The Center for Social Sciences sponsors faculty and student research and supports campus events related to the social sciences.

Election 2020: Democracy in the Balance

Monday, Oct. 19, 7-8 p.m. EST, via Zoom

An evening discussion with expert panelists on the upcoming critical national election.


Cristina Beltrán works at the intersection of Latino politics and political theory. She is associate professor in the Department of Social and Cultural Analysis at New York University. Her prize winning first book The Trouble with Unity: Latino Politics and the Creation of Identity appeared in 2010. Her new book, Cruelty as Citizenship: How Migrant Suffering Sustains White Democracy, is forthcoming with the University of Minnesota Press. She is a frequent commentator on MSNBC.

Will Bunch is national opinion columnist for the Philadelphia Inquirer and is covering his 10th presidential election. His book on how college caused America's political divide will be published by William Morrow in 2022.

Duncan Black is best known as the pseudonymous blogger Atrios of the blog Eschaton, which he has been running for 18 years. He has also taught economics, including briefly at Bryn Mawr College, and was a senior fellow at Media Matters for America for several years.

Nina Johnson is an Assistant Professor of Sociology and Black Studies at Swarthmore College, with research interests at the intersection of race, politics, and public policy.  Her current research is a multi-method study of the impacts of carceral policy on neighborhoods in North Philadelphia. 

Matthew R. Kerbel is Professor of Political Science at Villanova University. The author or editor of nine books on media politics, political parties and the presidency, his research interests include the detrimental effects of television on political engagement and the emergence of movement politics in the blogosphere and on social media. He writes a political blog called Wolves and Sheep (


Sharon Ullman, Professor of History, Bryn Mawr College

Sponsored by The Center for Social Sciences, the Department of History, the Department of Political Science, and the Department of Sociology.