1. Old St. David's Church, Radnor
p. 233: "St. David's. --This most beautiful suburb, named from old St. David's Church, Radnor, is truly rustic, unmarred by the sights and noises that ever bring their troubles into city life."
2. Friends Meeting House, Merion
p. 90: "The ancient meeting-house is on the old Lancaster Road, now Montgomery Avenue, about a mile from City Avenue, and a half-mile from Narberth railway station. The little building is in the form of a cross, each wing having a high peaked gable. Each gable end contains an entrance door, covered with an antique shingled portico, without supports. A shingled pediment or strip of roofing runs across each gable, forming the base of a triangle. The windows are set high above the ground, and have picturesque diamond panes. Although built in 1695, the structure was remodeled in the present century, so that its age is greatly disguised. The interior is carpeted, and white paint is seen, but the wooden benches are uncolored. Two solid oak tables upon which marriage certificates were spread were formerly in the meeting-house, one was sent to the Centennial, and never returned. The peg is still pointed out upon which William Penn hung his hat when he preached to a Welsh congregation who could not understand him. A similar peg was stolen by relic hunters, its place filled later by one cut from the wood of old-time benches. Pieces of these same old benches were borrowed and sent to the World's Fair. The meeting-house stands in a beautiful grove of sycamores, maples, and cedars. The well-kept graveyard is enclosed by a picturesque stone wall, surmounted by a tall iron fence. Upon the low tombstones may be read the names of Philadelphia's oldest and best-known families."
3. Pencoyd Farm, Residence of George B. Roberts.
p. 17: "The ancient farm house of his ancestors was lovingly preserved by Mr. Roberts. It was his birthplace and his home, where his library and his fields gave him relief from weighty cares of business."
4. Church of St. Asaph, Bala
p. 18: "The parish house was opened October 6th, 1891. The chancel window was blessed in 1893, and the south transept window, a memorial of John Roberts, first proprietor of the land on which the church stands, and who died in 1724, was blessed in 1895."
5. Leighton Place, Residence of David Scull
p. 21: "The rural home of David Scull, called Leighton Place, from the Sculls in Leighton Court, Herefordshire, England, is particularly beautiful by reason of the contour of the land, while old chestnuts and oaks adorn the ample lawn, some chestnut trees being the third generation, they having grown from the stumps of former ones. Artists and architects have admired the monarchs, which standing by themselves, without being crowded, have developed most symmetrical shapes, while a fine collection of imported rhododendrons complete the picture. The chestnut trees in their second growth from one stump formed clumps of from two to seven. In a clump of six there is a crow's nest, with steps leading to it, and I noticed with pleasure, in the clump of seven that a floor was laid, with a thatched roof over it, making a rustic summer house. The granite of the neighborhood provided the stone which formed the dwelling, which is located on an eminence commanding a delightful view. On the side facing Overbrook Farms there are tastefully laid out gardens and extensive buildings, including houses for the coachman and gardener, a commodious coach-house and stable, and greenhouses; and various other buildings suited to a country place covering nineteen acres, which was the first purchase in the division of the old George estate. The house was erected in A.D. 1871, from plans by Addison Hutton."
6. Gray Arches, Residence of Major Luther S. Bent
p. 25: "Gray Arches. --The residence of Major Luther S. Bent, on the Drexel Road, bears this appropriate name by reason of its many arches. This was the first house built by Wendell & Smith at Overbrook on the north side of the railway track. This is the oldest house on the tract, except the old George House, which is a century or two ahead of it. The architects were Boyd & Boyd. The house was erected four years ago, and purchased by Mr. Bent in April, A.D. 1895. The material is stone in the first story and brick above. The stable is a very fine building, corresponding to the design of the house."
7. Redruth Manse, Residence of U.S. Grant Megargee.
p. 26: "U.S. Grant Megargee's place is called Redruth Manse. The name is borrowed from an English mansion. The house lies on the Drexel Road. It is built of stone, with a red slate roof. The light stone contrasts prettily with the roof."
8. Residence of Frederick McOwen
p. 26: "Frederick McOwen's place lies in Overbrook Farms. The house is on Drexel Road, at the corner of Fifty-ninth Street. Wendell & Smith were the contractors, but the building was erected by Mr. McOwen from the plans of Thomas P. Lonsdale, the architect for the Philadelphia building at the World's Fair at Chicago. It is of stone, in Colonial style, with a Grecian extension porch and a front porch and dormer-windows. The view commands the Delaware River and New Jersey, as the point is a high location."
9. Residence of W.S. Taylor
p. 26: "W.S. Taylor's residence is one of the beautiful new houses built by Wendell & Smith of neighborhood stone, with a slate roof."
10. Church of Our Lady of Lourdes
p. 29: "Church of Our Lady of Lourdes. By Rev. James A. Mullin.-Prior to the year 1894 the Catholics of Overbrook and vicinity attended mass for the most part at St. Charles Seminary. In that year the Overbrook Farms Company, with commendable foresight, seeing that a Catholic Church would hasten the growth of the settlement, offered the Archbishop a site on which to build a church. The lot is a triangular piece of ground, containing about two-thirds of an acre, situated at the intersection of Sixty-third Street, Woodbine Avenue, and Lancaster Avenue. As they made this gift from a business and not a charitable motive, they imposed certain conditions with, viz., that the church should be built of stone; that it should cost at least $25,000, and be completed exteriorly in one year. His Grace, Archbishop Ryan, accepted the gift with the conditions attached, and on the 20th of April, 1894, appointed Rev. James A. Mullin to build the new church, and to take charge of the congregation. The territory assigned him extends from Fifty-sixth Street, on the east, to Wynnewood, inclusive, on the west, and from State Road on the north, to Jefferson Street, on the south. A large territory, but a small parish, as it contained in the beginning only 300 souls. Father Mullin immediately entered upon the work of raising funds for the building of the new church. The generous offer of Rev. Daniel O'Connor, of St. Agatha's Church, to hold a fair in his parish was gladly accepted, and by this means $7,000 was collected for the new parish. This sum, together with collections taken up in other parishes, enabled Father Mullin to begin the work. On the 20th of October, 1894, ground was broken for the new church; on the first Sunday of May, 1895, the corner-stone was laid by Archbishop Ryan, assisted by numerous priests and students of St. Charles Seminary, preaching the sermon. Towards the end of August, 1895, the exterior of the building and interior of the basement were completed at a cost of $32,000, and on the 8th of September, 1895, the feast of the Nativity of the B. V. Mary, the basement of the church was blessed by Archbishop Ryan, assisted by Very Rev. Edward F. Prendergast, V.G., and a number of priests and students of St. Charles Seminary. In March, 1896, a few months after completing the work of the church, Father Mullin began the building of a pastoral residence, which was completed on the 1st of October, 1896, at a cost $10,200. Both church and house are built of Port Deposit granite, with trimmings of Indiana limestone. The church is English Gothic, and is pronounced one of the most beautiful examples of church architecture in Philadelphia. It is 108 feet long, 50 feet wide, and 80 feet at the transept. It will seat 650 people. The architect was Mr. Thomas B. Lonsdale and the builder Mr. Thomas Reilly."
11. Overbrook Stores --G.W. Lafferty & Son.
No description available.
12. Elm Hall, Residence of Colonel Wendell P. Bowman
p. 46: "Elm Hall (Montgomery and Bowman Avenues).-The elm trees standing for centuries in aboriginal grandeur give name to this country-seat."
3. Theological Seminary of St. Charles Borromeo
p. 53: "In 1865 Bishop Wood announced the purchase of the beautiful Overbrook property of 137 acres from the Remington estate. The grand building, on its commanding site, was designed by the architects, Samuel T. Sloan and Addison Hutton. The building contains a beautiful chapel, with elaborate decorations. The Library Room is large, and contains a valuable collection, and I was pleased to see the abundance of light from several windows. This institution has cost nearly a million dollars. Students first occupied it in 1871, and the Preparatory Seminary was included in this institution."
14. The Grange, Residence of the Ashhurst Family
p. 57: "The Grange.- We synopsize Dr. Smith's history of Delaware County, which gives a picture of the quaint and dignified house of this title where the staid Quaker from Wales, Henry Lewis, broke the wilderness for a home in 1682. His son Henry followed him. The estate covered nearly 400 acres in the last century. Captain John Wilcox built the grand and elegant mansion, calling it Clifton Hall. He surrounded the estate with a ditch. Charles Cruickshank, a wealthy Scotch gentleman, a British Captain who had served in the Netherlands, bought the place, and styled it the Grange, or Grange Farm. The house was enlarged, and terraced walks and a greenhouse brought out the natural beauties of the estate. The land attached to the Grange was partly in three counties --Chester (now Delaware), Philadelphia, and Montgomery, which Captain Cruickshank increased by purchase. A Scotch merchant, John Ross, of Philadelphia, married Clementina, the daughter of Captain Cruickshank, who, at the close of the Revolutionary War, sold the Grange to his son-in-law, Ross, and returned with his family to his native country. Mr. Ross added to the buildings, and also increased the quantity of land to an aggregate of 600 acres."
15. Barwold, Residence of Mr. Matthew Baird
p. 58: "This beautiful place is named from a word meaning Baird's Woods. The mansion is the home of Mrs. Matthew Baird and her family. It was finished in A.D. 1885. The material is brown stone, and a port-cochere and four piazzas vary the exterior. Benjamin Linfoot was the architect, and Myers & Sons the builders. A most striking feature of the interior is the magnificently large hall, which has counterparts in the second and third stories. A cupola surmounts the building . The drawing-room, and picture gallery, and music, and reception, and dining-rooms are on the first floor. There is a billiard-room in the basement. The oak woodwork of the wainscots and ceilings is remarkably fine, while the stained glass windows and stone work of an arch leading from the reception-room to the hall, and fireplaces in each room are pleasant features of the building. A projection affords means of throwing desired light into three stories, including the library and the chambers. Each chamber has dressing-room connected with it. The floors are of hard wood, with inlaid borders. The pictures gallery contains a number of Moran's pictures, and landscapes, with sunny summer brightness, and a painting of Mrs. Baird, by Matthew Wilson, diversify the walls. A miniature steam engine of gold and silver, presented to Mr. Baird when he left the Baldwin Locomotive Works, is in a balcony here. A large silver cup and other gifts were received as testimonials from the men in the Works. A fine conservatory joins the picture gallery, and a wide lawn adorned with flowers is seen from its windows showing the summer home of flowers nursed her in the winters cold."
16. Zorayda, Residence of Samuel Croft
p. 61: "Zorayda.-A vine-clad stone wall on Union Avenue contains an open gateway, admitting to a beautifully wooded lawn before the stone mansion plies the place with water. It is thrown to the tank at the top of the house by a hot-air pump. Fine cattle grazing in an enclosure give the charm of animal life to the landscape. About six acres of land were purchased by Mr. Croft of his neighbor, John Marston, about thirteen years ago. The house was built in A.D. 1883. H. K. Yarnall, of Philadelphia, was the architect, and Yarnall & Cooper were the builders. The quarry of Jacob Stadelman, on City Avenue, furnished material for the walls. A square tower rises from the base, capped by a pyramidal roof. The gables and piazza are so arranged as to make a picturesque appearance, while the useful chimney asserts its rights above a dormer-window. Creeping vines clasp the gray wall."
