Evelyn Jones Rich ’54: Recipient of LaborArts’ 2018 Clara Lemlich Award, which honors women who have devoted their lives to the greater good. Active in the Civil Rights movement of the 1960s, she went on to earn her Ph.D. from Columbia University and to pursue a distinguished career as an educator and social activist. 

Deborah Diamond ’85, Amy Loftus ’90, and Jody Lurie ’08: Named to Philadelphia Business Journal's list of 2018 Women of Distinction. A distinguished trio indeed, the honorees are Campus Philly President (Diamond), Slalom Philadelphia’s General Manager (Loftus), and Janney Montgomery Scott Director/ Corporate Credit Analyst (Lurie).

Drew Gilpin Faust ’68: Awarded the 2018 John W. Kluge Prize for Achievement in the Study of Humanity, which recognizes work in disciplines not covered by the Nobel Prizes. The former president of Harvard has written six books about the Civil War era, including This Republic of Suffering: Death and the American Civil War.

Ana María López ’82: Named president  of the American College of Physicians and vice chair of medical oncology and chief of cancer services at the Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center-Jefferson Health. A specialist in breast and gynecological cancers, integrative medicine, telehealth, and cancer health equity, she aims to create “a clinical service where patients receive state-of-the-art care delivered with warmth, respect, and compassion, and health professionals thrive.”

Susan de Sola Rodstein ’84: Winner of the eighth annual Frost Farm Prize for metrical poetry for her work BuddyDe Sola Rodstein gives her alma mater a shout-out in the poem: “… hearing that I was newly single, / he surprised me in my dorm, at posh Bryn Mawr.”

Elizabeth M. Meade ’84: Named 14th president of Cedar Crest College. “I am so very honored by the opportunity to lead this institution, with its rich 150-year history of educating women, its 50-year history of providing adult and graduate education to women and men, its deep commitment to the values of access and inclusion, and its profound relevance to the social and economic needs of the region and the nation.”

Una Gandbhir ’88: Newly appointed Superior Court Judge for Anchorage, AK. Gandbhir practiced law in Alaska for 24 years, specializing in elder and disability law. After law school at Northeastern, an internship with Alaska Legal Services led her to the “Last Frontier.” 

David Nevison, M.S.S. ’74: Recipient of the 2018 American Society on Aging Award for outstanding contributions to aging-related research, administration or advocacy. Nevison recently retired as the chief planning, development, and government relations officer for the Philadelphia Corporation for Aging.