corner Fifteenth
and Race Street 1880
The scene is dominated by three large 3 1/2 storey red brick buildings with green shutters on the upper stories. These are probably institu- tional buildings, but are not identified. They are surrounded by a high wrought iron fence. On the corner, facing Race Street, is a green wooden building, 2 1/2 stories high. It has two sets of double doors at the corner, facing both 15th St. and Race St. A green wooden fence runs from this building at the rear on the 15th St. side. A horse trolley for Vine St. is to the right. There are numerous adult pedestrians in the scene, a single corner lamppost and several bare trees.
East Side of Seventh Street
below Arch. Once Second Presbyterian Church. Torn down 1880; Rebuilt
in 1881 Now 1883 occupied by Stores. 1879
Seventh Street below Arch, Scipio Place, Philadelphia, Pa. Harry Enochs Varieties is housed in the dominant building in this scene. Signboards advertise: "Grand Opera, H.M.S. Piano Four and Paddy Murphy." It was "Open Every Evening" and "Wednesday Friday Afternoons." "John Trace House Carpenter" and "Hughs & Phillips Box Makers" advertised on the corner of the building. A sign for "Scipio Place" is fixed on the side of the building. To the left of Enochs Varieties is a red brick building housing G. T. Gabell's Plumbing Gas Fitting and Steam Fitting business. Trolley tracks run on Seventh St. There are four attractive lamp posts in front of the theatre. The scene holds several adult and juvenile figures.
Southwest corner of Sixth and
Arch Street, Demolished 1885 Mar 1879
A 3 1/2 storey red brick building, facing Arch St., houses Lipps & Fulweiler Segar Manufactory. The building also hold Gleason's Ready Made Show Cards, Ready Made Signs, Awning Wings, Curtains and Oil Cloth Signs." A wooden Indian stands by the door on Sixth Street. A large sign on the side of the building advertises "Our Brand, The Corner Havana Segars 5 cents." Alson on the Sixth St. side is a Fruit Stand protected by an awning reacing to curbside. Continuing to the left, along Sixth St. is a low, two-storey red brick building housing several businesses. There are a barber, w/barber pole; M. Romer Mens Furnishing Goods, Shirts Made to Order, Sign Painting, Flags and Banners, Awnings, and an Aquarium. In the background is a very tall building holding "Rodgers Printer." Trolley tracks run on both streets.
No. 3 to 4, P. R. R. Grain
Depot, Oct. 1879
This shoreline view of the Schuylkill River shows a very large building identified as "P. R. R. Grain Depot." Several men are working with horses and drays loading and unloading barges w/a black substance (coal?). In the background are a passenger railroad car and several freight cars.
Southeast corner of Ninth and
Filbert Streets 1880
The large red brick building on the corner, facing 9th St., houses J. M. Pepper Music & Title Engraving & Printing, as well as E. McCalla & Son, Cloths, Cassimeres Vesting. Signs on the Filbert St. side of the building advertise House Painting, Sign Painting and Glazing. A awning, installed to curbside protects the corner of this building. Other businesses in smaller buildings to the left continuing along Filbert Street are: #830 Baggage Express; Brown Packing Boxes; P. Jordan Carpenter; A. Donley Cooper; Wm. Penn Sale & Drover Stable; and Cannons Wm. Penn Stable. A #5 trolley rides along Filbert St. headed for 18th & 20th Sts. There is also a trolley track on Ninth Street. Packing boxes are at curbside on Filbert. There are several adult pedestrian figures.
Northwest corner of Jane and
Sixth Street 1880
Jane [also Jayne] and Sixth Streets, Philadelphia, Pa. The Shontz & Brown's Falstaff Hotel, a corner building, faces Jayne Street. Arthur's Oyster Bay restaurant had removed from the Sixth St. space and left a sign in the window of its new address at S. E. corner 7th & Jayne. Next along Sixth Street is a wide passage to a brewery and a segar store. Next is #22 Thurgland. In the background is Megargee Paper & Rag House. A yellow horse trolley comes into the scene heading for York. There are trolley tracks on both streets, a lamp post on the corner, and several adult figures in the scene.
Southwest corner of Fifteenth
Street and Penna Ave. Torn down May 1880 1880
Central to this scene are the buildings of the Farrell Safes business. The firm manufactured Safe Work and Franklinite Steel Bankers Chests. The firm was located near the tracks and rail yard of the Pennsylvania railyard. An engine and several cars of different tracks are in view. A flagman waves a red flag. A yellow and green trolley destined for the Baltimore Depot via Thirteenth & Fifteenth Sts. is at the crossroads. A row of red brick workers' home runs parallel to the Farrell buildings. A man drives an team of mules.
Northeast corner Fifteenth
and Callowhill Streets. Torn Down 1880 1880
Seven attached three-storey red brick buildings are central to this scene. The one at the left end houses a business which sells "Pure Liquors. Porter, Ale, Lager Beer." The building at the far right end sells "Feed." Trolley tracks run on both streets; the #13 trolley comes from the left and the #31, from the right. There is also a closed passenger carriage in the scene and two open wagons with horses. To the right is a one-storey building housing "Old Drivers Ice & Coal." Several adult pedestrian figures are in the scene.
Southwest corner of Market
and Merrick Street. 1879
Central to this scene is the four-storey white building with mansard roof housing the Third National Bank facing Market St. It also houses, on the Merrick Street side the West Penn Square Academy operated by T. B. Langton. Trolley tracks are laid on both streets. There is a single lamppost on the corner. Adjaced to the bank on Market Street is the E. Y. Sterner SegarsTobacco Warehouse. The rest of the scene is full of private townhouses, two of which has second storey wrought iron balconies. Thee are several adult pedestrians and two bare trees com- pleting the scene.
Front and Master Streets, Kennsington
[sic]. Old Commissioners Hall 1879
The two-storey Commissioners Hall with cupola is the central feature of this scene. The edifice bears For Sale signs and also across the front signs advertising First Grand FAIR Schuyler Post 51 GAR (Grand Army of the Republic) Aid of Decoration Day. The building sits in a park-like setting and is surrounded by building materials, including large and small pipes. In the distant background to the left and right are other large red brick buildings and a trolley. The trolley is headed for Richmond. There are two small covered sheds on wheels bearing signs "3 Dist."Twoworkmen are in the scene and several women, one with a child. The seven trees are bare of leaves.
The Late Residence of Wm. B.