17. Holmhurst, Residence of Charles Hartshorne.
p. 62: "Holmhurst. --A home by the wood is a suitable Saxon name for the country-seat of Charles Hartshorne, in Lower Merion, on Hazlehurst Avenue, near Wynnewood Avenue and Merion Station. The ample and beautiful dwelling of stone and slate was designed by Addison Hutton, and constructed of Trenton brownstone. It was finished in A.D. 1886 and occupied at once by Mr. Hartshorne. About twenty acres of ground are in the property. About six acres are wooded, and one entrance is a rustic drive through the grove. On a part which originally belonged to the tract Edward Y. Hartshorne, son of Charles Hartshorne, is just completing a house of stone and frame, of antique design, with a hipped roof."
18. The Church of the Evangel
"The Baptist Church of the Evangel is located on the high ground just south of the railroad, at the corner of Narberth and Elmwood Avenues. It is a fine edifice of gray stone, well appointed for aggressive work. Services were begun in A.D. 1890, resulting in the organization of a mission in the following year."
19. Railway Station at Narberth
No description available.
20. The Presbyterian Church at Narberth
p. 74: "The Presbyterian Church. --This church also was burned, and an appeal after the burning states that union services were at first held in Narberth by Methodists, Baptists, and Presbyterians, and when Presbyterians stood alone there was a struggle for life and development. We quote from the appeal: The purchase of a lot and building and furnishing of a suitable chapel was a heavy strain upon the energy as well as the purses of the little band, but the work progressed satisfactorily, and in December of the same year (1891), the unpretending but neat frame chapel was duly dedicated... We quote further from the Narberth Citizen : The new church will occupy the same site as the building which was burned, and is in the center of the town, only a short distance from the station, and when completed it will be a handsome addition to the architecture of Narberth. The general style of the building will be Italian Gothic, and Avondale granite will be used in the construction. The Sabbath-school department will adjoin the main auditorium, with the class-rooms so arranged that they can all be thrown open and made a part of the church proper. Under the class-rooms there will be fitted out a kitchen and dining-room. The building as a whole will be complete and up-to-date, costing in the neighborhood of $15,000. It is a very artistic and well proportioned building, and will add greatly to our many new and attractive homes and buildings. This structure is a combination of Romanesque and Queen Anne style, with a dash of Italian Gothic here and there, to carry out the general effectiveness. The exterior main portion will be of home stone laid in broken range, rock-faced work, and with deep joints. Above and working in with the stone is the cedar shingle work, with its sweeps, curves, and swells, something entirely new in this part of the country. We must congratulate Mr. J. Cather Newsom, the well-known Philadelphia architect, on the originality of this design. The main roof and tower roof will have metallic shingles, with galvanized iron ridges and finish. The tower will be ninety feet in height, and is well proportioned. There will be three entrances, two in tower, and a combined entrance for both Sunday-school and auditorium. The open truss work, and with chestnut wood finish between the trusses, together with the richly designed art glass windows, will present a very fine effect. There is room for a future gallery."
21. Residence of Edward Forsythe, Narberth, Montgomery Co., PA.
p. 73: "On the brow of the hill due north of Narberth Station, facing the valley which extends far to the southwest, commanding a fine view of the same, is the home of Mr. Edward Forsythe, shown in a plate. Its southern exposure secures not only a delightful view but enjoys the winter sun, as well as the prevailing southwestern breezes of the summer. It is situated at the corner of Price and Narberth Avenues. The ground, comprising three acres, was purchased of the Price estate, this estate having acquired title direct from William Penn. The house was built by the owner in 1890, the first story being constructed of gray stone quarried in the neighborhood; the second story is of frame. The architect who planned the same was Mr. Charles W. Bolton, of Philadelphia."
22. Residence of A.H. Mueller
p. 81: "A. H. Mueller's pretty residence of stone and shingle on the corner of Forest and Windsor Avenues, with its picturesque dormer-windows and gables and piazza, is surrounded by a green hedge. Bethel Davis & Bethel built the dwelling, and Mr. Mueller purchased it in A.D. 1891. He has been the Chief Burgess of Narberth. He is a native of Philadelphia, and was educated in its public schools, and is a lithographer and publisher in that city. He has always shown a deep interest in the development of Narberth."
23. T. Broom Belfield's Residence.
p. 81: "T. Broom Belfield bought six acres of land for his beautiful country-seat from Edward Price in 1884, which had been in his family from the time of Wm. Penn, from who the title was made. Mr. Price died about six years ago, aged seventy-two. He was born and died on the farm. The old Columbia Railroad passed through the farm, and crossed one corner of the property, the original granite blocks upon which the rails were laid being in the ground, and of which Mr. Belfield built four gate-posts, which he calls four monuments of the first railroad to the West in this State. The roadway had been abandoned over thirty years before he bought his lot. The architect of the house, which is of wood and stone, with modern improvements, was Mr. James H. Windrim. Mr. Ensinger (now deceased) was the builder. The dwelling is on a high elevation. There is an artesian well and a rain-water cistern, and gas and electricity light the mansion. There is a stone and farm stable. There are two acres in lawn, enclosed by an iron fence."
24. Pennhurst, Residence of Mr. and Mrs. Harry S. Hopper
p. 97: "Pennhurst is now entered, the abode of Mr. and Mrs. Harry S. hopper, of Philadelphia. The gate-house runs back to Peter Penn-Gaskill's day. It is of stone, rough-cast, and is said to have been used in conducting the Church of England service. The rolling lawn here is extensive, and allowed to retain its natural beauty. A chestnut tree, over a hundred years old, covered with English ivy, stands at the entrance of a grove. This chestnut grove is one of the picturesque points of the place. The mansion is built of brick, in Elizabethan style, with square-topped windows, and pointed gables, and a double bay-window. The ivy upon it is a cheerful adornment. 'The white house' is an interesting relic, being the servants' quarters in Penn-Gaskill times, and in the style of the main house. The brick stable is tasteful, and the ancient hedge dividing the garden into squares is supposed to be about a hundred years old. The large barn, chicken-house, and incubators are tokens of a well-conducted farm. Hugh Burgess, inventor and manufacturer of wood-pulp paper, preceded the Hopper family as the owner of Pennhurst. He was an Englishman. He demolished the Penn-Gaskill house, and built the present residence."
25. Dr. Henry C. Register's Residence
p. 117: "We see the red-roofed house of Dr. Register after crossing a bridge at the head-waters of Mill Creek, and the remains of an old saw-mill. Dr. Register's house has a high position, and pleasant outlook, and the place opens on the Gulf Road. Clovelly is the name of the Doctor's country-seat, and a pretty wall bounds the entrance." ... "Dr. Henry C. Register's stone mansion at Mill Creek, Lower Merion, was constructed by Furness, Evans & Co. on a hillside, at a point where the rural view extends along Mill Creek Valley. Local stone furnished the material for the building, which is two stories high, with a red slate roof. It is of a composite style of architecture."
26. Lynhurst, Residence of I. Layton Register
p. 118: "Lynhurst is the name of I. Layton Register's place, near Haverford and Ardmore. 'Lyn' designates the stream ad water-fall, and 'hurst' the extensive woods which adorn the forty acres surrounding this charming country-seat. The stream is utilized by an overshot wheel at the fall, as power to force water from a spring to the house as well as the stable... Mr. Register has resided here in the summer for ten years. The house of bluish gray stone, with slate roof, was constructed after he purchased the farm from designs of Furness, Evans & Co., from stone on the place."
27. Redleaf, Residence of William P. Henszey
p. 106: "Redleaf.-On Lancaster Avenue, near Wynnewood Station, Pennsylvania Railroad, is 'Redleaf,' the residence of Mr. William P. Henszey. The property contains about forty-eight acres, and the great part was purchased from the estate of Thomas P. Remington, who, about forty-five years ago, had a very large tract, which he laid out as a park, with drives and walks, planting it with a great variety of trees, many of them rare and valuable, which, added to the native forest trees, made it a most beautiful spot. Through the back part of the property runs a small stream, known as Indian Creek, which furnishes power through a water-wheel to the pump from an excellent spring a bountiful supply of water. The supply is sufficient for household uses, as well as for stable and greenhouses. The house stands about two hundred feet from Lancaster Avenue, which it faces, and is built of a dark gray stone from the neighborhood, with some brick and frame, making altogether an agreeable combination. It was erected in 1881 from plans by Mssrs. Furness & Evans, the well-known architects. The most prominent features of the front are a stone piazza and port-cochere, a brick and frame tower, and a large semicircular window, rising the full height of the building. The main hall, extending through the back porch, is finished in cherry, and has a paneled ceiling. On the right of this hall are the reception and drawing-rooms. The reception room is finished in mahogany, with frescoed walls and ceiling. On the right of this hall are the reception and drawing-rooms. The reception-room is finished in mahogany, with frescoed walls and ceiling. The drawing-room in white and gold, and is a typical example of Louis XVI style. Opposite the drawing-room is the music-room, with wainscoting and ceiling of oak. From the music-room you enter the dining-room, which has many novel features, and is quite beautiful. The wainscoting and beams of the ceiling are of quartered oak. In the ceiling is a skylight with cathedral glass, at the end of the room a fine, large fireplace and mantle of Caen stone, handsomely carved, with a semicicular [sic] stained-glass window opening through the chimney breast. The stairway is a pleasing feature in the hall and has a large stained-glass window on the landing. In the hall opposite the stairs is a large stone fireplace, with mantel and looking-glass above. Through an arched passage you enter the library, a very attractive room. The book-cases, wainscoting and beams of ceiling are of mahogany, and the large fireplace and chimney of red sandstone make quite a striking feature. Beyond the library and extending across the east end of the house is the art-room. In this room may be found excellent examples of most of the prominent painters, as well as handsome bronzes and statuary. The second floor contains the sleeping-rooms, with dressing and bath-rooms, also linen-room and fine large sitting-room. The third floor has store-rooms and servants' quarters. Distributed through the house may be found a large collection of interesting and valuable bric-a-brac, much of which has been purchased by Mr. Henszey in his travels abroad, and altogether the house has a very homelike and attractive appearance. In addition to the house there are on the grounds stable, greenhouses, and houses for coachman and gardener."
28. "St. Georges," Residence of Dr. Joseph Wilson Anderson
p. 114: "St. Georges.-Dr. Joseph Wilson Anderson's old place, with its quiet and rustic look is a pleasant contrast to the modern life in the suburb of Ardmore. Koletaria, Irish yew trees, magnolias, a pecan-nut tree, a very large persimmon tree, with English canoe-birch trees brighten the lawn... St. Georges entrance gate, with its solid stone pillars, meets the pedestrian just after leaving the station. A sloping walk, bordered by an orchard, runs to the mansion. "
29. Thorncroft, Residence of Allen Bearley Rorke.
p. 121: "Thorncroft.-The above name is a family one among the English ancestors of Mrs. Elizabeth Thorncroft Rorke, wife of Allen Bearley Rorke, the proprietor of the mansion. George Hewitt was the architect of the gray stone edifice of ample dimensions, surrounded by a piazza, and surmounted by light-colored dormer-windows and striking chimneys, which stands on Montgomery Avenue. It was built for Mr. Blumner, who sold to James McAllister, who lived here several years, and in turn sold the property to Mr. Rorke about ten years since. He added various embellishments and improvements to the house, with a porte-cochere, and improved the ground and roads, and erected an artistic stable with a red tile roof. A pleasant lawn, with a natural terrace, surrounds the mansion. Heavy stone gate-posts bear a monogram of the owner's name."
