Contact Us
Creative Writing Program
Bryn Mawr College
101 N. Merion Ave.
Bryn Mawr, PA 19010
(610) 526 -5306
Createive Writing Program

Courses in creative writing within the Arts Program are designed for students who wish to develop their skills and appreciation of creative writing in a variety of genres (poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction, playwriting, screenwriting) and for those intending to pursue studies in creative writing at the graduate level.

Any English major may include one Creative Writing course in the major plan. Non-English majors may pursue a minor as described under Program Requirements and Opportunities. While there is no existing major in Creative Writing, exceptionally well qualified students have completed majors in Creative Writing through the Independent Major Program.

All students interested in Creative Writing courses must:

(1) Preregister for ARTW B999. Note: Students will turn in a questionnaire for the specific Creative Writing course of their choice and register for ARTW B999. Once lotteries have been determined, the Registrar will place them in the course they've been let into.

(2) download and print a Creative Writing Program questionnaire, complete this and drop it off (hard copy) to Professor Daniel Torday's faculty mailbox in English House by the end of the pre-registration period


AhmedA poem titled “Processing” by CWP Lecturer Dilruba Ahmed appears in audio and text formats in a recent issue of TRIQUARTERLY.  Her work is forthcoming in ALASKA QUARTERLY REVIEW and POETRY. On Wednesday, November 2, at 7 pm, Ahmed will read from her manuscript-in-progress, “Feast of Losses,” at the Community Arts Center of Wallingford along with fellow poet and CWP Lecturer J. C. Todd.

JC Todd

J. C. Todd's poem, "The Girl in the Square," has received the 2016 Rita Dove Poetry Prize of the International Literary Awards sponsored by the Center for Women Writers at Salem College.Check the link to the Philadelphia Inquirer Arts Blog for May 29 for more about JC.







Poems by CWP Lecturer Dilruba Ahmed appear in  recent issues of THE COLLAGIST and MEMORIOUS, and in the latest edition of LITERATURE: THE HUMAN EXPERIENCE (Bedford/St. Martin’s, 2016). New poems by Ahmed are also forthcoming in BLACKBIRD, DUSIE, ALASKA QUARTERLY REVIEW, TRIQUARTERLY, and THE AMERICAN POETRY REVIEW.

Dhaka Dust

Creative Writing Program Lecturer Dilruba Ahmed’s poem, “Cancer Weather,” appears in the latest issue of RHINO Poetry.  An audio recording of the poem is forthcoming on the journal’s web site.  New poems by Ahmed are also forthcoming in THE AMERICAN POETRY REVIEW.

                                          * * * * *

READ Dan Torday's review of Timor Vermes' Look Who's Back in the New York Times Book Review.

                                          * * * * *

                                2015 Literary Prize Winners

Academy of American Poets
Winner: Sanam Sheriff,  "Maut/Moth" and other poems
Honorable Mentions:  
Marcia Lee, "Vestigial" and other poems
Kayla Schneider-Smith, "Bombay Dancefloor, Philadelphia" and other poems

Bain-Swiggett Poetry Prize
Winner: Kayla Schneider-Smith "Bombay Dancefloor, Philadelphia"
Honorable Mentions:
Shin Hae Lee, "To Murder a King"
Rosie McInnes, "Judith"
Sarah Friesen-Johnson,  "Lolita"

Alexandra Peschka Prize
Rachel Hampton, “A Thinking List” & Shaina Robinson, “If We Must Die”
Honorable Mention:
Zahabya Mama “An Exceptional Story”

Anne Kirschbaum Winkelman Literary Prize
Winner: Zahabya Mama, “An Exceptional Story”
Honorable Mentions:
Mahira Ahmed Tiwana,  “After Love”
V. Emma Kioko,  “Shell Shock”
Soumya Venkateswaran, “Crimson Cheeks”
Ava Hawkinson, “To the River”

Katherine Fullerton Gerould Award
Winner: Allison Rodgers, “Don’t Go to Mars”
Honorable Mention: Eve Cantler, “The Charlottesville Affair”

Seymour Adelman Poetry Award (poetry-related project)
Allison Rodgers

                                          * * * * *

Reading and Book Release Party for
Creative Writing Program Director Daniel Torday's
The Last Flight of Poxl West

Image result for dan tordayTorday

Wednesday, March 25, 7:30 PM
Bryn Mawr College
Goodhart Hall Music Room, Bryn Mawr College
150 N. Merion Avenue, Bryn Mawr, PA

Please join us for the book launch party forThe Last Flight of Poxl West, the first full-length novel by Bryn Mawr Creative Writing Program Director Daniel Torday. The book beautifully weaves together the two unforgettable voices of Eli Goldstein and Poxl West, exploring what it really means to be a hero, and to be a family, in the long shadow of war.

Fresh on the heels of this glowing review in The New York Times, the book made the cover of the Times’ Sunday Book Review. On Tuesday, March 17, Torday sat down with WHYY's Fresh Air’s Terry Gross to discuss the book.

The Last Flight of Poxl West
, is just out with St. Martin’s Press. His novella, The Sensualist, won the 2012 National Jewish Book Award for debut fiction. Torday’s stories and essays have appeared in Esquire, Glimmer Train, n+1, The New York Times, and The Paris Review Daily. A former editor at Esquire, Torday serves as an editor at The Kenyon Review.

George Saunders has called the book “a wonderful accomplishment of storytelling verve: tender, lyrical, surprising, full of beautifully rendered details,” and Kirkus says, “Torday is likely to be compared to Philip Roth or Michael Chabon…a richly layered, beautifully told and somehow lovable story about war, revenge and loss.”

                                          * * * * *

Holding On Upside Down: The Life and Work of Marianne Moore


Monday, February 23, 7:30 PM
Hepburn Teaching Theater, Goodhart Hall
With the publication of the paperback of the first major biography of our era of Bryn Mawr's celebrated alumna poet, MARRIANNE MOORE (Class of 1909), please join us for a visit with her biographer, LINDA LEAVELL. Leavell will be joined on stage by K. Laurence Stapleton Professor of English Jane Hedley, and the Chamber Singers of Haverford and Bryn Mawr Colleges, directed by Thomas Lloyd who will perform Lloyd's arrangement of Moore's "What Are Days."


Wednesday, January 28, 7:30pm

Ely Room, Wyndham

Please join us for a night of readings from three Tri-College poets who this past year won the prestigious Pew Fellowship. Bryn Mawr College’s J.C. Todd is the author of three poetry collections, most recently What Space This Body. Thomas Devaney’s most recent book is Calamity Jane, and he teaches at Haverford College. Laynie Browne is the author of ten books of poems, and she teaches at Swarthmore College. The three will read from and discuss their work. 


Poet J. C. Todd is named as Pew Fellow in the arts. Read more about her project here. Prof. Todd teaches courses in Creative Writing and English at Bryn Mawr.


                                                   * * * *

--CWP Lecturer Elizabeth Mosier's essay, "The Pit and the Page," appears in the latest issue of the magazine Creative Nonfiction. The Winter 2013 is devoted to women writers of nonfiction.

                                                    * * * *


The 2012 National Jewish Book Awards' Goldberg Prize for Outstanding Debut Fiction has gone to The Sensualist, a short novel by Bryn Mawr's Director of Creative Writing, Daniel Torday. Previous honorees have included Nathan Englander, Gary Shteyngart and Lara Vapnyar. This year's NJBA winners include Nobel Laureate Eric Kandel and The New Republic editor Franklin Foer.