Mann. South East Corner of Girard Avenue and Fifteenth St. Demolished
The three-storey white mansion is visible through the many trees just showing their Spring leaves. It sits behind a wrought iron fence which becomes a stone fence in a large park-like setting. Trolley tracks are laid on both streets. From the left comes a yellow trolley designated "Girard Avenue." A green trolley comes from the right. There are several adult figures in this very beautiful and delicately rendered vista.
Northeast corner Thirty-third
and Chestnut Street. Former Residence of Jos. Keen. Present site of
Drexel Institute. 1880
The home of Mr. Keen was 3 1/2 stories and appears to have been a townhouse which has been altered with several additions. The lower level is a place of business with several barrels out front. They are protected by a partially installed awning. Above that is a porch across the full width of the front. The addition to the west side has gothic windows on the 2nd and 3rd levels which shutters are closed. An identical wing seems to have been added to the right side of the building. This is a wooden (?) building. To the right are two large glass hothouses behind a wooden fence. The front of the house faces Chestnut Street. There is a wooded fence on Thirty-third Street. A yellow trolley runs along 33rd St. It is marked Lancaster Road and Chestnut and Walnut. All but one of the trees in the scene bear their leaves. There are several adult pedestrian figures in the scene.
East Side of Thirteenth above
Callowhill. Occupied in 1844 by Colored Orphan Asylum 1881
The Philadelphia & Reading R. R. Co. Office building dominates this scene. The four storey red brick building has a high green fence to the right connecting it to a two-storey green building housing Sullivan & Sweeney Cotton Wool, RAGS, Waste Paper and Old Metal. Also advetised on the front of this building are Corn, Oats, Mill Feed, Cut Hay, Baled Hay and Straw, Cracked Corn and Bran. To the left of the RR building are a series of low red brick structures. They house: J. Hunsinker, Commercial Merchant, Haines & Scarlet, J. Neil & Son, Lehigh Coal; and Barber & Son Coal Office, 13th & Noble. There is a water pump and hydrant curbside. There are several large barrels before the Rag business and six adult figures in the scene.
North side Walnut Street near
Eighth Jan. 1882
Poulson's Restaurant is at the left in a large hotel building. Next right is a low, two-storey Grand Central Variety Theatre with advertisment on sandwich boards and the front of the building as well. "The Mad Poet" is advertised. It was also matinee day. Segars are sold in the corner building to the right. There are numerous pedestrians in this scene. There are trolley tracks, bare trees and two lamp posts. There is good color contrast in this scene.
Northwest corner of Eighth
and Arch Street 1882
Rush House is to the left in a four storey red brick building. The proprie- tor is H. P. Reed. The next building made of white blocks does not advertise its business. The corner building bears this sign, "This old landmark to come down, It's no use. Down she comes July 1." The awnings on this edifice advertise Woods Popular Trimming Store. Going around the corner, onto Eighth Street one encounters Hollanders Human Hair Store. Next is T. O. Fulmer, and last, Mark's. Two trolley's are in the scene, the Arch St. vehicle operating between Fairmount and the wharf; and #14 on Eighth St. heading for Fairmount. There are two handsome closed passenger carriages outside the human hair store.There are many pedestrian figures. The one action person is a newsboy running to passersby waving a paper.
Market above Eighth Street,
South Side March 1880
Beginning at the left, G. O. Kelley & Co. is housed in a four storey red building. This is a furniture and dry goods store. A picture of a dresser with mirror is painted on the wall to the right of the entrance. The next building, the same height but divided into five stories, is Allegheny House. It holds the Climax Folding Bed business and an unnamed Hair Dressing shop. The numbers of these business are painted below the lower margin and are #812 and #814. Next are three businesses housed in a 3 1/2 storey building with a common roof. One is a shirt manufactory. A blue banner advertising "Special Brewing All Brown Stout" is fixed to the front of the building and extends to a pole at curbside. Next is Lutz & Crother which has men's clothing in the showcase window. At the second storey level is a sign advertising "Show Cards." The third establishment, #820, houses "Park Boots & Shoes, Ladies, Girls & Children's Shoe Emporium."The five storey Commercial Hotel is next right. At street level, housed to the left side is S. Aaron Clothing in the Commercial Clothing Hall. This advertisement is on the sides of the awning which covers the sidewalk to the curb. To the right is the Ladies Entrance to the hotel. At the right margin of the picture is a 3 1/2 storey Tobacco & (not in view) Manufactory.A closed delivery wagon rides the tracks going in one direction; an open flatbed wagon with a load of merchandise rides the tracks going in the opposite direction. A Haddington horse trolley, which route includes West Philadelphia and the Market St. Ferry, is also in the scene. At curbside are 3 other horse-drawn vehicles. One is an open delivery wagon; a second is a closed passenger coach, and the third is an open vehicle. There is also a man pushing a loaded handcart. There are several human figures in this scene. Some are workmen, some passersby, most adult and some children. Two telegraph poles are in view.
Northside of Market Street
between Juniper and Thirteenth Street 1880
To the left is a mostly obscured building. It appears to advertise "Thorndike Liquors." Next is a 3 1/2 storey edifice, #1321, housing H. C. Elder Hardward, including nails and tools. A ladder and scissors grinder wheel stand at curbside. Next is a 2 1/2 storey Soap & Candle Manufactory owned by Mr. Dallet. The building carries a For Sale sign at the second storey. Next is a wooden 1 1/2 storey wooden building which purpose is not identified. This is adjacent to a two-storey building selling or making segars. A wooden Indian is at the door. This is followed by a 1 1/2 storey wooded building advertised as the Great Western Hotel Barber Shop. A red and white barber's pole is at curbside. Next right is the Great West Hotel, a 4 1/2 storey building featuring an awning, which frame crosses the entire breadth of the front of the building, extends to curbside. The awning covers the frame half-way. Blue and white striped awnings shade the six second storey windows. The last building to the right is the Louis Presti___ Piano W___ business. A passenger trolley rides the tracks. It is operated by the Heston___ Co.; its destination is West Philadelphia via Market St. There are a telegraph pole and a street light in the scene. The bottom of the telegraph pole is adorned with red and white barber pole stripes.
Blue Bell Tavern Paschalville-Darby
Road. Kept for many years by Charlie Lloyd. May 1880
A 3 1/2 storey white building is the focus of this scene. It bears a sign with a large blue bell on it and the words "To Suffolk Park, Russell." A Paschalville-Darby Road horse trolley travels one of two sets of tracks in front of the tavern. To the right of the tavern is a hitching post with a man in a red shirt tending a horse with a feed bag. There is another, higher hitching post to which is tethered a passenger coach. Two men lounge under the tavern's first floor roof which extends over the sidewalk.To the right a female pedestrian passes a second wooden and stone building. In the background the willow trees and other trees are in full leaf.
