2009 Summer Science Research Program and Student Abstracts

Undergraduate research initiatives are central to the College's approach to science education. All science majors are encouraged to conduct mentored research projects during the summer and/or academic year, and each year over 50% of all science majors do so. Students receive stipends for summer research and academic credit for research performed in the junior and senior years. Since 1989, each summer the College has provided 35+ students with ten-week research stipends to conduct independent research under the guidance of Bryn Mawr faculty members in the sciences and mathematics. The summer program is enriched by professional development workshops and a poster session at which students present their research to the college community.

Calendar for 2009

Tues., May 26 Orientation and Safety Training (9am-3:30pm, Park 243)*
Wed., May 27 Informal lunch (Park)
Mon., June 1 Abstract workshop (9am-10am, Park 100)*
Wed., June 3 Visiting speaker (11am-12pm, Park 100)* (cancelled)
Wed., June 10 Informal lunch—Dr. Paul Grobstein (Campus Center)
Wed., June 17 Visiting speaker—Dr. Ari Shapiro (11am-12pm, Park 243)*
Fri., June 19 Abstracts due (5pm, Online submission)*
Wed., June 24 Informal lunch—Drs. Lauren Myers, Susan White (Campus Center)
Fri., June 26 Resume workshop (2pm, Park 100)
Wed., July 1 Visiting speaker—Dr. Kathleen Kerr (11am-12pm, Park 243)*
Wed., July 8 Informal lunch—Dr. Greg Davis (Campus Center)
Fri., July 10 Ethics workshop (2pm-4pm, TBA)*
Wed., July 15 Informal lunch—Drs. Sharon Burgmayer, Dianna Xu (Campus Center)
Wed., July 22 Visiting speaker—Dr. Maria Honeycutt (11am-12pm, Park 338)*
Fri., July 24 Career panel (10am-12pm, Park 243)*
Wed., July 29 End of summer picnic (Park)
Wed., Aug. 5 Visiting speaker (11am-12pm, TBA)*
Fri., Sept. 4 Research symposium and poster session (11am-2pm, Campus Center)*
Sat., Sept. 26 Haverford Research Symposium (TBA, HC)

*Required activity

 

Updates to the schedule will be posted on Blackboard. We will tell you the day of the week for the weekly Movie Night as soon as we compile your feedback!

 

Participants and their Research

2009

2009

2009

2009

2009

2009