Summer Science Research Program
Summer, 2014

Undergraduate research initiatives are central to the College's approach to science education. All science majors are encouraged to conduct mentored research projects during the summer and/or academic year, and each year over 50% of all science majors do so. Students receive stipends for summer research and academic credit for research performed in the junior and senior years. Since 1989, each summer the College has provided 35+ students with ten-week research stipends to conduct independent research under the guidance of Bryn Mawr faculty members in the sciences and mathematics. The summer program is enriched by professional development workshops and a poster session at which students present their research to the college community.


Summer Science Research 2014

Summer Program Calendar

The Ann Lutes Johnson Visiting Speaker Series will include talks by invited scientists in the Ely Room at Wyndham, with receptions to follow. All talks will be scheduled for 4:00 pm, visitor schedules allowing.

June 2                           Program Start Date--Orientation

June 9                           Lab Safety Training

June 11                          Seminar: Hollis Cline '77, Ph.D.

            "What frogs teach us about how experience shapes the developing brain"

June 13                          Student Abstracts Due, Moodle submission

June  30                         Seminar: Diane Joseph-McCarthy, Ph.D.

                    "Computational Approaches for Effective Drug Discovery"

July    22                        Seminar: Flora Lichtman

                                         "Making Science Appetizing"

July   30                       Field trip to the Philadelphia Zoo

August 8                      Program End Date

August 25                    Student Posters Due, Moodle submission

September 12              Poster Session, Thomas Great Hall  10:30-1:30


Participants and their Research:


Kaeun Bae

Lyntana Brougham

Amanda Cline

Ishani Das

Carolyne Face

Fiona Gambanga

Emily Geoghegan

Nicole Hamagami

Katrina Obieta

Rachel Shields

Emily Spica

Mahira Tiwana

Ekaterina Vlasova


Eri Arai and Shorouk Badir

Summer Baker Dockrey

Vivian Chang

Nanding Chen

Alisha Esmail

Katie Guye

Anna Kalinsky

Linh Tran

Kai Wang

Stephanie Yang

Ann Zhang

Computer Science

Renee Jingling Li


Melissa Clark

Claire Johnson

Nina Shmorhun


Felicia Burke

Katie Fong

Jennifer Hernandez

Jillian Perry


Xuzhao Chai and Leqi Liu

Wenqi Duan

Rachel Feynman

Hannah Hastings

Alena Klindziuk

Yilun Tang

Rebecca Thayil

Ting Xu


Devin Arey

Anu Goedhart

Phoebe Jordan and Emma Palitz

Ming Lee

Eva Sharma