Contact Us
Taylor Hall - First Floor
(610) 526-5167

Mailing Address:
101 N. Merion Ave
Bryn Mawr, PA 19010

Office Hours
8am - 5pm
Monday - Friday

Committee on Appointments

The Committee on Appointments is charged with making recommendations to the President, on behalf of the Faculty, with regard to the initial appointments, promotion and reappointment of all ranked Faculty and on the appointment and review of Continuing Non-Tenure-Track Faculty, as well as reviewing cause for removal of tenured Faculty in accordance with Article III, Section 9 of the Plan of Governance

The Committee also provides procedures for appointments, re-appointments, and promotions.  The Faculty Handbook sets forth the procedures for the initial appointment, reappointment and promotion of continuing members of the faculty.

The 2016-2017 members of the Committee on Appointments are:
  • Janet Ceglowski (Economics) (2014-2018)
  • Karen Greif (Biology) (2015-2019)
  • Homay King (History of Art) (2016-2020) (on leave Semester I)
  • Azade Seyhan (German) (2014-2018)
  • Sharon Ullman (History) (2015-2019) (on leave AY 2016-2017)
  • Susan White (Chemistry) (2013-2017) (Chair)
Former Chairs of the Committee on Appointments are:
  • Robert Washington (Sociology) (2015-2016)
  • Lisa Traynor (Mathematics) (2014-2015)
  • Steven Levine (History of Art) (2013-2014)
  • Bill Malachowski (Chemistry) (2012-2013)

If you wish to write a letter concerning any of the persons under review during Semester I, please send your letter to any member of the committee or to Linda Butler Livesay, c/o the Office of the Provost by October 31, 2016; and for any persons under review during Semester II, send your letter by February 15, 2017.