Past Colloquia

""
Friday, Mar 29, 2019 4:30 pm - 6:00 pm
Ewen Bowie, Oxford University, will speak on “Sappho in Imperial Greek Literature.”
""
Friday, Mar 22, 2019 4:30 pm - 6:00 pm
Manon Brouillet, École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales, will speak on “The Lyre as a Symbolon: an Ingoldian Reading of Materiality and Ritual in the 'Homeric Hymn to Hermes'.”
""
Friday, Mar 1, 2019 4:30 pm - 6:00 pm
Join us for a presentation by Katerina Ladianou from the University of Crete on "Voices In and As Fragments: Sappho 31 and Catullus 51."
""
Friday, Feb 22, 2019 4:30 pm - 6:00 pm
Rubina Raja, Aarhus University, will speak on "Representations of Palmyrene Priests and the Structure of the Religious Life of Palmyra."
""
Friday, Feb 15, 2019 4:30 pm - 6:00 pm
Thomas Kruse, Austrian Academy of Sciences, will speak on "Family, Business, Official Duties and War: The ‘archive’ of the Strategos Apollonios."
""
Friday, Feb 8, 2019 4:30 pm - 6:00 pm
Diane Fruchtman, Rutgers University, will speak on “Destabilizing Death in Prudentius’s 'Peristephanon.'”
Poster
Friday, Dec 14, 2018 4:30 pm - 5:30 pm
Jeremy Lefkowitz from Swarthmore College will speak on "Fabulous Style: Learning to Write Fables in the Progymnasmata."
Poster
Friday, Dec 7, 2018 4:30 pm - 5:30 pm
Pierre Destrée from the Université Catholique de Louvain will speak on "Aristotle on Metaphor and Synesthesia."
Poster
Tuesday, Dec 4, 2018 4:30 pm - 6:00 pm
Award-winning novelist Madeline Miller, author of "Circe" and "Song of Achilles" presents "Writing Back to Homer," which reconsider characters and stories from ancient Greek myth/literature.
Poster
Friday, Nov 30, 2018 4:30 pm - 5:30 pm
Jessica Paga from the College of William & Mary will speak on "The Construction of Athenian Democracy."

Pages