Old Church northwest corner
Eleventh and Wood Streets. Built for Rev. Stockton. Seven or eight years
ago opened as a Variety Theatre closed by the Mayor as immoral. First Sunday
Morning Breakfast Association rooms. Now Salvation Army. 1881
A gray classically styled building with a double staircase leading to a porch now closed off by red and yellow panels faces Eleventh St. Three rear windows, on Wood St. are boarded up. Three other windows have broken panes. At street level on the Wood Street side a wooden enclosure has been installed. It bears a sign for the Salvation Army next to an open door. It also serves to hold posters, one of which advertises the Can-Can. To the rear of the S. A. building, on Wood St. is a smaller building housing Bates Carpenter Builder. To the right of the S. A. building are two townhouses, one bearing a sign for Carlton St. which separates it from the S. A. edifice. A horse trolley, operated by the Citizen Line, bears the number 10 and travels on Tenth and Eleventh Sts. There are ten adult pedestrians in the scene in addition to those on the trolley.
Gen. Patterson's House S. W.
Cor 13th & Locust St. Oct. 1882
Gen. Patterson's house is a very grand 2 1/2 storey mansion with attached hothouse. It is fronted by a low wrought-iron (?) latticed fence which changes to a low stone fence extending a great distance to the corner and around the corner. The house is far left of center. It faces Locust St. To its left are two other massive fuilding, not identifiable. A single set of trolley tracks travels along Locust St. A yellow trolley, marked 13 & 15 Street is on the tgracks. Traveling from the opposite direction is a closed passenger coach with match white horses. A carriage stepping stone and fire hydrant (?) are at curbside. Nine pedestrians, male and female, are in view. It is Autumn. The many trees have brown leaves.This is an elegant scene.
Southwest corner Thirteenth
and Locust Street. General Patterson's Mansion Oct. 1882
This view of General P's house features the 13th Street side. A one storey stone building is attached to the left side of the mansion. It is attached to a high stone wall (?) or a long, one storey building. The trees at curbside bear brown leaves. It is late Autumn. Two trolleys are in the scene. One travels on 13th St. and 15th St. and originates at the Baltimore Depot. The other trolley operates on 13, 15 and Locusts Sts. At the right margin of the scene is a massive 3 1/2 storey building, not identified. This was a very elegant neighborhood.
Eleventh Baptist Church.
Twelfth at Race Street, West side. Now used as Sunday Breakfast Association.
This tranquil Winter scene centers the white church fronted by a high iron fence. On either side are 3 1/2 storey red brick townhouses, one with a wrought iron railing and fence. The #2, 12 & 16th St. trolley travels on the single set of tracks. There are six well-dressed pedestrians, male and female, in the picture. There is also a child.
Nazareth M. E. Church,
Founded A. D. 1818 Rebuilt 1827, Enlarged 1835, Thirteenth Street below
Vine, Rebuilt 1887-1888. Oct. 1882
A large stone edifice is distinguised by a two sets of double wooden doors at the top of a double marble staircase with a wrougjt iron railing, fronted by a high wrought iron fence at street level. There is a fan light at the attic level. There is a white marble stone installed between the second and third stories. Between the two staircases, at street level, is another door. To the left of the church are two 3 storey red brick attached buildings with shops at street level. One, #242, advertises Notions and Trimmings on its awning. It isn't known what enterprise is housed in #240. To the right of the church are mored red brick townhouses. One carries a sign "Hinkle (illegible). A green trolley travels the single set of tracks. It advertises its route-13th & 15th Sts., and originates at the Baltimore Depot.
South Side of Callowhill St.
above Thirteenth, 1881
The scene features a row of 12 2 1/2 storey attached buildings, each housing a business. Beginning at the left on the corner, facing Callow- hill St. is Magees Hotel which sells ale. Next is an empty storefront holding posters for "Barnum's Great Show." The next sign reads "Berks and Montgomery Co."This is followed by Pottsville House which serves beer. C. Theis sells lager beer in the adjacent establishment. Mr. Bradly sells oysters in the store to the right and has a four-level display rack out front on the sidewalk. He is followed by Sieholts Philadelphia House; then Berks Co. House; a Dining Saloon which serves oysters; another Dining Saloon; Parker House; and finally, Depot Fluer's Best Brewing.Several establishments have barrels piled high curbside in front. A trolley originating from the Baltimore Deport travels on 13th St. A second trolley travels on Callowhill St. There are numerous adult figures in the scene. There are also two telegraph poles. Three hitching posts are in view. A carriage is hitched to one of them.
Northwest corner Twenty first
and Market Street 1881
The building housing Bradleys Great Western Market anchors this scene. It is a wide white wooden building, with six high, wide double doors spaced across the front. A tin corrugated roof shelters the sidewalk to curbside. There are barrels and wooden crates on the sidewalk. A green wagon is loaded with crates and sits perpendicular to the curb. To the left of the market is Conley's Ice Cream Saloon. Public and private parties and balls can be held there. Oysters and dinners are also served. Conley's also features an Ice Cream Garden. The wooden fence surrounding the garden advertises a newspaper "All News, The Times." The street in front of these buildings shows four sets of rails. There is a blue boxcar belonging to the P. P. W. & C. R. R. Three horse trolleys are passing by. #2 travels on Market St. #18 is housed at the New York Depot and travels to the Market St. Ferry. An open wagon operated by the Adams Express is carrying merchandise. There is a closed passenger carriage. This is a very busy scene.
Dutch Reformed Church, Northeast
corner Tenth and Filbert Street, Last service in this Church Feb. 27,
1881. Demolished 1881 1881
A massive gray classical building faces Tenth St. It is surrounded by a high wrought iron fence with stone pillars surmounted by four gas lamps at the gates. To the left, continuing along Tenth St., is a 3-storey building housing a House Painting business; Eakins Gold Foil which might have been a dental supply business. On the side of the building is painted "C. E. Blumner & Co., Fresco and Ornamental Painting. Scrip Lettering, Glazing, Calcimining." Behind the church, on Filbert Street in #929, is Toy Bros. Plumbing. "Plumber, Gas and Steam Fitter, Lead, Iron and Terra Cotta Pipe" were also advertised. The adjacent building housed C. Lippincott Soda Fountain. There is a single set of trolley tracks on each St. The Filbert St. trolley operates along 18th & 20 Sts. The Tenth St. trolley also runs on Eleventh St. There are three adult pedestrians in this scene and a large tree w/no leaves.
Temporary Bridge Over Schuylkill
River at Market St. Incline Plain of Penna. Railroad. Torn Down 1881.