30. The Merion Title and Trust Company.
p. 122: "The Merion Title & Trust Company of Ardmore... The new building is three stories high, and is about 60 x 100 feet in area, built of Pompeian brick, with stone trimmings, ornate in appearance and substantial in every particular. The architect, Mr. D. Judge DeNean, occupies commodious offices in the building, as does also Mr. Joseph Dyson, the contractor for the erection of the largest and latest constructed wing.
31. Residence of Josiah S. Pearce.
No description available.
32. Ty'n-Y-Coed, Residence of Effingham B. Morris
p. 122: "Ty'n-Y-Coed. --This Welsh name means a house in the woods, and was given to his place by Effingham B. Morris as suitable for an estate lying in the old Welsh Tract in Lower Merion Township, about a mile north of Ardmore, on the hills overlooking Mill Creek. Mr. Morris purchased eighteen acres from the estate of Joseph K. Eyre, in A.D. 1886. The stone house was erected that year from designs of Addison Hutton. Mill Creek runs through the lower part of the place, and about twelve acres are left in native woodland. The mansion stands on a high position, being about a hundred feet above the road."
33. The Matthew Simpson Memorial Church
p. 133: "The Rev. A. E. Piper, pastor of The Matthew Simpson Memorial M.E. Church, named in honor of Bishop Simpson, at Ardmore, reports that it had its first meeting in Dirigo Hall, Lancaster Pike, September 5th, A.D. 1893. It is an outgrowth largely of St. Luke's M.E. Church, of Bryn Mawr. It now has a Sunday-school of seventy-five, and a church membership of seventy. The beautiful new church, the gift of Mrs. Allen B. Rorke, of Ardmore, was dedicated in May of this year 1896."
34. "Brightstone," Residence of Hon. W. Henry Sutton, Haverford, PA.
p. 126: "The five acres which comprise the country-seat were purchased of Dr. James Anderson. The place is on Lancaster Avenue, in front of the campus of Haverford College. The house was built in A.D. 1877 and 1878, the architect being Mr. J.C. Sidney, and the builder, Mr. Davis, of Conshohocken. The material of the dwelling is gray stone. The place is called Brightstone, by reason of the mica sparkling in the stone."
35. Haverford College (Old Building)
p. 129: "In 1863 the Alumni Hall and Library were built. In 1876-77 Barclay Hall, containing private dormitories and study-rooms, was erected, at a cost of $82,00, which was collected by subscription. The Chemical Laboratories were improved in 1878. The new Observatory was built in 1883, the Mechanical Laboratory established in 1884, and a new building erected in 1890; the Biological Laboratory was established in 1886, and the Physical Laboratory in 1888. Chase Hall, for lecture and recitation rooms, was built in 1888, and the Cricket Shed in 1893...The college has a remarkably pleasant and healthful location in the township of Haverford, Delaware County, PA. The buildings are surrounded by grounds of about sixty acres, tastefully laid out, adorned with well-kept lawns, and a great variety of trees and shrubbery."
36. Haverford College (New Building)
See above description
37. Dolobran, Residence of Clement A. Griscom.
p. 142: " 'Dolobran.' --The country-seat of Clement A. Griscom, Esq., is a about half a mile northeast from Haverford Station, Pennsylvania Railroad, and comprises somewhat more than eighty acres, of a rolling, uneven nature, the larger portion of the land sloping generally toward the northward, and eastward to a stream of water which flows through the tract in an easterly direction. The tract is nearly rectangular in shape. The southwestern portion is gently rolling, and has been appropriated for a lawn, through which the carriage road winds to the residence past beds of beautiful variegated plants and flowers, clumps of evergreens, etc. Close by the residence is the upper end of a heavily wooded ravine, extending to the stream of water; a woodland walk has been made in this ravine, which is so closed in by trees and shrubbery that one could easily imagine himself following a path in the forest; here and there along this walk are rustic benches and 'crow-nests' for those who would rest a while. At the bottom of this walk we come out to the stream near a large lake, where there are facilities for boating and bathing. Near the head of the ravine just described, and near the mansion house is a flower garden devoted exclusively to Japanese plants. The northerly portion of the estate is naturally much rougher, and splendidly adapted by nature to the purpose to which Mr. Griscom has devoted about thirty acres of this section, namely, as an 'American Wild Garden.' Besides being originally heavily wooded, innumerable native American trees, plants, and flowers were brought from all sections of the country. Two or three old stone quarries in this tract have been utilized to make forest pools, in which are many varieties of beautiful water lilies and other water-growing flowers and plants; while rhododendrons and ferns abound along the shores of the pools and on the outcropping ledges of the cliffs. Throughout this tract woodland paths wind in every direction, along which the pedestrian can catch a glimpse of shaded pools, wooded glens, and nooks, mossy banks of rivulets, and such pretty bits of nature, and the paths are of a length that traversing all of them without going along the same on twice makes one feel that he had had plenty of exercise for the time. From the porch of the house one might imagine that the residence was the only building on the property, so thoroughly do the near-by tree growths hid the usual buildings of a country place, but it is only a walk of a minute or two through the trees to a finely-appointed stable, in which is kept a number of blooded horses for riding and driving, and not far off is a large greenhouse for the growth of many kinds of flowers, and hotbeds for early vegetable delicacies for the table. On the eastern edge of the estate is an attractive cottage occupied by Mr. and Mrs. Bettle, Mrs. Bettle being Mrs. Griscom's daughter; and at the foot of the lawn sloping to the eastward from the mansion house is another cottage in which reside Mr. Griscom's son, Rodman E. Griscom, and his wife."
38. Merion Cricket Club Houses.
p. 120: "The Merion Cricket Club. --Business and professional men need exercise. Archbishop Whately and Glastone found it in felling trees; but most persons desire amusement and the excitement of competition." ... " J. Aubrey Jones liberally offered the use of ground on the estate of his father, Colonel Owen Jones, at Wynnewood. In May 1866, the Club conquered in 'its first match with the Haverford College team.' This stimulated the game, and membership increased. There was no club-house; and a wooden box, 6 feet by 2, contained the needful implements. The box was kept in the entry of the Wynnewood public school-house, and the school-house pump was the wash-room. In 1873 five acres were rented at Ardmore, having been purchased for such use by Rowland Evans and W.W. Montgomery. The next year the Club purchased the property. In 1880 two and a half adjacent acres were bought, and a larger club-house built. In 1881 'the junior and ladies' houses were built.' The Ardmore grounds served the Club until 1892, when it was deemed needful 'to procure grounds and club-houses on a scale equal to any in this country, and an organization to purchase a cricket ground and lease it to the Club for 999 years was formed, as the 'Haverford Land and Improvement Company.' In 1892 twelve and a half acres were bought at Haverford Station, which contain the present club-houses. On January 4, 1896, the main club-house was burned and a new one was erected in its place, which was, in turn, almost entirely destroyed by fire on September 24th, 1896. Phoenix-like, a new club-house has since arisen, replete in every particular."
39. Gateway of Merion Cricket Club Grounds.
No description available.
40. Avonwood Court, Residence of Charles E. Mather.
p. 158: "Avonwood Court. --The fine residence of Charles E. Mather, nearly opposite the Church of the Redeemer, bears this name. The land here was bought by Mr. Mather in 1878, and he built his house from plans of T. Roney Williamson in 1882, just 200 years exactly after his family settled in this county (Montgomery)."
41. Bryn Mawr Presbyterian Church.
p. 161: "A new church was commenced in 1884, and completed and consecrated free of debt in 1886. It is made of Trenton brownstone, with a square tower at the southwest corner, in which is the main door of entrance. In 1893 the work of building a large addition to the church was undertaken, and the following year was finished. This Sunday-school annex is on the north side of the church. It contains a beautiful, well-lighted and well-ventilated room, 60 by 40 feet in size, having separated rooms for adult and primary classes connected with it by folding and sliding doors. A neat parsonage, built partly of stone and partly of wood, stands on the same lot with the other buildings."
42. Bryn Mawr College, Denbigh Hall
p. 165: "Bryn Mawr College (M. Carey Thomas, President). --Bryn Mawr College was endowed in 1880 by Dr. Joseph W. Taylor, and was opened in 1885 with an endowment of a million and a half, part for building and grounds. The grounds comprise fifty-two acres. The College buildings are built of stone."
43. Harriton, The Residence of Charles Thomson.
p. 149: "The life estate which Charles Thomson had in this plot, containing one acre, had been previously released. The lot has since been increased in size by purchase."
44. Wyndham, Residence of Theodore N. Ely
p. 165: "Wyndham. --This place, opposite Bryn Mawr College, was John M. Kennedy's residence, and was purchased from the estate by Theodore N. Ely. The old stone mansion standing back from the street, with its green blinds and domer-windows, has an ample and cozy look. A lawn, falling in a natural terrace on one side, and containing a monarch of the forest standing in the quiet dignity of age, and an old orchard, facing the other side of the mansion, bring rustic thoughts in the midst of this city suburb. The vines which abound on the stone wall, appear refreshing a summer day, and break the chill of winter. The water from a shower also shines on a bush, showing whence verdure comes by God's constant care. The flowers, being trumpet creepers and rhododendrons, are remarkably beautiful, while the clematis is just bursting into bloom. The building is a specimen of a comfortable house of an earlier day, and the carving on the fireplace shows a fashion now being revived of ornamental woodwork. The Ely house has the mark P. M. 1796 on the gable, meaning Patience Morgan, the widow who erected the house. She is style in deed, 'the thrifty Quakeress.' The stable is marked T. and P.M., being the initials of Thomas and Patience Morgan. So the stable was built before the house."
45. Church of the Redeemer.
p. 153: "November 8th, A.D. 1879, Bishop Clarkson, of Nebraska, laid the corner-stone of the new church on Penn Street and the Gulf Road. The first service here was held on Easter Day, April 17th, 1881. Charles M. Burns, Jr., was the architect."
46. Residence of Mrs. Chas. Wheeler, Bryn Mawr, PA.
No description available.
47. Upland, Residence of Samuel Anderson Black.
p. 169: "Upland. --Samuel Anderson Black was among the first who erected modern residences in Bryn Mawr, and the above name of his place well designates its high position. The pleasant house of stone was designed by Mr. Black himself, and with its surrounding law and trees it claims still the dignity of an early settler."
48. Fox Hill, Residence of Rudulph Ellis.
p. 169: "Fox Hill (Bryn Mawr Avenue). --This name of the country-seat of Rudulph Ellis originated in the abundance of foxes in the neighborhood in old time. It was the appellation of the country people. The Radnor Hunt Grounds are near at hand. The beautiful stone mansion was built in A.D. 1881, Theophilus P. Chandler being the architect. The piazzas and porte-cochere, and terrace, with the ornamental stone wall with a serrated top at the base, and the red-tiled roof form a fine picture, which can only be fully appreciate by riding up the winding macadamized drive, which has a pretty cottage at the entrance. The vines which cover the stone work of the mansion, especially on the high chimneys, are a striking feature. The out-buildings are in good taste. The 'Cabin,' as it is styled, was added as a billiard and recreation-room, and has a cheerful appearance with its rustic interior finished in cherry wood. The woodwork, which is shown in the wainscot and rafters and stairway of the hall, and other rooms, has a pleasing effect. The curve of the drive to this elevated site constantly displays new and delightful views, and the summit commands on the widest and finest landscapes in the region, showing varied hill and dale and wood. The land on which the mansion is situated was formerly the property of Enoch Davis. The trees which cover the lawn stand in natural beauty, and with no so-called attempted improvement by art. The hedges on both sides of the road are a verdant introduction, while a ha-ha wall, topped with honeysuckles, runs down to Ithan Avenue. This country-seat is a section of Rowland Ellis's part of the Welsh tract. A long hill on the Davis farm stands out in bold outline in the setting sun, while the tinkling sheep-bell is a pleasant token of rural life. The bells were brought by Mr. Ellis from Switzerland, and form a chime."
