Religious Holidays

The following list of religious holidays for 2021-2022 was compiled by BMC student leaders, based on their identification of dates that would have the most impact on their experiences at the College. This impact may include, but is not limited to, students fasting, attending services, or going home to be with family. Our intent is to provide community members with a list that is easy to access and that raises awareness of the communities of faith on campus. For a more comprehensive listing of religious holidays, view this external calendar for 2022.

Have a suggestion for this list? Contact The Pensby Center for Community Development and Inclusion: 610-526-6592 or pensby@brynmawr.edu.

Religious Holidays Fall 2021

Date Day of the Week Holiday
Aug. 3 Tuesday Krishna Janmashtami
Aug. 17 Tuesday Ashura (begins at sundown)
Sept. 6 Monday Rosh Hashanah (begins at sundown) 
Sept. 15 Wednesday Yom Kippur (begins at sundown)
Sept. 20 Monday Sukkot (begins at sundown)
Sept. 28 Tuesday Simchat Torah (begins at sundown)
Oct. 7 Thursday Navaratri (begins)
Nov. 1 Sunday All Saints Day
Nov. 2 Monday All Souls Day
Nov. 4 Thursday Diwali
Nov. 28 Sunday Chanukah (begins at sundown)
Dec. 25 Saturday Christmas
Dec. 26 Sunday Kwanzaa (begins)

Religious Holidays Spring 2022

Date Day of the Week Holiday
Jan. 7 Friday Feast of the Nativity
Mar. 2 Wednesday Ash Wednesday
Mar. 16 Wednesday Purim (begins at sundown)
Mar. 30 Wednesday Magha Puja Day (observed)
Apr. 2 Saturday Ramadan (begins at sundown)
Apr. 10 Sunday Palm Sunday
Apr. 15 Friday Passover (begins at sundown)
Apr. 15 Friday Good Friday
Apr. 17 Sunday Easter
Apr. 22 Friday Holy Friday (Orthodox)
Apr. 24 Sunday Pascha (Orthodox)
May 2 Monday Eid al-Fitr (begins at sundown)
May 27 Friday Visakha Puja
June 5 Sunday Pentecost
building new

Contact Us

Pensby Center for Community Development and Inclusion

Student Life and Wellness Building

Bryn Mawr College
101 N. Merion Ave.
Bryn Mawr, PA 19010-2899

Phone: 610-526-6592
Fax: 610-526-6593
pensby@brynmawr.edu