Contact Us
Department of Philosophy
Thomas Hall, Bryn Mawr College
101 No. Merion Avenue
Bryn Mawr, PA 19010

fax: 610-526-7479


Department Faculty


Robert Dostal

Rufus Jones Professor of Philosophy and Religion; Department Chair

Kant and contemporary European philosophy, especially phenomenology and hermeneutics



A. Prettyman

Adrienne Prettyman  (on leave 2016-17)

Assistant Professor of Philosophy; Major and Minor Advisor

Philosophy of Mind, Psychology & Neuroscience, and Metaphysics

Macalester Bell

Macalester Bell

Associate Professor of Philosophy

Ethics and Moral Psychology

Prof. Collin Rice

Collin Rice

Assistant Professor of Philosophy

Specializations:  Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Biology, Philosophy of Cognitive Science

Office Hours:  Mon., Tues., Wed. Thurs. 11:15 - 12:00, and by appointment

Visiting Professor


Luke MacInnis

Interim Professor of Philosophy

Ph.D. Political Philosophy, and Legal Philosophy, Columbia University,
New York City

Research Interests:  Ethics; normative political philosophy; legal philosophy, human rights; comparative religious ethics and law; Aristotle; Kant; Dworkin

Office Hours:  Monday 4:30 - 5:30; Tuesday 11:30 - 12:30, and by appointment

Affiliated Faculty

Jeremy Elkins

Jeremy Elkins

Associate Professor of Political Science
The intersection of political and legal theory, the study of institutions

Deepak Kumar

Deepak Kumar

Professor and Coordinator of Computer Science
Artificial intelligence, cognitive science

Stephen Salkever

Stephen Salkever

Mary Katharine Woodworth Professor Emeritus of Political Science
Aristotle, political philosophy


Azade Seyhan

Fairbank Professor in the Humanities; Professor of German and Comparative Literature
German Classicism and Romanticism, philosophical approaches to criticism

Joel Schlosser

Joel Schlosser

BA at Carleton College and his MA and PhD at Duke University while also pursuing advanced language instruction at the University of California, Berkeley and Aix-en-Provence, France.

Emeritus Faculty

Christine Koggel

Christine Koggel

Harvey Wexler Professor Emeritus of Philosophy
Moral theory, practical ethics, social and political theory, and feminism


Michael Krausz

Research Professor of Philosophy and
Milton C. Nahm Professor of Philosophy

Theory of knowledge, theory of interpretation, philosophy of science, philosophy of  history, aesthetics, and philosophy of music