News from the Campaign

Anassa kata to our fiscal 2019 donors.

Bryn Mawr extends a hearty thank you to all those who gave to the Defy Expectation Campaign during the period June 1, 2018, through May 31, 2019. Your gift goes a long way to support Bryn Mawr’s excellence and innovation in the liberal arts, for today and the future. Look for our annual Report of Gifts for all donors, which will be released in the fall.

“Being a member of the Archways Society and giving every year to the College is a point of pride for me. The sustainability of a place like Bryn Mawr is essential to seeing the change that I want in the world.” —Bayh Sullivan ’06

The Panaphil and Uphill Foundations Renew Bryn Mawr’s Frances Velay Women’s Science Research Fellowship

After emigrating from France in 1947, Frances Velay earned her M.S. in chemistry from New York University and continued her studies toward a Ph.D. at a time when few women pursued graduate work in science. The long-time resident of Philadelphia created the Foundations to support environmental protection and animal welfare efforts, and the trustees established the fellowship program to honor her memory and to encourage and advance the careers of young women in science. Bryn Mawr received its original three-year grant in 2016. The renewal grant will support the work of 10 undergraduates in the College’s annual Summer Science Research Program over the next three years.

Listen to Carrie Filion ’19 speak about her STEM experience at Bryn Mawr.

On the Lecture Circuit


On the Lecture Circuit Every spring, President Kim Cassidy hosts a series of lectures to celebrate faculty appointments to professorships. This year, the Defy Expectation Campaign helped to ensure that two of those appointments are for new professorships.

In February, Professor Michelle Francl presented "Making Molecular Monsters" in honor of her appointment to the newly named Frank B. Mallory Professorship in Chemistry. Established in 2018 by Sally Wood Mallory ’59, M.A. ’60, Ph.D. ’63, in honor of her husband, Frank B. Mallory, the chair is awarded to a full professor in recognition of excellence in teaching and scholarship. Professor Mallory served on the faculty of Bryn Mawr’s chemistry department for more than 50 years before his retirement in 2011. Learn more about the Mallory Family’s philanthropy with Bryn Mawr.