Contact Us
Department of Philosophy
Thomas Hall, Bryn Mawr College
101 No. Merion Avenue
Bryn Mawr, PA 19010

610-526-5332
fax: 610-526-7479

Faculty

Department Faculty

Dostal

Robert Dostal

Rufus Jones Professor of Philosophy and Religion; Department Chair

Kant and contemporary European philosophy, especially phenomenology and hermeneutics

dostal@brynmawr.edu

 

 

A. Prettyman

Adrienne Prettyman

Assistant Professor of Philosophy; Major and Minor Advisor

Philosophy of Mind, Psychology & Neuroscience, and Metaphysics

Office Hours: Tuesday 2:15 - 3:15; Wednesday 1:00 - 2:00

aprettyman@brynmawr.edu

Macalester Bell

Macalester Bell

Associate Professor of Philosophy

Ethics and Moral Psychology

mcbell@brynmawr.edu

Visiting Professor

Rosenthal picture
Saul Rosenthal

Visiting Assistant Professor

Specializations: Ancient Philosophy, Modern Philosophy (Descartes to Kant), Metaphysics, and
Epistemology.

sgrosentha@haverford.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Jeremy Elkins

Jeremy Elkins

Associate Professor of Political Science
The intersection of political and legal theory, the study of institutions

jelkins@brynmawr.edu

Deepak Kumar

Deepak Kumar

Professor and Coordinator of Computer Science
Artificial intelligence, cognitive science

dkumar@brynmawr.edu

Stephen Salkever

Stephen Salkever

Mary Katharine Woodworth Professor Emeritus of Political Science
Aristotle, political philosophy

ssalkeve@brynmawr.edu

Seyhan

Azade Seyhan

Fairbank Professor in the Humanities; Professor of German and Comparative Literature
German Classicism and Romanticism, philosophical approaches to criticism

aseyhan@brynmawr.edu

Joel Schlosser

Joel Schlosser

BA at Carleton College and his MA and PhD at Duke University while also pursuing advanced language instruction at the University of California, Berkeley and Aix-en-Provence, France.

jschlosser@brynmawr.edu

Emeritus Faculty

George Kline in 1974

George Kline

Milton C. Nahm Professor Emeritus in Philosophy
George Kline, 1974

Credit: Bryn Mawr College Library

Christine Koggel

Christine Koggel

Harvey Wexler Professor Emeritus of Philosophy
Moral theory, practical ethics, social and political theory, and feminism

Krausz

Michael Krausz

Research Professor of Philosophy and
Milton C. Nahm Professor of Philosophy
Emeritus

Theory of knowledge, theory of interpretation, philosophy of science, philosophy of  history, aesthetics, and philosophy of music

mkrausz@brynmawr.edu

Weaver

George Weaver

Harvey Wexler Professor Emeritus of Philosophy
Model theory, abstract logic, logic, set theory, foundations of mathematics, philosophy of mathematics.