Committee on Appointments

The Committee on Appointments is charged with making recommendations to the President, on behalf of the Faculty, with regard to the initial appointments, promotion and reappointment of all ranked Faculty and on the appointment and review of Continuing Non-Tenure-Track Faculty, as well as reviewing cause for removal of tenured Faculty in accordance with Article III, Section 9 of the Plan of Governance

The Committee also provides procedures for appointments, re-appointments, and promotions. The Faculty Handbook sets forth the procedures for the initial appointment, reappointment and promotion of continuing members of the faculty. *

The 2022-2023 members of the Committee on Appointments are:

  • Leslie Cheng (Mathematics) (2019-2023) 
  • Ignacio Gallup-Diaz (History) (Spring 2022-Fall 2025)
  • Yan Kung (Chemistry) (Spring 2021-Fall 2024)
  • María Cristina Quintero (Spanish) (2019-2023) (Chair)
  • Roberta Ricci (Transnational Italian Studies) (2022-2026) (on leave Semesters I and II)
  • Anjali Thapar (Psychology) (2021-2025)

Former Recent Chairs of the Committee on Appointments are:

  • Leslie Cheng (Mathematics) (2021-2022)
  • Sara Bressi (Social Work and Social Research) (2020-2021)
  • Michelle Francl (Chemistry) (2019-2020) 
* For an accessible version of the Faculty Handbook, contact Linda Butler Livesay at
taylor hall

Office of the Provost

Contact Us

Taylor Hall, First Floor
Bryn Mawr College
101 North Merion Avenue
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania 19010
Phone: 610-526-5167

Office Hours
Monday-Friday 8 a.m.-5 p.m.