49. Stables, Coachman's and Gardener's Houses on Linden Shade Farm.
p. 173: "Linden Shade Farm.-This farm of Rodman B. Ellison is on the Roberts Road, in Radnor Township, a mile and three-quarters from Bryn Mawr, surrounded by the farms of Rudulph Ellis, F.J. Kimball, Dr. Shakespeare, B.F. Clyde, John Rulon-Miller, and W.F. Fotterall. It was purchased of the John Mather estate, about A.D. 1886. John Mather was an excellent man, who lived to a good old age, and whose venerable form was a familiar sight when the writer of these lines used to visit old St. David's Church, Radnor, where the aged farmer loved to worship. The Mather family had held this place from Penn's day. The old stone farm-house was enlarged and modernized by the present owner, who uses it as a country-seat. Two 'cabins' containing a library and billiard and sleeping-rooms have been added. Greenhouses brighten the place. The stables are built on an English plan. A driveway introduces to the stables, which have the coachman's and gardener's houses before them ... The name Lindenshade is said to have been given the place by William Penn himself, owing to the great number of linden trees growing on it. The original deeds are signed by him."
50. "The Cabin" on Linden Shade Farm.
See above description.
51. Linden Shade Farm, Residence of Rodman B. Ellison.
See description no. 49.
p. 173: "The Clyde Estates, Radnor Township. --In the fall of 1892 Mr. B. F. Clyde, purchased the farm of Perry Litzenberg, Radnor Township, Delaware County, containing 125 acres. As we look to-day upon the interior of this modern and beautiful summer home it is hard to realize that the old stone mansion is of historic interest. It dates back to 1770, six years before the Liberty Bell rung out the notes of freedom, and here about December 15th, in the old homestead, Washington made his headquarters while on his way to Valley Forge in the memorable winter of 1777. Large stabling has been added for the accommodation of house, 'Goughacres' Stables being widely known for the breeding of thoroughbreds ... In March, 1893, Mr. Wm. P. Clyde bought the adjoining farm of 115 acres --the old stone house had long been occupied by the family of Daniel A. Abraham, and this farm in connection with the property of Mr. B. F. Clyde is used for thoroughbred stock."
53. The Radnor Hunt.
p. 177: "The Radnor Hunt (Communicated). --The Radnor Hunt was chartered in August, 1866, when the present club property on Darby Creek was acquired."
54. Brynhild, Residence of Charles W. Cushman.
p. 182: "Brynhild. --This Welsh name, meaning a high hill, well describes the country home of Charles W. Cushman. The ground was a part of Rev. Dr. Lyons's tract called Woodfield. The well-known philanthropist and zealous churchman, William Welsh, erected the stone mansion, Furness, Evans & Co. being architects, and Stacy Reeves builder."
55. Residence of Isaac Norris.
p. 174: "A splendid new house, just being constructed among the hills, is on the beautiful place of Isaac Norris, near the Hunt Station on the Philadelphia & Delaware County Railroad, which was purchased by him from Lewis Garrett in A.D. 1891, and comprises about one hundred acres of land, located in Radnor Township, Delaware County. The property fronts on Bryn Mawr Avenue, and the Goshen Road runs through it, as well as Darby Creek."
56. The Ashbridge Family Residence.
p. 177: "Rosemont. --The Ashbridge Farm on the corner of Montgomery Avenue and Roberts Road is one of the old tracts of land which has undergone slight change of ownership since Penn's day. A long lane from Roberts Road introduces the pedestrian to an ancient stone dwelling, erected A.D. 1769; there is also another entrance from Montgomery Avenue. The keystones over the windows are an old feature, quaint and noteworthy, while an ivy on the gable gives a pretty contrast to the many-colored field stones of which the house is built, the outer walls being a foot and a half thick. A wide porch leads into a comfortable abode. The white woodwork of the hall, with the walnut colored balu ster rail of the staircase is a pleasant reminder of old times. On the west end is a roomy parlor, the combination of two rooms, from which large corner fireplaces with their high wooden mantels were removed. On the opposite side of the hall from the parlor is the library, with its open fireplace. A double doorway connects the library and dining-room, which has been brightened by the addition of a bay-window. The double Dutch door in the ample kitchen is said to have once done duty as a front door, and the old brass knobs assert its ancient dignity. A large oak beam stretching the whole length of the ceiling in the second story shows the firmness of early construction. The house contains twenty rooms, several having been added in later years, and also most of the modern improvements, which have been so arranged as not to mar its Colonial simplicity. A stone barn built in A.D. 1813 has kept the house company for generations, and they are as good friends as ever, modern improvements disturb them not, for they are deeply set on their firm foundations."
57. "Chetwynd," Residence of John H. Converse.
p. 185: " 'Chetwynd,' Residence of Mr. John H. Converse, Rosemont, PA. --The greater part of this house was built by Mr. Converse in 1883, but several important additions have been made, greatly increasing the accommodations, and adding to the picturesqueness and interest of the building. In 1887 a one-story wing was built, connecting with the library on the rear. This was designed and finished as a gallery for pictures and other works of art, with top-lighting for day and night. The entrance from the grounds was arranged at the rear with a vestibule, which was carried up as a turret, and forms a very picturesque feature. In 1890 were added a music-room off the parlor, and the 'Indian room' projecting from the side of the library, which then became a sort of lobby to the art gallery on one side and the Indian room on the other. These additions were all carried up to the full height of the house, and gave accommodations for additional bed-rooms, etc., in the upper stories, the 'music-room' forming a tower flanking the principal front of the house The house is built of gray stone, the gables being of timber work with rough-cast panels, and the roofs covered with red slate, with terra-cotta ridges, etc. It is beautifully situated on the tope of a high piece of ground sloping toward the Lancaster Pike, and shows well from all directions, commanding a fine view. It is one of the most elevated sites in this neighborhood. Messrs. Wilson Brothers & Co. were the architects of the original house and of all the additions. Mary Chetwynd was an English progenitor of this family on the female side, and hence the name. Mr. Converse purchased various tracts here, covering sixty acres, the first purchase being in A.D. 1881. About a third of the land is cultivated, and the buildings and lawn may be said to cover about a third; and the last third is in pasture. The floor of the house is 426 feet above tidewater. The original house was begun in 1882, and finished in 1883. The stone was chiefly quarried on the property. The hall shows the woodwork and stairway in rich designs. The parlor is large, and the bays in this room and the hall add much to the picturesque effect of the ceiling."
58. Residence of William H. Joyce.
p. 186: "W.H. Joyce's Residence. --The tasteful entrance to Mr. Joyce's residence has a curved wall serving as a gateway, touched by a hedge on the lower side and an iron fence on the upper one. Two little rustic bridges and a miniature pond, and a waterfall and a little creek give life to the scene. An ancient tree, with its wide-spread branches, on the lawn tells of a time when country-seats were unknown here, and if like Tennyson's 'Talking Oak,' it could speak, talks of Indian love and warfare might be heard. It is considerably over a century old. The house is of Port Deposit stone, built from designs by Theophilus P. Chandler, about three years ago. It is of the Tudor style of architecture ... A circular porch in the rear of the house covers a wide view, and is a delightful summer retreat."
59. Augustinian College of Villan ova
p. 193: "Villa Nova college. By Rev. Thomas C. Middleton, D. D., O.S.A. --Slightly less than a mile west of Rosemont, with its buildings crowning a gently sloping hill, stands Villa Nova, the mother-house in the United States of the Roman Catholic order of religious known as Augustinians."
60. "Clairemont," Residence of Joseph E. Gillingham, Villa Nova.
p. 197: "Clairemont Farm. --Joseph E. Gillingham has what is indeed a model farm, with entrances on Montgomery Avenue and County Line Road, near Villa Nova, containing about three hundred acres, purchased at various times of different persons. The site of the mansion house was formerly owned by Crawford Barr. The locations of the pleasant country house of the owner of Clairemont Farm --built according to plans of Addison Hutton -- is a remarkably fine one, where the God of nature has spread beauty everywhere with no stinted hand. The elevation commands one of the finest views in the beautiful region, and the fall of the ground on every side indicates a wise selection of a site where summer winds refresh the inmates, and winter gales delight to revel. Some old trees were preserved to shade the new abode, and one old monarch stands in the rear. In looking from the piazza, the gorge opening between the hills at the Gulf draws our delighted attention, while rolling hills clad in green woods make a fine picture on a bright day in June."
61. Residence of William E. Garrett, Jr.
p. 202: "The country-seat of William E. Garrett, Jr. extends from the Gulf Road to Montgomery Avenue, and west to Matson's Ford Road. The house, surmounting on the numerous hills which furnish desirables sites in this section of the country, is built of stone and wood. A fine view is obtained by the rise of the ground, and the lawn slopes from the dwelling to the public road. A handsome stable, with a carriage-house, is on this place. A chime of bells struck the quarter-hour from a clock on the stable tower as we viewed the lawn. The green-houses are very extensive. The farm stable is a neat building. A porch in front, and a piazza on one side vary the exterior. The Gulf Church is a pleasant object in the extended view over the undulating country to the southward, where hill and dale mingle in goodly company. The tower might lead one to imagine himself in Old England. A natural terrace descends from the house, and a winding road leads to the highway. Bright arbor-vitae bushes enliven the scene. Japanese trees stand among their American cousins, and an artistic gateway finishes the lovely picture."
62. "Briar Crest," Residence of Wm. Henry Maule, Villa Nova, Delaware Co., PA.
p. 205: "Briar Crest. --At the corner of Spring Mills and Gulf Roads, the extensive house of Wm. Henry Maule is situated on a hillside. It is built of stone and wood. The piazza juts out over the lawn to catch a fine view, embracing Bryn Mawr, and extending to Haverford and beyond. An attractive lodge and hedge at the main entrance command attention, while an ivy-covered gardener's house is a pretty object at the lower gateway. The mansion was built in A.D. 1877, by the present owner, G.W. & W.D. Hewitt being the architects. The lawn and grounds display the tasteful labor and care which have been lavishly bestowed upon them at great expense. The land is covered with a large variety of hardy blooming plants and shrubs from various parts of the world; while in addition as many as forty thousand different bedding plants are used annually in decorative flower beds, which during the winter are propagated in five green-houses, thus each spring offering opportunity for the marvelous exhibition of God's handiwork. The Lawn-mower weekly trims more than sixteen acres. Many old trees have been left in natural beauty. A great white oak stands as a king among them, and a spring-house rejoices under its shade. The trees shelter azaleas and rhododendrons. The variety of color of the flower beds presents many pleasing contrasts. Shrubs and other hardy plants border the roadside, forming an excellent background. The Latin scholar may jog his memory among many floral names before him, as he learns a lesson in botany. Dahlias are given much prominence, as their owner loves them. To the entrance lodge walls clings Japanese ivy, green in summer and bright in autumn's dyes. English ivy keeps company with it, both being used extensively whenever opportunity offers. Not counting the five green-houses, there are seven separate buildings on Mr. Maule's place, all but one erected by the owner. While not as large as some others in extent of acreage, one cannot visit Briar Crest without expressing astonishment that so much of the beautiful in nature could have been compressed in so limited a space."
