The Growth of the Philadelphia Archdiocese

New Regional Parishes

New National Parishes

Existing Regional Parishes

Existing National Parishes
move mouse over map to see historic diocese boundaries

In 1868 the Dioceses of Harrisburg and Scranton in Pennsylvania and the Diocese of Wilmington in Delaware are subdivided from the Diocese of Philadelphia.

In 1854, the Dogma of the Immaculoate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary is proclaimed. The parish in Jenkintown will be the first of many in the Diocese of Philadelphia (later archdiocese) to bear the name.

1866 - Immaculate Conception BVM - Jenkintown
1868 - Nativity BVM - Media
1869 - St. Cecilia - Coatsville
1869 - St. Patrick - Kennett Square

Home Sources Charting Growth Conclusions