All News

Bryn Mawr Staff Honored at Annual Summer Picnic

June 7, 2024 Melissa Scott

Earlier this week, staff gathered in the Sunken Garden at the College’s annual picnic to recognize and celebrate colleagues for their achievements and years of service to Bryn Mawr College.

“This is one of my favorite events of the year, and not just because of the ice cream. This picnic is special to me because it allows us to gather and celebrate the many contributions of dedicated Bryn Mawr College staff members,” said Bryn Mawr President Kim Cassidy in her opening remarks. "This is my final staff picnic as the President of the College, and I want to take a moment to thank each of you for your support over the past 11 years. Serving in this role has been the professional highlight of my career and I honestly could not have done it without you. I have learned so much from you and will cherish your insights, humor, and steadfast commitment to Bryn Mawr. Thank you for everything."

The McPherson Award for Excellence, which recognizes excellence and service to the community and is based on community nominations, was presented to Terry Small from Wyndham, Alyssa Slattery from Human Resources, and Vince Patone from LITS.

The Service/Craft Appreciation Award was established in 2022 in memory of Professor of English Michael Tratner by his family. Tratner advocated for all staff being treated as important members of the college community. This year, the award was given to Moore Bartune and Joseph Bonino from Dining Services, James Kent and Marianne Smith from Housekeeping, and Angela Talvacchia from Uncommon Grounds. 

The below staff members were recognized for their years of service to the College.

Service Awards

Five years of service

Tessa Bailey-Findley

Kate Blinn

Stacy Collins

Lauren Doberstein

Amy Graham

Bill Kenny

Susan Lewis

Diggwyn Lobdell

Taylor Manferdini

Peter Maple

Alice McGrath

Pete Ruggeri

Margo Schall

Barbara Shearman

Marianne Smith

Nicholas Vallani

Ten years of service

Deborah Alder

Raymond Bevidas

Amanda Chudnow

Tina Fasbinder

Babbie Fulton

Jennifer Keegan

Katie Krimmel

Deby Martinez

Justin McDaniel

Julie McReynolds

Valeria Nevarez

Jennifer Prudencio

Carrie Robbins

Eduardo Sanchez, Jr.

MaryAnn Schiller

Denise Shipp

Gina Siesing

15 years of service

Kate Fernandez

Walt Fraser

Danielle Freeman

Vince Patone

Isaiah Short

Amanda Ulrich

Marianne Weldon

20 years of service

Dawn Bruton

Kim Folkes

Richard Matthews

Peggy Robinson

Katie Tarr

Bryn Thompson

30 years of service

Kim Cassidy

Ann Ogle

35 years of service

Kirsten O’Beirne

Barrington Smith

Interested in working at Bryn Mawr College? Visit our Human Resources site for a listing of available openings. 

Tagged as