63. St. Martin's Chapel --Radnor
p. 214: "St. Martin's Church, Radnor. By Rev. Winfield S. Baer ... In April, 1895, ground was broken for a Parish House, and the house was completed in September of the same year. It is of the same kind of stone as the church, which it adjoins, giving a rear entrance to the same, and affording needed accommodations for the parish work. It has an assembly room, seating 200, an infant-school room, and a guild-room. Connected with St. Martin's is St. Martin's Chapel, at Ithan (south of Radnor), the outgrowth of services held in the school-house at the place. The Chapel is a pretty frame building, costing complete about $1,100." a name="64">
64. St. Martin's Chapel --Ithan.
See above description.
65. Woodmont, Residence of Alan Wood, Jr.
p. 206: "Woodmont. --Alan Wood, Jr., owns the estate with the above name. The section around the house, including the gardens, is styled Woodmont park. The house was constructed between 1891 and 1894, William L. Price, of Philadelphia, being the architect. The style is that of a French Gothic chateau. Stone from the vicinity furnished most of the walls, the cellar being cut out of the rock. Lieperville stone, with limestone trimmings, were used in facing, and the stable is from the stone quarried from the cellar. The site is 475 feet above tidewater, overlooking the valley of the Schuylkill for fifteen or twenty miles around. The highest site in Montgomery County is on the Woodmont Farm, being twenty-five feet higher than the mansion site. There are neat lodge-houses. Woodmont Farm contains about 100 acres, and Bellevue and Highland Farms, owned by Mr. Wood, adjoining, also contain about a hundred acres, each. The Spring Mill Road runs through the farms, and the Woodmont Road also passed between the places. The Woodmont Farm had been owned by The Newberry family for a century before Mr. Wood purchased it in 1880. The Bellevue and Highland Farms were a part of the John Y. Crawford estate, and were bought from the estate by Mr. Wood in 1885. Highland Farm was well-named in old times from its elevated position. The farms are well-kept, and in the best condition. On Highland Farm was a stone mansion house, which Mr. Wood beautifully remodeled, and it has been rented to citizens yearly, furnished. Richard G. Wood, of Pittsburgh, is dwelling there this summer. There is also a fine farm-house. The stone barn on Bellevue Farm is believed to be the finest one in Montgomery County, accommodating fifty cows and twenty-five horses; and the hospital stalls are added for sick cows and horses for isolation."
66. The Old Llewellyn House, built in 1750.
p. 209: "Inspiration Farm, Real Estate... Twitchell purchased the Esrey farm for less than $300 an acre as an investment, and is now using it as a stock farm. It is part of a 500 acre tract to which the old document and seal refer, which was part of a tract which William Penn sold to Joshua Holland in 1682. The acreage purchased by Mr. Twitchell lies beyond Merion Square, along the State Road. It was formerly known as the Llewellyn Homestead, and the old Llewellyn house is still standing. This building, which is two stories high, is a curiosity in itself. It appears to have been built in 1716 of stone and wood taken from the premises. The cellar walls are of huge rocks, plastered, and the house walls are of flint stone about three feet thick. The woodwork, which is fairly well preserved, is of chestnut and oak, the doors being of unusual thickness, and the windows being square, with small panes of glass. There is an old spring-house on the grounds, and until recently there was a large stone barn, which burned down."
67. Old Radnor Friends' Meeting.
p. 218: "Old Radnor Friends' Meeting. By Joseph T. Doran. --Probably the most interesting historical land-mark in Radnor Township is the Old Radnor Meeting-House, at Ithan, at the junction of the Old Conestoga Road and Old Radnor Road. Built about 1717, the date on a part of the building, it is closely identified with the history of the locality, and of the families of the original settlers."
68. The Stacker House, Residence of Professor Albert H. Smyth.
p. 221: "The quaint old stone farm-house of the John Stacker property strikes the observer at Radnor Station. Its occupant, Professor Albert H. Smyth, writes me as follows concerning it: 'My Dear Sir:-- It may interest you to know, if you propose saying a word about the old house which I am now renting from Mrs. Stacker, that the newest part of the house was built in 1792. The date is on a white stone sunk in the hip of the roof, just beneath the chimney. The older portion of the house was built about 1700. Traditionally it was a farm-house that was visited by Washington. It has, like all well established old houses, a familiar ghost --the ghost of a drover [sic], who is said to have been murdered here, and who still at midnight walks the floors. It is of more practical use to know that I have housed under this ancient roof a library of nearly five thousand volumes of Shakesperian scholarship and of early English literature."
69. Residence of C.S. Walkton, St. David's, PA.
p. 234: "Walmarthon. --This place of Charles S. Walkton lies on St. David's Road, near the Lancaster Pike. In A. D. 1892 the present owner purchased this property of Wendell & Smith during the construction of the house which was designed by Horace Trumbauer. At first the present resident was a summer inhabitant, but was so allured by the country attractions in family life that he now spends the year here. The high position of the dwelling affords a grand view. The house is of wood and stone combined, of pleasing architectural design. An architectural stone stable is on the ample grounds."
70. Alderbrook, Residence of Howard B. French
p. 230: " 'Alderbrook.' --This pleasant country-seat, in Lower Merion township, is the home of Howard B. French, of Philadelphia. It is his summer residence. The place lies between Radnor Station, on the Pennsylvania Railroad, and the King of Prussia, on the Chester Valley branch of the Reading Railroad ... Mrs. Coffin Colket purchased the present tract in A.D. 1886, and rebuilt the old farm-house, under the designs of Architect Robert B. Kennedy. Mrs. Colket was the mother of Mrs. Howard B. French. The place has been very much improved and beautified during the present ownership. About seventeen acres are in the lawn, and one acre in the lake -- the water being collected from Alderbrook Creek; the alders on its banks having probably suggested the original appellation. The garden claims an acre; and six acres of well-trimmed woodland are a striking feature of this rustic retreat. From the front porch of the house, a view which is unsurpassed in this section of the country meets the vision. Directly in front is the beautiful Chester Valley, with is well-tilled farms; to the left, historical Valley Forge; and beyond the Schuylkill, range after range of hills and mountains can be seen for a distance of nearly forty miles.
71. Lake at Alderbrook.
See above description.
72. Osborn House, Residence of Benjamin Thompson
p. 234: "Osborn House. --The residence occupied by Benjamin Thompson, with a name recalling his paternal ancestry, is on the north side of Midland Avenue, between Pembroke and Aberdeen Avenues. It was built by Wendell & Smith in A.D. 1890, and Mrs. Thompson has lived here since 1892."
73.Clemaria, Residence of Moses Paxson, Radnor, Delaware Co., PA.
p. 225: "Clemaria. --The picture represents the residence of Mr. Moses Paxson, merchant, Philadelphia. The name being a combination of the names of his two children, a son and a daughter, Clement and Marion. For this house Mr. Paxon purchased two acres of land November 18th, 1888, of Mr. Lewis T. Brooke, being a portion of the original grounds owned by Mr. John Stacker; and recently two acres in addition have been added, as belonging to the original property. This ground is situated on an eminence of 410 feet above tidewater, overlooking a magnificent stretch of country, known as a spur of the celebrated Chester Valley. The view includes a hillside range partially cultivated, and partly native growth of woodland, which gives a pleasing variety. This view extends over and beyond the historical Gulf Gap, Conshohocken , and the Schuylkill River, with a more distant range including Barren Hill, Chestnut Hill, Edge Hill Furnace, and covering quite a stretch of the North Pennsylvania Railroad; the whole view being most picturesque and beautiful. The improvements on the ground commenced the following spring, and continued during 1889, 1890, and 1891 by the employment of landscape gardeners and laborers, under the special direction of the owner, in grading and perfecting the ground surface, and planting with about three thousand of the most beautiful plants, shrubbery, fruit and ornamental trees that could be had from many sections of the globe.
74. Woodburne, Residence of Robert Willis Martin.
p. 225: "Woodburne. --Robert Willis Martin gave the above name to his country-seat, after the ancestral place at Seaford, Sussex County, Delaware... Mr. Martin purchased about fifteen acres of the Lewis T. Brooke estate in A.D. 1892, and erected a large castellated mansion of local gray stone, from designs of Hazlehurst & Huckel. Some three and a half acres of wood, intersected by the old Gulf Creek, which runs for a quarter of a mile through the property, and feeds a dam which supplies waterworks, form useful and ornament additions to the landscape. An abundance of shrubs and flowers make the place noted for its varied beauty through the neighborhood."
75. Villa Florenza, Residence of Dr. George L. S. Jameson
p. 233: "Dr. George L. S. Jameson's attractive home is called Villa Florenza. Mrs. Jameson and Mrs. Griffiths, her mother, who was the daughter of the late Thomas Thompson, of Philadelphia, had spent some time in the beautiful Italian city of Florence, and felt deeply interested in it; this name commemorates the feeling ... The place that bears its name contains a pleasant lawn, bordered by a hedge running along the Lancaster Pike; and stone gate-posts introduce the driveway, while a pretty stable of architectural style is in the rear. The house is sheltered by a piazza, and the hall is ample, with a stairway of excellent woodwork, and a fireplace that looks cozy. A bay-window in the hall makes it a pleasant room for summer and winter use. The wide double Dutch door has a hospitable look, and reminds one of those in the old Germantown houses. The material of the dwelling is stone and wood."
76. Residence of Reginald L. Hart.
p. 246: "Reginald L. Hart's house was built in 1889, on plans made by Price Brothers, and modified to meet his own ideas ... His house is located at the corner of Beech Tree Land and Radnor Road."
77. Barclay Farm, Residence of George H. McFadden.
p. 238: "Barclay Farm. --This name was given to keep in memory Barclay McFadden, a son of George H. McFadden, the owner of the property. The large stone house was an inn in Revolutionary times, where Washington and Lafayette slept as hotel guests ... George H. McFadden bought the farm of two hundred acres and the house from Anderson Kirk about five years ago, and renovated the building in excellent taste, keeping up the antique flavor. An old corner fireplace is in each of the front rooms. The older part of the house was erected, perhaps, about 1769, a stone in the newer part is marked A.D. 1772. The dining-room is in the old part, and the wood rafters, and wooden window-casings of great depth, and the old Delft Dutch tiles, with pictured Scripture scenes, make a very striking and picturesque apartment."
78. Wayne Baptist Church.
p. 250: "South Wayne. --Wayne Presbyterian Church. --A pamphlet gives the history of this parish, and the sermon preached at the dedication of the church. A service was held in Wayne Hall 'on Sabbath morning, June 5th, 1870.' On the 19th of the same month a Sunday-school began with five children. On the 21st a meeting occurred at the hall preparatory to the organization of the church."