This trestle bridge carries pedestrians on its sidewalk, passenger carriages, trolleys on their tracks, and delivery wagons. It also carries at least two boxcars pulled by 9 horses (mules?). A man pushing a wagon is also on the bridge.
Southwest corner Eighth and
Sanson [sic] Street. Present site the McClures Times. Burnt down 1892.
The central building here is James McColgan's International Comedy Theatre. It is of white stone, with a huge golden eagle atop it and the U. S. flag as well. It features two round gas lamps attached to the front wall, facing Sansom St. Two sandwich boards stand curbside advertising " Grand Matinee Today. To the left of the theatre, on the corner, facing Eighth St. is a five storey red brick building housing the Sunday World, Madden Bros. Whines [sic] and Liquors and English Brown Stout. E. Fizer Harness Maker is advertised on the front wall. The next left building holds C. Sauters' Furnishings Goods. Back on Sansom St., to the right of the theatre is Bergners Lager & Beer & Bancroft & Son Blacksmith. The #14 trolley runs along Sansom St. A green trolley travels along 8th St. Two telegraph poles are in the scene and numerous adult figures.
North Side Market St. from
22nt St. Running East. 1881
A wide expanse of street is on view. In the foreground is the Market St. Ferry horse trolley. Its base is the New York Depot. To the right is a #10 trolley, also from the New York Depot, its destination West Philadelphia via Market Street. To the left coming down the road ramp is a team of six mules, harnessed singly, with a rider in a red shirt on the 3rd mule. Behind the team is a P.R.R. blue boxcar, #2210. In the background is a two storey building selling "Feed." Passing in front of it is a delivery wagon for Wanamaker Brown Oak Hall. At the corner, painted on a wooden fence are the words " Wanamaker Oak Hall Clothing." The building on the corner, a two-storey red brick with mansard roof houses "J. Kelley, Gal. Iron Cornices, Brackets, CApts & Slate." The building is numbered # 2125 and #2123. The double building to the left is advertised "To Let, E. P. Morris." In the background are several huge storage tanks. There are several pedestrians in the scene.
United States Laboratory 1800,
Arsenal Grays Ferry Road 1882
A 2 1/2 storey red brick building sits behind a high red brick wall with two gates facing Grays Ferry Road. A white building sits behind the wall, too. The U. S. Flag flies on a tall mast. To the right along an unnamed street a little train engine is advancing toward the viewer. The Arsnil [sic] and Ferry Road horse trolley advances on tracks from the left on Grays Ferry Road. The trolley tracks and train tracks cross at the corner. There is no signalman in view. Seven adult male pedestrians are in the scene. The numerous trees are in leaf.
North side of Union Street
east from Fourth Street 1881
This is a residential scene. The home of Miss Amelia Peters is marked with a cross, and the information given that she "Liver here 50 years-August 1893." The houses are 2 1/2 and 3 1/2 stories. Next to Miss Peters' home is a very wide walled garden. There appears to be a "Loy Tailor" in business on the other side of the Peters property. The four trees at curbside are in leaf.
Trinity Methodist Church east
side of Eighth above Race Street. Torn down 1881. Last Religious Service
and Love feast Monday evening March 7, 1881. 1881
A massive gray stong building with classical columns sits behind a high wrought iron fence. Three doors give entry at street level. To the right is a red brick townhome. Next to that is a four storey building housing C. Ernest Manufactory of ivory goods. "Station____" is also advertised on the awning which reaches to the curb over the sidewalk. To the left of the church in #219 is B. A. Smith Carpets and Furniture Warerooms. Weekly or monthly payments are allowed. A #13 trolley, headquartered at the Germantown Depot and traversing Green St. passes in view. Over 40 human figures, adult and juvenile are in the scene.
Historical Society Rooms.
South side Spruce Street between Eighth and Ninth St. Demolished 1893. 1882
A two-storey red building with Gothic windows at the second level is the exclusive feature of this scene. The words "Historical Society" are above the street-level entrance. The windows to either side of the door are protected with wrought iron grating. A high wrought iron fence encloses the park on either side of the structure. Two gas lamps are curbside. There are grass, small evergreens and numerous deciduous trees in the early stage of leafing. A weathervane is atop the building. In the background, probably on the adjacent street, one can seen dimly numerous four storey townhouses. This is a very elegant neighborhood. The Spruce and Pine Streets horse trolley which travels between Grays Ferry and Fairmount enters the scene at the right. There are several adults in the scene and a newsboy hawking his papers.
Northeast corner Tenth and
Race Street 1883
The 2 1/2 storey wooden corner building, facing Race St., houses J. Roan, a restaurant serving oysters and lager beer. Next on Race is another building bearing the sign "Cheap Blinds." Next is a red brick building advertising "R. W. Kensil Blinds" and "Furniture, Chairs." Facing 10th Street is a red brick building bearing the sign "Corbetts/M. Wright." Trolley tracks are in evidence on both streets. There is a horse trolley advancing along Tenth St. It also travels on Eleventh St. according to the sign on its side. Atop the trolley part of an advertisement for "Heaters, Ranges" is in view. A telegraph pole w/no visible wires completes the scene.
Southeast corner Twelfth and
Race Street 1883
Beginning at the right hand building is a large red brick building facing Race Street. Its windows and sidewalk awning advertise "Ice Cream" and "Confectionary." Next left, also on Race Street, is a smaller building advertising "Bottois Confectionary, Wholesale & Retail." Continuing left along Race Street is "J. Taylor Carpenter," and "Furniture." His wares are displayed curbside: dresser with mirror, a gentleman's chest of drawers, a green chaise longue, two side chairs, a small rocker, and a washstand. "Milk" and "Oysters" are sold in the next establishment. S. Frappel sells Lager Beer in the next store. This is followed by C. H. Kendrick's "Boarding & Livery" stable. This building also advertises "Kendricks Bazaar." An unhorsed open carriage sits on the sidewalk. Two trolleys are in the scene: one travels "Race & Vine." The second travels 12th & 16th Sts. A lamppost is at the corner. This is a Winter scene. The tree to left is bare of leaves. Five pedestrians are in view.
Southwest corner of Eleventh
and Race Street 1883
A tan building, facing Eleventh St., appears to be a barroom. There are swinging doors facing both streets and a lamp attached to the corner of the building. The printing on it is illegible. Adjacent to the building, on both streets are handsome townhouses. A telegraph pole is on Eleventh St., in front of the barroom. A Race and Vine Street trolley enters the scene at right.
