The Growth of the Philadelphia Archdiocese

New Regional Parishes

New National Parishes

Existing Regional Parishes

Existing National Parishes
move mouse over map to see historic diocese boundaries

In 1808, the Diocese of Philadelphia is subdivided and the Diocese of Pittsburgh is formed from the western half of the state.

1840 - St. Mary of the Assumption - Phoenixville
1844 - St. Mark - Bristol
1848 - St. Thomas of Villanova - Villanova
1849 - St. Charles Borromeo - Drexel Hill

Home Sources Charting Growth Conclusions