79.The Hospital of the Good Shepherd
p. 238: "The Hospital of the Good Shepherd. --In September, A. D. 1873, Bishop Stevens indorsed [sic] the plan of the Rector and Vestry of the Church of the Good Shepherd, Radnor, for 'establishing a Cottage Hospital for the sick or afflicted children in this Diocese,' calling it 'a so much needed and Christian charity.' "
80. St. Mary's Memorial Episcopal Church, Wayne, PA.
p. 254: "St. Mary's Memorial Church. By Rev. John R. Moses. --It is situated on Lancaster Avenue, at the corner of Louella Avenue, Wayne. The church and parish house are built of gray limestone, from the Avondale quarries, trimmed with Indiana limestone. The style of architecture is Norman-Gothic, from designs by Messrs. Wilson Brothers. The church is cruciform. The tower contains a chime of ten bells. The parish house is thoroughly furnished for Sunday-school and guild work, and is connected with the church by a cloister and port-cochere. The parish organization dates from 1885."
81. Bon Air, Residence of Captain John W. Morrison
p. 249: "At the corner of Chestnut Lane and Eagle Road is situated the pleasant abode of Captain John W. Morrison. The high position overlooks the town of Wayne, and reaches in the 'good air,' which the name implies, and which is abundant in this beautiful rural region. The house was built by the Wayne Estate, and purchased by William Whitney, who made additions, and sold the property to Captain Morrison in A.D. 1892. The woods above the house, and the high location combine to make a pretty picture, and the interior of the dwelling is cozy and attractive."
82. Brentwood, Residence of Thomas Leaming, Esq.
p. 249: "At the junction of Eagle Road and Wayne Avenue, an easy seven minutes' walk to the north from Wayne Station, is a charming place, 'Brentwood,' belonging to Thomas Leaming. The house in the Colonial style, and stands back on a walled terrace, surrounded by unusually large beech and oak trees. It was built by Cope & Stewardson in 1888, and is very complete and comfortable, although quite unpretentious. This shady spot is really a corner of the extensive wooded ridge which encloses the Chester Valley to the south, and is part of a larger tract of land bought by Mr. Leaming's father about twenty years ago. Across the corner of the place runs a picturesque little stream -- the head-water of the famed Gulph Creek -- which adds much to the cool and peaceful effect produced by Brentwood in summer; indeed, few country seats have so much to charm the eye, within so comparatively small a space."
83. Wayne Title and Trust Company
p. 261: "The Wayne Title and Trust Company. -- This company, which insures titles from the various kinds of loss incidental to such securities, was incorporated February 10th, A.D. 1890."
84. Wayne Presbyterian Church.
p. 250: "South Wayne. -- Wayne Presbyterian Church ...The following is from an illustrated article, 'Beautiful Wayne and St. David's in Ladies' Every Saturday, published by Wm. Gardner Osgoodby, and edited by Will J. Benners, Jr. (July 20th, A.D. 1895): 'The present pastor, the Rev. Dr. Patton, began his labors here April 1st, 1890. On May 12th, 1892, was laid the corner-stone of the new church, which is a stately and costly structure of the early English Gothic style of architecture. During the present pastorate the membership of the church has doubled.' "
85. Wayne Methodist Church
No description available.
86. The Gulf Mills, A.D. 1747
p. 202: "The Gulf Mills were built in 1747, and were lately burned. Gulf Creek, which gave the water power, empties into the Schuylkill at Conshohocken. It is said that Washington slept in the Henderson Supply house near the monument."
87. The Bellevue, Wayne, PA
p.270: "The Bellevue. -- The high position of this summer hotel is indicated by the name, as beautiful views surround it on every side. Conshohocken is visible through the valley. The house was constructed by George W. Childs, and opened about A.D. 1880, Mrs. Mary B. Field purchased it, and conducted it for several years, and doubled the building in enlarging it. Mrs. A. R. Sank bought the place in 1895, and now conducts it. The house is but two or three minutes' walk from the railroad depot, making it very convenient for citizens. Ample piazzas shelter guests, who while away summer evenings in pleasant converse. The upper stories are also furnished with piazzas, each upper room having its separated porch. A cupola surmounts the building. The writer of this volume has enjoyed pleasant days in past years under this hospitable roof."
88. Residence of F. H. Treat
p. 266: "Frederick H. Treat's residence of Wayne is a pleasant modern dwelling of wood and stone, constructed by Wendell & Smith. The place contains between one and two acres. The house is situated on high ground on Louella Avenue, at the corner of Upland Way. The lawn is surrounded by an arbor-vitae hedge, and in summer the yard is bright with flowers."
89. Old Eagle School house, Strafford, PA.
p. 270: "The Old Eagle School. By Henry Pleasants, Esq. ... But the traveler in whom the writer is interested must be pushed on this road a quarter of a mile further, just beyond the Strafford Station, Pennsylvania Railroad, to reach the spot where now centers most of the points of historic interest in that immediate neighborhood -- The Old Eagle School-House. The story of this old land-mark has also been recorded in the Village Record by Mr. Sachse (1888), and later and more fully in pamphlet form by the Board of Trustees at present in charge of the property. From these accounts it appears that a few years before the Revolution about two acres of land at this point were dedicated by an unknown philanthropist out of the Huzzard tract, for 'The general use and good of the Neighborhood, for Religious, Educational, and Burial purposes.' Originally a log church is said to have stood some twenty feet north of the present building, erected as an outpost of the Old Lutheran Church at The Trappe. The little graveyard adjoining indicates burials as early as 1777 The present stone building succeeded the log church in 1788, and has been a veritable cradle of education for the neighborhood; according to MacMasters, it was one of the very few rural school-houses in the United States. For the religious, political, and general purposes, too, the old building was during that period in constant demand, 'the lonely centre of our social life.' About 1842, more than a half century's use having reduced it to a ruinous condition, it was rebuilt, somewhat enlarged, and resumed active service for another thirty years, until the erection in 1872 of a new school-house about one-quarter of a mile further west. The use of the building for religious and general purposes languished for another year, when a squatter established and retained for two years a precarious tenure of the place in defiance of criminal and civil proceedings, and finally surrendered it to the Tredyffrin School Board, who after various ineffectual efforts to dispose of it, retained possession through a tenant, until upon petition to the court of Common Pleas, of Chester County, Pennsylvania, by many citizens of the neighborhood claiming privileges through the original dedication, and after years of litigation to ascertain the rights of the public there, no deed of property existing, the present trustees were appointed by the Court, May 6th, 1895, 'To regulate the manner in which the property can most effectively be utilized for the general use and good of the Neighborhood, for religious, Education, and Burial purposes.' The decision by Judge Waddell in this case (reported 36 Weekly Notes, 348), constitutes, it is believed, the only instance in the United States, where the character of such a public trust has been successfully established upon traditionary evidence.' "
90. Residence of Waldo M. Claflin
p. 269: "Waldo M. Claflin's country-seat was erected by him in A.D. 1892, from Lindley Johnson's designs. This mansion was constructed of Avondale stone. Some four or five acres are utilized as lawn and garden. The old forest trees, composing a grove, are tulip-poplars, chestnuts, and oaks. The high position gives a fine view of Wayne and St. David's and the surrounding country."
91. Devon Inn.
p. 278: "The Devon Inn was built by Coffin & Altemus sixteen miles from Broad Street, at an elevation of 550 feet. The air of this high region is excellent, the situation attractive, and beauty of scenery, and surroundings of historic interest add to its charms. Valley Forge, and Paoli, with memories of the Revolution, are within driving distance, and old St. David's Church is not far away. There is a swimming pool here, and an artesian well supplies the house with water."
Residence of Dr. J. Ewing Mears.
p. 281: "Radnor Ridge. -- Dr. J. Ewing Mears ha an attractive house, built of stone and slate, on the Ridge at Devon in the extreme western part of Delaware County. He properly calls it 'Radnor Ridge,' on account of its being on the crown of Radnor Ridge, which is at the head of Conshohocken Valley, covering a view on one side down the valley across the Schuylkill to Chestnut Hill in the distance. On the other side the spires of St. Thomas's Church, Villa Nova, are seen four or five miles away. The residence was built by Dr. Sajous, on apart of the Pugh farm, in A.D. 1887, who occupied it for three years; and Dr. Mears purchased it in 1890, as a summer abode. The house borders on Valley Forge Road, over which the Continental Army passed in Revolutionary days, when Washington and his noble soldiers were encamped there."
93. "Happy Creek Farm," Prov. C. C. Harrison
p. 289: "Happy Creek Farm. -- The entrance to Provost Harrison's place is a on a simple country road, which has been little changed since old St. David's Church, near-by, was young. A massive stone gate-way, without gates, introduces to a wood, where a macadamized road winds through a grove, and bursts out into an open view, as the house, which is not visible from the highway, presents itself. The high situation is one of those fine locations in which this section abounds, and lovely scenery is on every side. A large hall, with its stairway and fireplace and high clock, runs through the dwelling, and a piazza opens on the rear. The family portraits group the worthies of an elder day with the present generation, while an engraving of Nicholas Waln, famous in early Philadelphia days, and an ancestor of Mrs. Harrison, brings a reminder of antiquity. The name of the place was suggested by that of a Virginia estate, owned by relatives of the family. The architects of the building were Furness, Evans & Co."
94. Cathcart Presbyterian Home and Chapel, Devon, PA.
p. 282: "The Eliza Cathcart Home. -- This splendid stone building was the legacy of the generous Christian man, William C. Stroud, of the Baldwin Locomotive Works, 'in loving memory of his mother, Eliza Cathcart Stroud,' and was dedicated in A.D. 1893. The donor's portrait adorns the walls Some fifty-three acres are in this beautiful tract, embracing a pond, and rolling hills. 'The Benjamin and Phoebe Ann Hutchinson Ward was an annex of the Cathcart Home, erected and endowed by their daughter, Mary W. Hutchinson, of West Philadelphia, as a memorial of her parents,' as the memorial brass notes, which is flanked by their portraits. She also donated the chapel. The private rooms are cozy and comfortable, and the chapel is a pleasant room. The winter family is at present twenty-nine. Lemuel Ashmead owned the tract covering the pond, including fifty acres, having bought it from Mr. Cundy. They sold to the Presbyterian Hospital. Three addition acres were bought of Edward Wilson's estate for the site of the Hutchinson Home."
95. Residence of H. T. Coates
p. 298: " 'Lansdale,' the residence of [Henry T. Coates], is a commodious, home-like mansion, designed by Addison Hutton, and built of Chester County limestone. It stands on the brow of a pretty slope, and is surrounded by handsome grounds of thirty-six acres. The main entrance approaches the mansion ver an ornamental stone bridge across the arm of a picturesque little sheet of water. At the rear of the house is a tract of native woodland, on the edge of which are the stables. The rear entrance is through a piece of wooded land, and close by is the gardener's lodge, also in the Colonial style, from designs by Addison Hutton." < a name="96">
96. Ardrossan, Residence of Thomas H. Montgomery
p. 298: "Ardrossan. -- Near Maple Avenue Station, not far from West Chester, on West Chester Branch Railroad, lies Ardrossan, the country-seat of Thomas H. Montgomery, well known in business and church circles of Philadelphia. He purchased the mansion and land in A.D. 1882, from Mr. Pierce Hoopes, who built the house in 1848 on his ancestral property. The name Ardrossan is that of an estate in Ayrshire, Scotland, which has been in the possession of the Montgomery family over 800 years."