Above the Northwest corner
of Eleventh and Race Street May 1883
There is a mix of residential properties and commercial properties in this scene. There are two red brick townhouses to the left. Next right are two smaller wooden buildings both with display windows. Next right, #1105, a green building, is a furniture store. A rocker, three sidechairs and a dresser with mirror are exhibited on the sidewalk which is protected by an awning. Next right is a five storey building whereon are three workmen cleaning or painting the street level facade and windows.
German Reformed Church, Corner
Hillsdale and Race Street 3 M 1883
This massive red brick building with two sets of wooden double doors is protected in front by a high wrought iron fence and on the side by high reb brick walls. Within the church yard is a sign "This building will be occupied next month by J. Lucas & Co. Paints." There are several bare trees in the yard. There is a telegraph pole curbside. To the left, on the corner, across Hillsdale St., is Cramer & Small. To the right is a four storey gray building with an outdoor fire escape where C. Ceider manufactures "segars." At the street level of the same building is "Grassmar Printers."
A horse trolley enters the scene to the right. It travels between Fairmount and the Exchange on Rase [sic] and Vine St.
Southeast corner of Seventh
and Callowhill Streets 1883
In the center of the scene is a low gray shed trimmed with white. This appears to be the terminus for the #8 Callowhill St. trolley. One sees the trolley tracks curve around the end of this building. Passengers appear to be waiting for a trolley. There is a man in a red shirt pushing a loaded handcart. To the left the corner building houses "Sensman & Son Printers." At the street level of the same building is "N. Ferree Lightner Coal."On the other side of the trolley barn, on the corner, is "FAmily Grocery" which offers "Choice Tea." Farther along Callowhill St. a painter has his business in #632. There are numerous adult in this scene and two trolleys. Three of the females are carrying their shopping baskets.
South-east corner of Twelfth
and Locust Streets 1883
There is a mix of modest townhomes in this commercial district. The corner edifice is two storeys, made of wood. Coal, oil, segars and tobacco are sold here. There are boxes and barrels outside on the sidewalk. There is no awning on the frame which extends over the sidewalk on the Twelfth St. side of the building. Lager Beer is sold from a townhouse on Twelfth. The low yellow frame building is the "Palace Segar Store." Adjacent to the three townhomes on Locust St. at the next corner "Wine & Liquor" are sold. Trolley tracks are visible on Twelfth Street. There are numerous adult and child figures in the scene, five of whom are African-American.
Northwest corner of Eleventh
and Pine Streets, Demolished 1889, Present site of The Gladstone. 1883
Several enterprises are visible here. To the left on Pine Street is the sign "Stove & Heater Manufacturer." Next right are "Birds." Several bird cages hang outside on display. Next is "Schriber, Tin & Sheet Iron Worker." The next building advertises "Segars." A red pillar (?) stands curbside advertising "Tobacco." The corner store is "M. Traynor Licensed Tavern and Oyster House." A wooden frame for an awning extends to the curb. This low wooden gray building also bears a sign on the 11th Street side "This property for sale. C. H. Muirhead, 205 S. 2nd St." A red sign on the corner of the building advertises "Segars." Continuing around the corner, on 11th St., "Lager Beer" is sold. Two trolleys come into view, the No. 3 which travels on 10th and 11th Streets, and the No. 4 which travels on Spruce and Pine Sts bewteen Fairmount Park and Grays Ferry. Almost all of the adult figures in the scene are African-American.
Northwest corner of Sixth and
Vine Streets 1883
In this era Sixth and Vine was a very attractive residential area. To the left is a park or private property surrounded by a wrought iron fence. Marble pillars are at its gate. Numerous mature trees, now bare, line both streets. The low white Penn National Bank sits of the corner with elegant red brick townhomes to its left and around the corner on Sixth. That homes is identified as the "Late Residence of Tucker Cambell South above Vine St." The Fifth and Sixth Sts. trolley which has Frankford as its destination is to the right. Trolley tracks are visible on both streets. Ten adult figures are visible in the scene.
West side of Seventeenth above
Chestnut Street, Amateur Dramatic Association, Converted into a Feed
Store 1885. 1883
The A. D. A. is a very imposing red brick building with a magnificent center door, painted green, and smaller side doors to either side of it. A sign "A.D.A." is above the main entrance. To the side of the building the sign "St. Joseph Ave." is affixed. Across that avenue is a handsom four storey townhouse which has a lattice work of wrought iron railing up the entrance steps and along the front. To the right of the A. D. A. is #32 which houses "Seitz Upholster." The trolley which comes into view travels on 17th & 19th Streets.
Third Street west side from
Union to Cypress. 1883
A handsome gray building with a white awning extending to the curb houses "Jn. Ruppman Merchant Tailor." #324 on Third St, a handsome red brick townhouse held "E. Burthey Manufacturer Chocolate Cream Drops French Candy. Two doors away is "R. Woods Wine & Liquors." The #9 trolley traveling on Second and Third Streets heads for Frankford.
Friends Meeting, Southwest
Cor. Sixth and Noble Streets. 1883
One has a straight-on view here of the high red brick wall that surrounds the Friends complex. The many trees in its courtyard are in full leaf, obscuring the edifice. Trolley tracks are visible on Sixth Street. A single telegraph pole is curbside. There are eight adult figures in this tranquil scene.
Southeast corner Sixteenth
Street and Girard Ave 1883
Two trolleys come into view in this most elegant neighborhood. The #3 travels between Fairmount Park and Germantown on Girard Ave. It is passing in front of two large elegant buildings which are double townhouses. The two buildings are protected by a low stone wall topped by a wrought iron fence. There is a generous lawn with bedding plants set therein. Urns hold additional flowering plants. There are several evergreen bushes and a fountain to one side. The trees curbside and next to the homes are in full leaf. One of the homes is for sale. Seven pedestrians are in the scene.
Northeast corner of Fifth and
South Streets, Torn down 1883, Store on Corner 1883
A three storey gray building is the focus of this scene. It has a second storey balcony. At street level the front yard is enclosed by a green picket fence. A cabinet maker might be housed here. To the left is a wood fence with theater posters on it and a sign "Brink & Black, 513, Sign & Carriage Painters." There are two wagons behind the fence, presumably being painted. To the right of the gray building is a "Photographer" who has displayed numerous photos (cartes de visite) in front. A trolley travels on Fifth and Sixth Streets between Kensington and Frankford. The handsome red brick building to the far left houses an unnamed undertaker. All trees in the scene are leafless.
