Contact Us
Theresa Cann
Assistant Dean, Director of International Education
Phone: 610-526-5375 Undergraduate Dean's Office
Eugenia Chase Guild Hall, Lower Level

Role of the Study Abroad Committee

The Role of the Study Abroad Committee

The Study Abroad Committee is responsible for evaluating applications from all Bryn Mawr students who want to study abroad during the academic year as part of their Bryn Mawr degrees.   The Study Abroad Committee determines a student’s eligibility by looking at a variety of factors, including the overall and major grade point averages, the intellectual coherence of the study abroad experience with the academic program, the student’s overall progress towards the degree, and faculty recommendations.  After careful review of applications, the Committee will notify the student of their decision granting, denying, or giving conditions for permission to study abroad.  Only those students whose plans are approved by the Committee will be allowed to transfer courses from their study abroad programs towards their Bryn Mawr degrees. 

Study Abroad Committee Members

Michael Allen, Professor of Political Science and Co-Director of the International Studies Program (bio)

Grace Armstrong, Chair and Eunice M. Schenck 1907 Professor of French and Director of Middle Eastern Languages (bio)

Inés Arribas, Senior Lecturer in Spanish (bio)

Theresa Cann, Assistant Dean and Director of International Education (bio)

Krynn Lukacs, Senior Lecturer in Chemistry (bio)

Michelle Mancini, Associate Dean, Undergraduate College (bio)

Kalala Ngalamulume, Associate Professor of Africana Studies and History and Co-Director of International Studies (bio)

Susan Sutton, Senior Advisor for Internationalization, President's Office (bio)