97. "The Villa," Green Hill, Chester County, Residence of Samuel Wagner
p. 302: " 'The Villa,' Green Hill ... on a hill commanding a magnificent view in almost every direction, Mr. Wagner has built his house, a view of which is presented to our readers. The house is somewhat like an Italian villa in architecture, and was designed by the talented architect, Mr. Lindley Johnson. It stands upon the top of a hill, 550 feet above tide-water, facing the south, and protected on the north by a fine piece of woods. As one stands on the terrace on the west side of the house, there is presented an extended view of a fine rolling country, as far as even the Welsh Mountains, while to the southwest and south are West Chester, and the Brandywine Hills beyond."
98. Millbourne Mills
p. 309: " 'A pleasant stream, bordered by the meadow land and a rising hill, adjoin the famous Millbourne Mills, and a picturesque scene is before the eye. In A.D. 1690, the emigrant, Samuel Sellers, bought this property from William Penn. In 1757 John Sellers, 1st, a grandson of Samuel, built the first mill here, and five barrels of flour a day could be made. In 1814 the second mill was built by John Sellers, 2d, and it was conducted by John Sellers, 3d, as lessee and owner for a period of about fifty years. Twenty to forty barrels of flour a day could then be manufactured. In 1869 the mill was enlarged, and improved machinery and steam made a capacity of fifty barrels a day. Other improvements followed, until in 1888 the five barrel capacity of 1757 had increased to 350 barrels a day.' Since this was written the output of the mill has been still further increased, until now (1897) its capacity is six hundred barrels of flour a day. The original mill was built of stone, but the most recent additions are of timber, covered with steel shingles, and include the elevator capable of handling 40,000 bushels of grain."
99. Burd Orphan Asylum, 63d and Market Streets
p. 310: "The Burd Orphan Asylum. By Rev. Summerfield E. Snively, Warden ... The Asylum is built in the early English Gothic style of architecture, under one continuous roof, in the shape of a Greek cross. It makes a group at once striking, dignified, and attractive. A beautiful chapel, seating 350, with appropriate memorial windows to Mrs. Burd and Dr. Duchachet, and a large reception-room, filled with chaste and elegant furniture, fine china, and many objects of interest and value are characteristic of the institution."
100. Sellers Hall, Upper Darby, PA
p. 315: "Sellers Hall. By Horace W. Sellers. -- After leaving the city line at Cobb's Creek, the West Chester road passes westward for the distance about a mile through what was for nearly two centuries the property of the Sellers family. The original tract, consisting of one hundred acres, was granted in 1690 by patent to Samuel Sellers, who had held it prior to that time under a rental from William Penn. It included two small farms of fifty acres each upon which George and Samuel Sellers settled after their arrival in the Province in 1682. They were brothers, and came from Belper, in Derbyshire, England, the home of the family for many generations ... George and Samuel Sellers jointly built and occupied the dwelling that now forms part of the old homestead, still standing, and known until recent years as 'sellers Hall.' The general plan of the house is in the form of an 'L,' with semi-detached out-buildings, forming in all a picturesque group. The old portion faces the south, and from this front the lawn slopes to a terrace wall that the higher ground of the garden from meadow land through which flows 'Naylor's Run.' It is said that in building this wall the workmen came upon a fireplace with fragments of a blackened hearth and charcoal, the remains of what was supposed to have been the cave or dug-out in which the settlers lived in 1682 before the house was completed."
"Millbourne," Residence of John Sellers, 4th.
p. 319: "In 1850 a small cottage tenement house was built in what was then an almost open field on the site of the present Millbourne House. This cottage was occupied for one summer by John Sellers, 4th, who sought it for the sake of his little children. The grandparents were greatly attracted by its pleasant and airy surroundings, and were eventually led, in 1858, to build the house which became the second Millbourne home (shown in illustration), and is now owned and occupied by John Sellers, 4th, with his family. The planning and building of this house was largely under the direction of Mrs. Sellers, the mother of the present occupant. She greatly enjoys the self-imposed task, in which she had the able assistance of John M. Gries, a young and promising architect, who gave his life for his country in the War of the Rebellion."
103. "Hoodland." Residence of Mrs. David Sellers.
p. 321: "Hoodland. by Samuel Sellers. -- This fine old country mansion, handsomely situated on the State Road south of the West Chester Turnpike, was built in the year 1823 by John Sellers, son of John Sellers (1) and Ann Gibson.. John Sellers (2) was born at Sellers Hall, the near-by homestead of the Sellers family, which his ancestor, who probably came over in the ship 'Welcome,' but certainly in one of the several vessels arriving at that time, had built, and which still stands in a good state of preservation."
104. Keystone Paper Mills -- C.S. Garrett & Son, Upper Darby, Del. Co., PA
p. 327: "Keystone Paper Mill. -- The tract on which this mill is located was taken up by John Blunston, November 18th, 1683, who sold two hundred and fifty acres June 1st, 1686, to John Hood. Prior to 1770 John Sellers (1) utilized the water-power of Cobb's Creek by the construction of a long head race though this land and his Sellers Hall farm, and erected a saw-mill that was operated y his sawyer, John Hayes. There was no favorable site for a mill dam in the locality, and the method of developing the water-power was an example of skillful engineering for those primitive times ... From about 1830 to April 1st, 1854, it was used as an oil mill, at which time the unexpired lease of Samuel Hartranft was purchased by C.S. Garrett, who removed the oil machinery and substituted machinery for manufacturing paper. He continued paper-making at this mill till 1866, when, having purchased the water privilege, Mr. Garrett erected the present mills on property owned by him, and about half a mile above the site of the old mills. The buildings were of stone, one, fifty by sixty feet, four stories high; one thirty-five by thirty-five feet, three stories high; and one thirty by one hundred feet, one story high."
105. Wild Orchard. Residence of Josiah White.
p. 332: "Wild Orchard, situated on the Marshall Road, just beyond the Philadelphia line of Cobb's Creek, is one of the beauty spots near Philadelphia. It originally was part of a tract of 89 1/2 acres, deeded from Matthew Hopkins to John Sellers in 1762. It descended by will to George Sellers; then by deed to Nathan Sellers, Sr.; then by will to Nathan Sellers, Jr., who sold a portion of it to his cousin, Samuel Sellers. The two cousins, Nathan and Samuel, built each of them a house, which houses were destroyed by fire, and rebuilt in about 1840. In 1857 Samuel Seller's heirs sold the property to Richard Richardson, who sold his sister-in-law, Rebecca White, one half interest. At the death of her sister Rebecca White came into possession of the entire place called Wild Orchard, and in 1887, sold it to her nephew, Josiah White, the present owner. Wild Orchard is noted for its beautiful grove of tulip-poplar trees, many of which girth from eight to nine feet, and are 150 feet tall, running up in many instances fifty feet without a limb."
106. Mill Bank, Upper Darby, PA., Property of Dr. Coleman Sellers.
p. 332: "Mill Bank. By Horace W. Sellers. -- The property of Dr. Coleman Sellers, on Marshall's Road, just above the old grist-mill on Naylor's Run, occupies part of the original plantation of John Marshall, one of the early settlers of Darby Township. According to tradition, he and Samuel Sellers, besides being neighbors, were close friends, assisting each other in their labors of clearing the land and building their houses. 'Mill Bank' house stands on the high ground between the road and the meadow, across which, on the opposite slope, may be seen 'Sellers Hall.' It was built during the years 1815 to 1817 by Nathan Sellers, Esq., the grandfather of its present owner, and the eldest son of John Sellers, of Sellers Hall."
107. Fern Brook Cottage, Marshal Road, Delaware Co., PA
p. 336: "Fernbrook Cottage. -- By Samuel Sellers. -- This charming stone cottage, beautifully situated on the old Marshall road, about three-fourths of a mile south of the west Chester Turnpike, now owned by Mrs. Mary Lewis, of Delaware County, and at one occupied by her, was erected by Samuel Sellers in the year 1861. This was in the early years of the great Civil War. Work on the buildings was suspended for a time because of a feared advance into Pennsylvania of the Southern army. Happily the onward course of the Confederate forces was stayed before they reached the borders of the State, and work again went rapidly on, Mrs. Sellers moving into it in the spring of 1862. This cottage was erected on land (eleven acres of hillside, meadow, stream, and wood) inherited by Samuel Sellers from his father, James Sellers, who had retired some years before his death from an active business life in Philadelphia."
108. Springton Farm, Upper Darby, PA
p. 340: "Springton Farm. -- Samuel Sellers kindly guides my notes in regard to this place. The land formed part of a tract of 250 acres, including Brookfield, that adjoins the present Drexel property. It was originally owned by William Garrett, who divided it between his two sons. The eastern end, called 'Springton,' from the springs upon it, eventually came to the possession of Nathan and David Sellers, and upon the division of their estate it passed to David's son, James Sellers. The western portion of the original Garrett tract became the property of Samuel Lewis."
109. Manoa Park
p. 350: "Manoa Park. -- This farm belongs to Walter H. Hays, Samuel Moore, and Alexander Johnson. It consists of over sixty acres, comprising about five acres of woodland, and trees are scattered over the grounds. Mr. Moulton owned it, and afterward, it became Joseph Oat's fine country-seat, and he built the mansion ... The property passed into the hands of William Pyott and Edward Longstreth, and then to the present parties. A lake encircled with willow trees is a pretty feature of the scenery. the place was called Willow Brook in Mr. Oat's time. A beautiful winding road bounded by various kinds of trees, leads to the house. The first recorded deed (a curious looking old Parchment), transferring 'Manoa Park,' is dated the Fourth day of First month, commonly called March, A.D. 1747, in which Jos. Lewis transfers the property to Daniel Lawrence, and the consideration is 250 pounds. The same deed states that Jos. Lewis became possessed of the property by a will of David Lewis, dated 24th day of First month, 1714. The property is called a 'plantation,' and transfers with the improvements, meadows, water ways, etc., certain privileges of fishing, fowling, hunting, etc."
p. 355: "The Flower Observatory of the University of Pennsylvania. -- The equatorial building, and the transit house, and the professors' pretty residence of brick and stone, containing a wing for the observatory library and computing room, were erected in A.D. 1895 on the farm donated by Reese Wall Flower for this purpose, in Upper Darby, just above the Howard House ... The dome of the equatorial building is movable, and a section from the peak to the base of the roof can be opened, so that the observer can follow the circuit of the heavens. The room containing the telescope is lined with white tile and finely finished. The foundation of the building is of stone, strongly built for its heavy work, and the circular edifice is of brick. The foundation of the telescope is nine feet deep, and a solid piece of masonry, so as to avoid surface tremors from cars and wagons on the road. Cobb's Creek bounds the farm. The view from the balcony of the Observatory is a magnificent one, as wood and hill and pasture land mingle in the landscape. In the transit building movable shutters in the roof display the sky. A small telescope works from one position, moving only north and south, the building having been set accurately with the points of the compass to get the opening in the right direction. This zenith telescope also determines the latitude. The meridian circle and a transit instrument are also in the transit building, as well as the side-real clock. I am indebted to Professor Doolittle for kind guidance in these professional matters. The architect of the Observatory was Edgar V. Seeler, of Philadelphia."