Northeast corner of Twelfth
and Spruce Street, Torn down 1886 1883
There is a mix of architectural styles in this scene. A low, two storey wooden building occupies the corner lot. Segars are sold from it. To the right are two 3 1/2 storey townhouses with wrought iron railing on either side of the staircase. To the left on 12th Street, #265 houses "De Saville Painting, Glazing, Signs." Two doors to the left is "J. F. Land Carpenter & Builder." Housed in the same building is "Wood & Co. Stoves." Several stoves are displayed curbside. Two trolleys are in this scene. One travels along 12th and 16th Streets; the other, Spruce and Pine Streets. Ten adult pedestrians are visible.
Southwest corner Seventh and
Norris Street 1883
This is almost a rural scene. Twin Red brick townhouses with wooden buildings attached in the back in the New England style sit in a fenced in corner property. A man looks out over the fence. The fence sports painted ads: "The Press, The Best and Largest Newspaper." Also, "Occidental Cures." In front of the townhouses on 7th St. is a pump and water trough. There is a horse and open wagon carrying two barrels. There are five pedestrians. The trees in the scene are leafless.
Southeast corner Fifteenth
and Callowhill Sts. 1883
This is entirely a industrial neighborhood. To the left in the largest building is the T. S. Johnson Tool & Machine Works. Next right is Ford & Kendig Plumbers Gas Fitters Supplies. The next smaller building is owned by W. Miller, who serves wine and lager beer. He is neighbor to a barber who has a barber pole at curbside. On the corner is a low building which also sells lager beer. Around the corner and to the far right of the scene is a blacksmith and horse Stable (?). Two trolleys enter the scene from opposite directions. One is owned by People Line and travels to Fairmount. The other travels on 13th and 15th Sts. A blue wagon holds bulky merchandise. There are eight pedestrians in this scene.
Skating Rink, Chestnut St.
west of 23rd St., 1884
This is an interesting airborne perspective of Chestnut St showing the double trolley tracks with trolleys on them. One sees the ends of the buildings on that street. The skating rink is a large red brick building, surrounded by a lumber yard. Next to that is the L. Power Wood Working business. Left, across the street on the corner is an unidentified tavern. The #20 trolley has Fairmount Park as its destination. There are several pedestrians in this scene.
S. E. Cor. Franklin & Girard
In this scene Girard Ave. is divided by a one-storey wooden building which appears to be a market shed. The upper storeys of red brick buildings can be seen behind it. They house these buisinesses: A. L. Flue, Excelsior Range (which also advertised heaters) and A. W. Paulsworth, Flour; The side of the largest building holds advetisements for National Horse Shoe and Smiths Pat. Milk Cans. On the corner, facing both Franklin and Girard, are one storey wooden buildings housing: Goodenough and Seeley (which had a horseshoe depicted in the sign); Thomas Miller which business is not identified, housed in #714; and Tamous [sic] a restaurant selling oysters and "fine stew 15 cents." A #2 trolley is at the right margin, traveling along Franklin Street. The words "Richmond" and "North Penn" are painted on its side. Two trolleys travel on Girard Ave. One bears both numbers 2 and 4 and the words "Girard Ave" and "Park." In the background is the steeple of an unidentified church.
Dallett's old Soap Manufactory,
Northeast corner Tenth and Callowhill Streets 1884
An interesting and attractive white building, possible an octagon, shows three sides. It has "Soap & Candle Manufactory" painted on it. Benches are on either side of the front door. Fanlights are over the two doors which are visible.The side of the building facing Tenth St. also houses Lyons Stoves & Ranges. Numerous sample stoves stand curbside under a protective awning. Klinger Brewery is farther along Tenth Street and in the other direction, along Callowhill Street at # 923, is a store selling segars. The Callowhill Street trolley is passing this building. At the left margin another trolley which travels along Tenth and Eleventh Streets, enters the scene. Under this trolley are the words "Ridge Ave." If one looks carefully , one sees another set of trolley tracks entering the scene from Ridge Ave. and merging with the tracks on Tenth St. A leafless tree and gaslight complete the scene along with the three pedestrians.
Thirty-Second and Race Streets,
Residence of Hare Powell, Afterwards Residence of Spencer Miller 1884
A very grand edifice with four Greek columns reaching to the third floor is the only edifice in this scene. This is a corner property. The home sits in a park-like setting which is surrounded on both streets by a high stone wall. Twelve trees in leaf are curbside. There is a break in the wall and one can see carriage tracks entering the property. There are four adults and one juvenile pedestrian. Two men are riding on horseback. In the lower right corner of the scene one sees a wooden fence.
Laniganville, Girard Ave. West
of 37th St.,1884
The Girard Ave. trolley crosses the lower margin of this country scene. It travels to Memorial Hall. Two parallel roads travel vertically. At the left is 37th Street which appears to be a raised dirt road. The parallel road is the two-track railroad which a train advancing toward the viewer. It has just come under a railroad bridge in the distant and a train is traveling on that as well, heading in the direction of the Zoological garden at the left margin. Telegraph poles are strung out along this railroad track. A cluster of dwellings on either side of the railroad tracks comprise Laniganville.
N.E. Corner 12th & Spring
Garden St., 1884 1884 12th & Springarden Sts., Philadelphia, Pa.
St. Mark's Lutheran Church is in the center of this scene. In front of it
is a one-storey market building (shed) dividing Springarden Street. Trolley
tracks run on either side of the market and are carrying trolleys each,
one labeled "Union Line." A trolley marked "12 & 16"
is visible on 12th Street. Just off the corner is an attractive 3 1/2 storey
building labeled "Hotel." To its left, facing 12th Street are
one storey constructions. Leamy's sells "Segars Imported Key West."
Next to that "Day & Weekly Papers" are sold. "Blank Books
Stationery" are sold at the adjoining business. There are very few
human figures in this city scene.
First Old Presbyterian Church,
East side of Seventh Street, A few doors below Bainbridge formerly Shippen
Almost all the human figures in this scene appear to be African- American. One is a man selling vegetables (?) from his one-horse cart. At the corner is a three-storey building with the sign "Cheap John" over the open door. Next is the red brick church. It sits behind a high wrought iron fence which is damaged. The church appears to be closed, the first floor window's shutters closed as are the shutters of the side window on the second floor. Two headstones are visible in the small cemetery beside the church. The adjacent building sells lager beer. The Union Line trolley #3 is headed for the Navy Yard.
Brown St. Above 4th, 1884,
North Side Three Doors West of Fourth 1884
Three red brick buildings are viewed from the opposite side of Brown St. To the left is a five-storey red brick building with an entrance large enough for carriages. A carriage and horse are lightly sketched inside. This is a livery stable. Next right is a red brick building of smaller dimensions. It is the 3 1/2 story Zoar M. E. Church. The stone above the third floor is inscribed: "Zoar M. E. Church, Founded 1791, Rebuilt 1838." The building carries a For Sale sign over the green front door. This was an African-American congregation. The church sits behind a low wrought iron fence. Next right is a substantial three story red brick building housing C. W. Kramer's Light Carriage & Wagons. A workman in an apron stands at the door. There are three pedestrians; a gas lamp curbside; and several bare trees both in the churchyard and at the curb.
This scene is especially pleasing because of the rich coloring of the red buildings.
N. W. Cor. 11th & Girard
On view is a row of four double townhouses, four and a half storys high. The simple front plots are protected by low ornate wrought iron fencing. Identical wrought iron railings divide the front steps. To the right the No.2 trolley enters the scene; it travels on Tenth & Eleventh Streets. A closed carriage is at the opposite margin. It has just discharged a visitor to one of the townhouses. A gas lamp is at the curner curbside. The trees are bare. There are several pedestrians in this very elegant neighborhood.
S. W. Corner 11th & Market
Numerous businesses are depicted in this scene of Market Street. Beginning at the left is P. R. Hansbury Co. which sold "Fine Parlor & Chamber Suits" of furniture. Also sold were mattresses and bedding. In the next building were sold Glass and Window Glass; Harnesses and Saddles; and Drugs. A mortar and pestle are painted over the door. An "Umbrella Manufactory" is next. Waterman Celebrated Bitters are sold in J. W. Ramson's store. Bates Furniture Wareroom is housed in #1108. Klein Brothers sold Fine Clothing. Seed, Implements and Grass Seed were in the next building to the right. Then came Dickerson's Heaters, Stoves and Ranges. This was followed by Boughton Wood Carpenter. The Great Atlantic Tea Company, Import and Retail, followed. Forest and Ely sold seeds and grass seed from #1122. Last, Aaron's sold Men's Clothing. A Market Street trolley, destination West Philadelphia, is in view. A trolley that travelled on Tenth and Eleventh Streets is to the left. Several business wagons are tied up curbside. There are several pedestrians.
Unitarian Church, Northeast
corner Tenth and Locust Streets, Torn down 1885 1885
Unique. This is an interior view. One faces the balcony and organ from the center aisle. The windows are of stained glass in two colors, red and green. There is a small modest chandelier. The walls are tan with a border at the lower edge. There is a center aisle painted or carpeted in green w/red stripes.There are two side aisles. The plain ceiling is white. There are no human figures in the scene.
Orthopaedic Hospital, N.
W. Cor. 17th & Summer St., 1886 1887
Unique. This is a black and white watercolor. The hospital is a very handsome three story building on the corner. There are small coniferous trees in the small front yard which is enclosed by a low ornate wrought iron fence. The trolley to the right runs on Seventeenth and Nineteenth Streets. Its destination is Filbert Street. There are seven pedestrians, one of whom is a juvenile. There is a penciled note under the picture: "Rebuilt 1887."
Interior, St. Davids Church,
Radnor A.D. 1715 1890
The very plain interior, viewed from the center aisle, is relieved by the red carpeting w/small figure. Sconces are along the walls between the windows. The windows all have shades. The small pulpit has "IHS" on the front of it. The door to the right is open and gives a view to the outside.
House Where Jefferson Wrote
The Declaration of Independence, S. W. Cor 7th & Market St., 1776
The handsome red brick building is 3 1/2 storys tall. The backyard is protected by a high wooden fence. The tree behind the fence is in full leaf. There is an African-American news-boy (?) on the sidewalk and four pedestrians. Several hitching posts are curbside as is a carriage stone.
Town Hall and Market sheds
intersection of Second and Coats Sts., Northern Liberties, 1806, 1883
This is an open street scene with Patterson's Church facing on Second Street which is divided by a brick market shed. There is a weathervane atop the shed. In addition to the street light (gas) there are numerous hitching posts. A work wagon is leaving the scene to the right. There are three male pedestrians. The trunks of the sapling trees in leaf at curbside are protected by green boxes.
South Side Chestnut St. from
Carpenters Court to 4th St. 1809, 1883
Chestnut St., Philadelphia, Pa. There are several brown wooden buildings in this scene. One appears to be a residence. Neest is a stable (?), a large barn (?) and another residence (?). In the barnyard behind the wooden fence is a large mount of an unknown substance. In the street a stagecoach comes into view. There are 15 figures in the scene: a young boy, an African-American carrying a bundle under each arm, four women, and nine men. The scene is reminiscent of a western fort.
South Side Chestnut St. From
3rd to Husdons Alley 1809, 1883
Unique. This is a row of unidentified red brick buildings. The one at the corner and the next two appear to have show windows for businesses. Next are five identical 3 1/2 story townhouses. At the left margin is a covered wagon. To the right is a passenger carriage with folded hood. There are 12 pedestrians, male and female, and an African-American man wearing an apron pushing a wheelbarrow with a crate or wooden box on it. The buildings in the scene are identified by number under the bottom margin as: 96, 98, 100, 102, 104, 106, 108 and 110.
a. The Dwelling and Counting
House of Stephen Girard As It Appeared At the Time of his Death Dec.
b. Ground Plan 1888 Water St., Philadelphia, Pa.
This is a simple rendering of a 4 1/2 story townhouse, red brick, and the adjacent two storey business building. Almost all shutters above the first floor are closed. There is no activity in the screen, nor any human figures. It is a static scene.
The ground plan gives the dimensions of the front of the two buildings and the alley-way (8 feet). It identifies the three walls around the garden to the rear of the buildings, the beach and Girards Wharf on the Delaware River.
P.2298.148a & b
The Old Tabernacle or Assembly
Church Ranstead Court Philad. The First Sancituary [sic] of the Tabernacle
Presbyterian Church. Erected A. D. 1804-06 in this building occured the
Historic Division of the Presbyterian Church into The Old School, and New
School. A. D. 1837. Undated
Ranstead Court, Philadelphia, Pa. A single massive red brick building is the focus of this scene. No neighboring buildings or landscape are depicted. One of the front doors is open and there are seven human figures in the scene approaching the church. Two gravestones are upright at either side of the door. There are nine gravestones on the ground in a row on the front lawn. There is a gravel path leading to the church and around the church. Several small trees or shrubs are on the path and along the church wall. Under the title is also written: Afterwards site of Eastern Market. The Eastern Market demolished 1893 for the Bourse.