111. Marple Presbyterian Church
p. 365: "Marple Presbyterian Church. By. Rev. C.H. Rodney. -- The corner-stone of Marple Presbyterian Church was laid in A.D. 1834, and the church organized in 1835. Rev. John L. Grant officiated both in the corner-stone laying and in dedicating the building ... the church building is of stone, and was built on ground formerly belonging to the Craig family. Much voluntary labor was expended in preparing and drawing stone, and the whole cost of the structure exceedingly small, even for the times in which it was erected. It is the only church in the township of Marple now in use. The manse was erected in 1860, and occupied the following year."
Residence of Alex. Johnson, Broomall, PA
p. 373: "Woodview. -- This place derives its name from the abundance of trees in sight. Alexander Johnson's fine stone dwelling is visible to every rider on the trolley along the West Chester Pike, just above Broomall store. Mr. Johnson removed here eleven years ago from Concord, in Delaware County. The farm contains one hundred and five acres, Mr. Johnson having added fifty-seven acres of the Sarah Fox property below, and sold thirteen acres to Morris Lewis. Mr. Johnson purchased of Reese Pyott's widow. This was the Isaiah Fox farm. Mr. Pyott enlarged the farmhouse, while Mr. Johnson re-built the house and barn, and improved all the outbuildings."
113. Residence of Mr. Dunwoody, Newtown Square, PA
p. 374: "William H. Dunwoody. -- The following newspaper notice shows the high character of one of Newtown's distinguished sons: 'The name of William H. Dunwoody is indelibly stamped on the industrial history of the City of Minneapolis, and indeed, on the history of the marvelous development during this generation of the Northwest, as the great centre of the production and manufacture of flour."
114. Old School House, Dunwoody Residence
p. 377: "The 'eight-square school-house' in the lane near the West Chester Road, is one of the old landmarks of the neighborhood, having been built in 1835 after the style of the first public school-houses erected in the township. There is only one window in each side of the octagon, high up from the floor, so that inquisitive urchins could not be diverted from their studies by seeing what was passing in the road. In 1857 this became a private school, and continued so for several years, as Charles Dunwoody informs me. His father, James Dunwoody, first secured a teacher. The building is now unused."
115. Residence of Dr. John G. Thomas, Newtown Square, PA
p. 378: "Wyndicot. -- This place is aptly named from its high position, and the September day I visited it the wind was loudly sounding its warnings of winter around the house. John Gunkle Thomas, M.D., erected this pleasant frame dwelling, and moved into it in A.D. 1876. He had practiced in the neighborhood several years before this, having resided with his mother nearly opposite ... The situation of Wyndicot is remarkably fine, commanding a splendid view of rolling hills and lowly valleys to the north."
116. Newtown Baptist Church.
p. 387: "Newtown Baptist Church. --This Parish has a church building near the old graveyard. Its organization was 'about sixty years' before the date of Mrs. Sachse's article, which I have been following in this account of the Old Square ... The organization 'was perfected November 10th, 1832, at the house of Dr. Gardiner, who then lived on the Goshen Road, west of the Old Square. Here the meetings were conducted until 1834, when an acre of ground was purchased adjoining the old Sabbatarian Cemetery, a church was erected at a cost of $2,000 and was dedicated by Rev. Horatio Gates Jones August 30th, 1834. This church, after being remodeled on several occasions, served the congregation until the winter of 1890, when it was destroyed by fire, since which time it has been rebuilt on the old walls in the present chaste and ornate style."
117. Friends' Meeting, Lansdowne, PA.
p. 401: "When the present meeting-house was built the only houses within view were the farm-house, still standing, of John Lobb, father of Mrs. W. Albert Johnson; the farm-house of Mr. Kenney, known now as 'The Mansion;' an old house now converted into the fine residence of Ivan Fox, on Baltimore Avenue; the Owen farm-house, and a log-and-plaster house on the lot where now stands the house of Abraham Powell on Stewart Avenue, as named in honor of Homer C. Stewart."
Residence of Francis G. Taylor, Lansdowne, Delaware Co., PA
p. 404: " 'Blanchepierre,' one of its most attractive residences, is the home of Francis G. Taylor, Esq., of the Delaware County and Philadelphia Bar. The house situated in the midst of a two-and-a-half-acre lawn, at the corner of Summit Avenue, is a triumph of comfort and architectural beauty. The material is Avondale marble, and with age seems to grow more lustrous in its bluish-white color. It was erected in 1891. Designed by Hazlehurst & Huckel, and built by Edgar T. Bishop, a well-known builder of Lansdowne. The property is bounded by three avenues."
Residence of Mr. John J. White, Lansdowne, PA
p. 407: "The residence of Mr. John J. White, who, while but thirty-three years of age, has been actively connected with the development of modern Lansdowne since it commenced its rapid growth some fifteen years ago, is located in the northeastern and most elevated portion of the borough."
Baptist Church, Lansdowne, PA
p. 407: "The Lansdowne Baptist Church. By the Pastor, T. Clagett Skinner. -- The Lansdowne Baptist Church, situated at the corner of Lansdowne and Summit Avenues, was organized February 14th, A.D. 1887 ... The corner-stone of the Lansdowne Baptist Church was laid on May 24th, 1887, with appropriate services, in the presence of several hundred people, Rev. Dr. Calley, of the Lehigh Avenue Church, officiating."
Barker Building, Lansdowne
p. 408: "The Barker Building. -- This fine business building of modern construction, for offices, is a great credit to this borough, and the writer does not remember to have seen such a one in any town of this size before. It contains modern improvements, and electric lights, and its usefulness is shown by the way in which the rooms are engaged. There are three stories. The second floor contains a large audience hall. St. John's Club also has a pleasant room on the same floor. Morgan Bunting was the architect of the building, which is of local gray stone, with trimmings of Indiana limestone. Mr. William H. Barker erected this building in A.D. 1895 ... The first floor is utilized as a hardware, and drug store, and stove store, and the Lansdowne Water Company's office, and that of the Tax Collector of the borough are upon it, while builders, lawyers, a dressmaker, and a printer and an artist find homes in the building."
presbyterian Church, Lansdowne, PA
p.406: "Lansdowne Presbyterian Church. By Rev. William Boyd. -- The First Presbyterian Church of Lansdowne was organized May 26th, A.D. 1887 ...The almost ten years of the existence of this church has been marked by exceptional prosperity and growth. In matters temporal the congregation, in addition to the erection of their beautiful chapel, have built an elegant and commodious manse. The capacity of the church has twice been enlarged, a substantial addition in the shape of a church Parlor and library room has been built at an outlay of $1,700, and quite recently an additional acre of ground has been purchased for $5,500, upon which it is proposed to rear a beautiful church."
123. Residence of Mr. Richardson Shoemaker, Lansdowne, PA.
p. 410: "Richard Shoemaker's house was built in 1835 by Mary Owens, and occupied by Stephen Pancoast, who conducted a general store in it for several years. It was used for store and business purposes by Thomas Gracy, Thomas Snyder, J. Brogan, and A. Powell & Son, till 1844, when it became the residence of Dr. Small. H. C. Stewart purchased the property in 1883; remodeled the interior, and occupied it for several years. Mr. Shoemaker bought it from him in 1891."
124. Residence of the Late Dr. Ellwood Baker.
p. 410: "Sunset View. -- This place is properly so styled by reason of the extended view afforded from it of the setting sun in all its glory. we speak of landscapes, but sea-scapes, and sky-scapes are beautiful. Samuel B. Bartram built the very pretty gray stone mansion at the corner of Lansdowne and Fairview Avenues, which was purchased by Mrs. Mary E. Baker nine years ago. She is now the widow of Dr. Ellwood Baker."
125. Church of St. John the Evangelist, Lansdowne, PA.
p. 412: "Church of St. John the Evangelist. By Rev. W.T. Manning. -- The work of the mission of St. John the Evangelist was commenced in Fernwood, and afterward, on account of the greater growth in population, removed to Lansdowne ...Ground was broken for the foundation of the present church on May 28th, 1888. The corner-stone was laid by Bishop Whitaker on June 19th, 1888, and the church was opened for divine service on November 11th, in the same year ... The church was beautified and enlarged by the addition of a spacious chancel, with sacristy and choir-room on either side, and by the self-denying efforts of the congregation the whole was entirely freed from debt."
126. Residence of Dr. Bartleson, Lansdowne, PA.
p.414: "The pleasant house of Dr. H. C. Bartleson, at the corner of Baltimore Avenue and Kenny's Lane, was built for him by John McConaghy in A.D. 1896. It has been occupied by the Doctor since the 1st of October in that year. The location on the corner of the streets affords an ample yard, and the professional man has light and air in abundance to give refreshment after the day's toil, when the citizen is crowded in by brick walls."
127. Lansdowne Methodist Episcopal Church, Lansdowne, PA.
p. 419: "The Lansdowne Methodist Episcopal Church occupies one of the most desirable sites in Lansdowne, at the corner and Lansdowne and Strafford Avenues. Organized about six years ago, and meeting in Garrett's Hall ... The corner-stone was laid on Thanksgiving Day, 1894, and the church dedicated by Bishop E. G. Andrews, D. D., L. L. D., of New York, on Sunday June 2d 1895. The architect was Samuel T. Milligan, of Philadelphia, and the builder Frank S. Riggs, of Clifton."
Residence and Veterinarium of Dr. Wl. L. Rhoads, Lansdowne, PA.
p. 416: "[Dr. Rhoads] began the practice of his profession in Lansdowne in September of , and purchased his present residence of Homer C. Stewart in the spring of 1896, and immediately erected a veterinary sanitarium, containing all the latest improvements and appliances for the benefit of his clientage, and the advancement of his profession."
129. Church of St. Charles Borromeo, Kellyville, Delaware Co., Pa.
p. 419: "St. Charles Borromeo's Church, Kellyville, Delaware County, Pennsylvania (Communicated). -- In 1827 Kellyville became a mission attached to St. Dennis's Church, Cobb's Creek, and Mass was celebrated alternately at both places by the Pastor, the Rev. James C. McGinnis, until Kellyville was made a separate parish. On Sunday, September 23d, 1849, the corner-stone of the old St. Charles Church, 43 by 63 feet, was laid by the Rt. Rev Francis P. Kenrick, D. D., Bishop of Philadelphia; and on Sunday, October 13th, 1850, the Rt. Rev. Francis X. Gartland, D. D., Bishop-elect of Savannah, dedicated the church, which was built from the contributions of the Catholics of the parish. In 1866 St. Charles Parochial School, adjacent to the church, was built by the Rev. Richard O'Connor, the Pastor in charge ... The congregation worshiped in the basement until May 22d, 1892, when the Most Rev. Archbishop Ryan, of Philadelphia, dedicated the new church, which seats 900 people, and is considered to be one of the handsomest country churches in the diocese, and one the cheapest ever built, the cost to the congregation only $17,000. The reason for this is that the Pastor superintended the building of the church, contracted for all the material, and thereby saved the congregation a debt of $18,000. This church could not be built anywhere for less than $35,000. The Rev. Father also enlarged the Pastoral residence at a cost $2,700. Strange to say, he did not collect one dollar outside of the parish."
130. "Riverview," Residence of George S. Garrett
p. 422: "Riverview. -- Garrettford and the Garrett Road preserve the name of an ancient family, whose place is well called 'Riverview,' as a plateau covering a view of the Delaware is a striking feature of the scenery. George S. Garrett's pleasantly located farm lies on the Garrett Road, at the sixth milestone from Market Street Bridge over the Schuylkill River. The milestone is built into the front wall that encloses the grounds."