SEDGELEY. On the Schuylkill
River. Sear of Wm. Cramond. Afterwards of James C. Fisher. Latrobe was the
architect. The House was burned some years ago. The grounds now form the
northern part of Fairmount Park. Afterwards the property of F. J. Dreer
and by him deeded for park purposes. 1856. 1888
This scene features a 2 1/2 storey tan home with porticos on both sides of the house. Each corner features an open tower-like structure reaching to the second floor. The tan building which has a red roof is sited on landscaped grounds on a rise above the river which is to the left. A solitary male figure sits on a bench on the lawn. A gravel path surrounds the house. The trees are in full leaf and include a weeping willow.
Interior of Phila. Library,
Fifth and Library Streets 1878
There are three levels on view in this scene-the street level, a balcony to the right, and above that a balcony that goes around the entire room. Every level is completely surrounded by bookcases, full from floor to ceiling. The cases are protected by leaded glass doors. The floor is wooden. The check-out desk is to the right and has a green curtain installed to give privacy at counter level. A lamp stands on the counter. To the left is a free-standing display case. Several framed paintings and busts are in the library. Only three chairs are on view in the large room and no tables are visible for use of the library's patrons. Sixteen adult figures are in the scene. This is a very detailed picture of a popular Philadelphia institution.
Founded MDCCLXXXVI 1882
Fifth or Sixth St., Philadelphia, Pa. The two storey red brick building is viewed from the opposite side of the street. It has a grand white entrance with marble steps and wrought iron railings. The name "Philad. Dispensary Founded MDCCLXXXVI" is across the front above the second floor. To the right in the adjacent brick building is the office of C. Shapley, Attorney at Law. Next right are two red brick buildings, one of which has a display window. To the left of the dispensary is a very grand gray building with a portico above the street level. A horse trolley which has Kensington as its destination is passing. There are about 15 adult figures in view.
Episcopal Rooms, 708 Walnut
St., 1870 1882
This is a static view of six identical 3 1/2 story townhomes. The central home features the sign "Episcopal Rooms" across the front between the first and second floors. Broad marble stairs with wrought iron railings are shared by every other pair of homes. There are fan lights and side lights to each doorway. Most windows have green shutters; however, some are white. Trolley tracks are installed. There are seven adult figures in the scene.
The Old Academy, Erected
1749, West side of Fourth St. below Arch, "The College of Philada."
"The University" 1779, Undated
The Old Academy, enclosed by a high red brick wall, is a 2 1/2 story gray building with a small steeple sporting a weathervane. The wall also encloses a smaller gray building to the left. To the right is a 3 1/2 story red brick building (or three row buildings), not identified, facing on the alley adjacent to the wall. Three men in stockings, britches and tricorn hats (Colonial garb) pass by. There are also a woman and child. A black man to the left pushes a loaded wheelbarrow. A horse and carriage with folded hood pass by. The trees are in full leaf.
HORACE BINNEY, 241 245
South 4th St. Undated
This is a static scene of five handsome 3 1/2 story townhouses all but two of which are separated by good sized yards (gardens?). The yards are walled in and have their own entry doors. The house to the left is on the corner with Willings Alley. It has a side door with fan light and steps. The front doors all have fan lights and side lights. Trolley tracks are installed on Fourth Street.
Properties are identified as owned by:
Joseph R. Ingersoll, 231 South 4th St. (To the left across Willing's Alley and not visible); Com D. Conner U.S. N., 247 249 South 4th St.; John Sergeant, 251 253 So. 4th. St.
2nd below Chestnut St.
To the left is the 3 1/2 story tan City Tavern with its metal awning stretched out to the curb. Numerous soldiers in Colonial army uniform stand outside. To the right across the narrow alley amd stretching to the next alley is a high wooden fence enclosing a wooded plot. Next is a red brick three-storey townhome. The housewife is on the sidewalk talking to a man pushing a green wheelbarrow. Three hitching posts are on the other side of the street. A horse and wagon enter the scene from the alley as a woman with her shopping basket passes. Copied from copy in Bement Collection by J. M. K. 1896.
Compare with P. 8933.2
Bank of Pennsylvania, 2nd
below Chestnut Undated
The large white structure features broad steps across the front leading to a pillared porch. There is a cupola. The building sits on a plot of ground with very narrow streets (alley?) to each side. Across the alley to the left stands the City Tavern. To the right is a 3-storey town house with the housewife at her dutch door. There are several adult figures in the scene and a child. In addition, there is also a closed carriage with horse. Copied from copy in Bement Collection by J. M. K. 1896.
Compare with P.8933.1
St. James Church, Seventh
Above Market St., 1858 Undated
Seventh St., Commerce St., Philadelphia, Pa. The two-storey tan edifice faces Seventh St. on the corner of Commerce St. It is surrounded by a low wrought iron fence. Several leafless trees are curbside. To the right across Commerce Street is a red brick building which awning advertises "J. Human Boots Shoes." "Segars" and "Tobacco" are sold in the adjacent store. Entering the scene from the left is the Union trolley drawn by two horses. There is a street light at the corner. There are six adult figures present. Copied from copy in Bement Collection by J. M. K. 1896.
S. E. Corner Chestnut &
Seventh St., 1851 No. 2 Undated
This watercolor is in grey and white tones only. It features the five storey building housing P. T. Barnum's Museum and C. D. Walker Pianos. The United States flag flies from the building. Two posters advertise Barnum's "Living Skeleton," the fat lady and a seal. At sidewalk level, two sandwich boards also advertise the museum. There is an attractive 2 1/2 storey townhome to the left of the museum with a walled yard between them. There are about 20 adult figures on the sidewalk. Copied from copy in Bement Collection, by J. M. K. 1896
North Side Chestnut Between
Seventh & Eight Street, 1851 No. 2 Undated
This watercolor is in grey and white tones only. To the left is #231, D. A. Warden's shop selling pianos and melodeons. Next right is Mr. Moore's store selling "Fancy Staionary" [sic]. Next right is the Masonic Temple, Rebuilt 1855, which stands a bit behind the stores facing the sidewalk. The building has gothic windows and quatrefoil designs. Next right is A. Hildebrant's basket business. Next is the Washington House, a five-storey building. This is adjacent to a building bearing the names of A. F. Class and Tyndale & Mitchell, which businesses are not identified. The address is #219. Two street lamps stand curbside in front of the temple. There are ten pedestrians in the scene.
No. 15 South 4th St., 1831
This watercolor is in grey and white tones only. The view is exclusively that of the full front of the Indian Queen Hotel. "Horatio Ware" is displayed over the entrance. This is a 3 1/2 storey building with a sky light installed on the roof. Three men and a woman with two children, one of whom has a dog on a leash are on the sidewalk. There is also an African-American man with a wheel barrow. Inside the hotel a man can be seen reading a newspaper.